Audio & Multimedia

mp3 developers to receive esteemed Eduard Rhein Award

/ 13.10.2015

Erlangen/Munich, October 13, 2015: The Eduard Rhein Foundation has selected Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Karlheinz Brandenburg, Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Grill and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Herre to receive the 2015 Technology Award of the Eduard Rhein Foundation for their significant contributions to the development and implementation of mp3. The audio coding standard forever changed the world of music with its ability to allow music lovers to save their entire music library on a device as small as a matchbox for the very first time.

The Eduard Rhein Foundation will present the award at a festive ceremony to be held in the Hall of Fame at the Deutsche Museum in Munich, Germany, on October 17. The 2015 Technology Award will be handed over to Karlheinz Brandenburg, Bernhard Grill and Jürgen Herre, three members of the mp3 team, to honor their “decisive contributions to the development and practical implementation of the mp3 audio coding technique.”

Previous recipients of the foundation’s basic research awards include Shannon and Viterbi, absolute giants in their field of research. Naturally, being awarded ourselves is a great honor to us,” explains Jürgen Herre, chair holder for Perceptual Audio Coding at Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

Dr. Bernhard Grill, head of the Audio & Multimedia division at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, adds: ”mp3 is the result of a big team’s hard work and persistency to find a way to reduce the size of audio files without risking loss of quality. Today, mp3 is considered the universal standard for digital music in entertainment electronics worldwide.”

Karlheinz Brandenburg, director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT in Ilmenau, remembers: “When developing mp3, we envisioned the technology’s application in the field of digital radio serving millions of users. Today, there are billions of devices working with the mp3 format, greatly exceeding the expectations of our initial vision.”

The awardees and their contributions

Each party involved played a major role in the development of mp3 from Karlheinz Brandenburg’s dissertation delivering the scientific fundamentals for the development of mp3, to Bernhard Grill’s impactful role in implementing the software and Jürgen Herre working out a technology for efficiently coding stereo signals.

Today, Brandenburg is director of the Fraunhofer IDMT in Ilmenau, Grill heads the Audio & Multimedia division at the Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen and Jürgen Herre is the chief scientist of the Audio & Multimedia division at Fraunhofer IIS.

mp3 – A success story

Thanks to mp3 and its successor AAC, Fraunhofer IIS is the leading developer and provider of audio coding technologies worldwide. Today, a team of more than 200 engineers is working on audio and multimedia solutions for automotive, communications, digital broadcasting, mobile entertainment and streaming applications. Recent products include: Fraunhofer Cingo for virtual surround and 3D sound, Fraunhofer Symphoria for automotive 3D audio, the audio codec EVS delivering crystal clear mobile phone calls and MPEG-H Audio which provides immersive 3D sound and enables television viewers to adjust the dialogue volume to suit their personal preferences.

Advanced technologies developed at Fraunhofer IDMT in Ilmenau include solutions for live and installed 3D-sound for mega events such as Bregenz Festival or planetariums.

The Eduard Rhein Awards

In 1976, Eduard Rhein launched his foundation with the objective of supporting technical innovations in the field of TV and radio broadcasting. As chief editor of the German program guide “Hörzu” his passion for technology had already become evident when he introduced a technology page to the magazine that focused on the latest developments in broadcasting. In addition, when he first set up the foundation, he contributed 2 million DM out of his private savings. Since then, the Eduard Rhein Awards have honored leading figures in the field, such as Andrew Viterbi for the Viterbi algorithm or WWW creator Tim Berners-Lee for outstanding achievements in research, education, art and culture.

Audio & Multimedia

mp3-Erfinder erhalten Eduard-Rhein-Preis

/ 13.10.2015

Erlangen/München, 13. Oktober 2015: Für ihre bedeutenden Beiträge zur Entwicklung und Implementierung des weltweiten Standards mp3 werden Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Karlheinz Brandenburg, Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Grill und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Herre am 17. Oktober im Deutschen Museum München mit dem Technologiepreis 2015 der Eduard-Rhein-Stiftung ausgezeichnet. Das Audiocodierverfahren mp3 revolutionierte die Musikwelt und machte es Musik-liebhabern erstmals möglich, ihre gesamte Musiksammlung auf einem Gerät nicht größer als eine Streichholzschachtel zu speichern.

Die Eduard-Rhein-Stiftung ehrt mit der Verleihung des diesjährigen Technologiepreises drei Mitglieder des mp3-Erfinderteams »für entscheidende Beiträge zur Entwicklung und praktischen Implementierung des mp3-Audiocodierungsverfahrens«. Die Auszeichnung wird Karlheinz Brandenburg, Bernhard Grill und Jürgen Herre bei einer festlichen Veranstaltung im Ehrensaal des Deutschen Museums in München überreicht.

»Es haben bereits Personen wie Shannon und Viterbi den Grundlagenpreis dieser Stiftung gewonnen. Das sind absolute Giganten. Deshalb ist die Auszeichnung für uns natürlich von enormer Bedeutung und eine besondere Ehre«, so Jürgen Herre, Lehrstuhlinhaber Audiocodierung an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Bernhard Grill, Leiter des Bereichs Audio & Multimedia und stellvertretender Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, ergänzt: »mp3 ist das Ergebnis der Arbeit eines großen Teams, das über viele Jahre hartnäckig das Ziel verfolgt hat, die Größe von Musikdateien ohne Qualitätsverlust deutlich zu verringern. Heute ist mp3 der Standard für digitale Musik und nicht mehr wegzudenken aus der Unterhaltungselektronik.«

Karlheinz Brandenburg, Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Digitale Medientechnologie IDMT in Ilmenau sagt: »Bei der Entwicklung von mp3 träumten wir damals vom Einsatz der Technologie im digitalen Hörfunk und Millionen von Nutzern. Jetzt sind es viele Milliarden Geräte, die mit dem Format arbeiten, das übersteigt unsere damaligen Träume noch deutlich.«

Die Preisträger und ihre Verdienste

Die heiße Phase der mp3-Entwicklung begann ab 1987. Karlheinz Brandenburg erarbeitete in seiner Dissertation die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für die Entwicklung von mp3. Bernhard Grill war maßgeblich an der Softwareimplementierung beteiligt, während Jürgen Herre eine effiziente Technologie zur Speicherung von Stereosignalen entwickelte.

Heute leitet Karlheinz Brandenburg das Fraunhofer IDMT in Ilmenau, während Bernhard Grill Leiter des Bereichs Audio & Multimedia am Fraunhofer IIS ist. Auch Jürgen Herre ist dem Institut in Erlangen als leitender Wissenschaftler treu geblieben.

mp3 – Der Beginn einer Erfolgsgeschichte

Das Fraunhofer IIS ist heute dank des Erfolgs von mp3 und dem Nachfolgeverfahren AAC international führend in der Entwicklung von Audiotechnologien. Über 200 Entwicklerinnen und Entwickler arbeiten am Institut an Audio- und Multimedialösungen für die Bereiche Automotive, Digitaler Rundfunk, Kommunikation, mobile Entertainment und Streaming. Zu den aktuellsten Entwicklungen gehören etwa Fraunhofer Cingo und Fraunhofer Symphoria für realistischen Surround- und 3D-Klang unterwegs, der Audiocodec EVS für kristallklare Gespräche in der Mobilkommunikation sowie MPEG-H Audio – eine Technologie, die 3D-Sound und personalisierbare Klangerlebnisse in das heimische Wohnzimmer bringt.

Auch in Ilmenau wird an fortschrittlichen Audiotechnologien gearbeitet. Dazu gehören unter anderem Lösungen zur 3D-Beschallung von Großereignissen wie z. B. den Bregenzer Festspielen und Planetarien.

Der Eduard-Rhein-Preis

Im Jahre 1976 gründete Eduard Rhein seine gleichnamige Stiftung mit dem Ziel, technische Innovationen aus dem Bereich der Fernseh- und Rundfunktechnik zu fördern. Seine Begeisterung für Technik geht weit zurück und vermutlich über seine Zeit als Chefredakteur der Programmzeitschrift »Hörzu« hinaus. Damals etwa führte er bereits eine Technikseite ein, die sich mit den neuesten Entwicklungen im Bereich Rundfunk befasste. Wie sehr ihm das Thema am Herzen lag, zeigt zuletzt auch die Tatsache, dass Rhein die Stiftung mit 2 Mio. DM Anfangskapital aus dem eigenen Vermögen gründete. Seitdem durften Größen wie Andrew Viterbi für den Viterbi- Algorithmus oder WWW-Schöpfer Tim Berners-Lee Eduard-Rhein-Preise für herausragende Leistungen in Forschung, Bildung, Kunst und Kultur entgegennehmen.