Antenna Measurement Hall

Antenna Measurement Hall

At Fraunhofer IIS’s state-of-the-art antenna measuring facilities, antennas and complete antenna systems for frequencies ranging between 700 MHz and 40 GHz can be measured exactly and their functions verified. Measurement takes place in a fully shielded absorber hall to ensure that no external interference can occur.

At a Glance

One of the key components of any radio system is its antenna. Efforts to measure and optimize it often lead to a jump in quality for the system as a whole and also make it possible to take the antenna’s operational environment into account to a certain degree.

As an independent institute, we offer our customers test and measurement services in the in-house antenna measurement hall. In our spherical near-field measurement facility, we can set all fundamental antenna parameters. And on request, we can also develop customized antennas tailored your requirements.

Measurement

Anechoic environment

Our antenna measurement hall is completely lined with pyramid-shaped HF absorbent material. The absorbers allow us to carry out precise measurements at frequencies above 700 MHz. Thanks to the high-quality equipment and its special design, the chamber dampens potential sources of interference from the surrounding area by up to 100 dB. To ensure that it is free of vibrations from the building, the anechoic room is located in the basement – essentially detached from the rest of the structure.

 

Flexible measurement range

Currently, the facility accommodates measurements from 700 MHz up to 43 GHz. Thanks to a more powerful network analyzer, which allows frequencies to be measured continuously, these measurements are made three to four times faster than before. Designed to handle both short and long distances, the measurement hall is suitable for near- and far-field measurements. Every installation is customized to meet the requirements of the respective analysis.

Nearly all antenna parameters can be determined with just one measurement. Special parameters, such as signal transit time, can also be analyzed.

 

All antenna types

The spherical near-field measurement technique can be used to measure virtually any antenna type, no matter whether they are low- or high-gain devices. Size doesn’t matter either – an antenna with a diameter of just a few millimeters integrated into an embedded system can be analyzed just as easily as antennas larger than a meter.

 

Measuring equipment

  • Spherical near-/far-field scanner NSI700S-60
  • Vector network analyzers up to 65 GHz
  • Various spectrum analyzers (and vector signal analyzers)
  • GTEM cell
  • EMV screened cabins
  • Climatic chamber

Services

We offer independent testing and measurement services for virtually all antenna types in the 700 MHz to 43 GHz range, including:

  • Analyzing 3D directional characteristics
  • Verifying antenna gain
  • Evaluating noise temperature (G/T)
  • Measuring antenna efficiency

Once the measurement process is complete, we issue a report outlining all measurements that allows you to check and navigate the results.

More information

 

Smart Antenna Systems

Antennenmesshalle

Antennenmesshalle

In der modernen Antennenmesshalle des Fraunhofer IIS können Antennen und komplette Antennensysteme im Frequenzbereich von 700 MHz bis 40 GHz genauestens vermessen und deren Funktion verifiziert werden. Die Messungen finden in einer vollständig abgeschirmten Absorberhalle statt, so dass Störungen von außerhalb ausgeschlossen werden können.

Auf einen Blick

Die Antenne ist eine der zentralen Komponenten eines Funksystems. Sie zu vermessen und zu optimieren, geht häufig mit einem Qualitätssprung des gesamten Systems einher. Dabei lässt sich die entsprechende Umgebung, in der die Antenne betrieben werden soll, bis zu einem gewissen Grad berücksichtigen.

Hinweis: Mit dem Starten des Videos werden Daten an youtube übertragen.

Als unabhängiges Institut bieten wir unseren Kunden Test- und Messdienstleistungen in der hauseigenen Antennenmesshalle an. In der sphärischen Nahfeldmessanlage können wir alle wesentlichen Antennenparameter bestimmen. Auf Wunsch entwickeln wir für Sie auch maßgeschneiderte Antennen – angepasst an Ihre Anforderungen.

Technische Beschreibung

Reflexionsarme Umgebung

Unsere Antennenmesshalle ist komplett mit pyramidenförmigem HF-Absorber-Material ausgekleidet. Die Absorber erlauben präzise Messungen bei Frequenzen oberhalb von 700 MHz. Mögliche im Außenraum anliegende Störquellen dämpft die Halle um 100 dB. Das verdankt sie neben der hochwertigen Ausstattung auch ihrem besonderen Aufbau: Um frei von Gebäudeschwingungen zu sein, befindet sich der schalltote Raum im Untergeschoss – vom Rest des Gebäudes entkoppelt.

 

Flexible Messungen

Derzeit ermöglicht die Anlage Messungen im Bereich von 700 MHz bis 43 GHz. Mit Hilfe eines leistungsfähigeren Netzwerkanalysators sind diese drei- bis viermal so schnell wie bisher, da die Frequenzen fortlaufend gemessen werden können. Die Halle ist sowohl für kurze als auch für lange Entfernungen zur Nah- und Fernfeldmessung konzipiert. Jeder Aufbau wird individuell an die Anforderungen der jeweiligen Analyse angepasst.

Mit nur einer Messung lassen sich nahezu alle Antennenparametererfassen. Es können auch spezielle Parameter wie die Signallaufzeit untersucht werden.

 

Alle Antennentypen

Durch das Verfahren der sphärischen Nahfeldmessung können wir nahezu alle Antennentypen vermessen – egal ob Niedrig- oder Hochgewinnantennen. Auch die Größe ist nicht entscheidend: Es können sowohl Antennen mit einem Durchmesser von wenigen Millimetern, die in eingebettete Systeme integriert sind, als auch mehr als einen Meter große Geräte untersucht werden.

 

Messtechnische Ausstattung

  • Sphärischer Nahfeld-/Fernfeldscanner NSI700S-60
  • Vektor-Netzwerkanalysatoren bis 65 GHz
  • verschiedene Spektrum-Analysatoren (auch Vektor-Analysatoren)
  • GTEM-Zelle
  • EMV-Schirmabinen
  • Klimakammer

Angebot

Wir bieten unabhängige Test- und Messdienstleistungen von nahezu allen Antennentypen im Bereich von 700 MHz bis 43 GHz an. Dazu gehören beispielsweise:

  • Analyse der dreidimensionalen Richtcharakteristik
  • Überprüfung des Antennengewinns
  • Evaluierung der Rauschtemperatur (G/T)
  • Messung der Antenneneffizienz

Nach Ablauf der Messung bekommen Sie ein Protokoll mit allen Messdaten ausgehändigt, um die Ergebnisse prüfen und nachvollziehen zu können.

Mehr Informationen

Technologien

Projekte

Produkte