Yandex And The Audio Experts of Fraunhofer IIS Team Up To Bring Russian-Speaking Smart Speaker To Market

/ 30.5.2018

ERLANGEN, Germany/MOSCOW, Russia – Yandex, a technology company that builds intelligent products and services powered by machine learning, has incorporated Fraunhofer’s upHear Voice Quality Enhancement technology into its first smart speaker, enabling the device to accurately hear voice commands issued from anywhere in a room.

© Yandex

Yandex.Station

Fraunhofer’s upHear Voice Quality Enhancement reduces background noise and acoustical echoes, ensuring that Yandex’s new smart speaker, Yandex.Station (Яндекс станция) and the embedded intelligent assistant Alice, can hear intelligible verbal commands, even when the speaker is streaming music at the same time.

“Fraunhofer provided a software solution that applies advanced digital signal processing techniques to enhance the signals collected by the microphone array technology for far-field voice capturing, Yandex.IO. This ensures that Yandex’s highly reliable keyword spotter and speech recognizer receive a clean voice signal,” said Manfred Lutzky, Head of Audio for Communications at Fraunhofer IIS. “Our upHear technology removes interfering sounds captured by the smart speaker’s microphones, extracts the user’s voice and cancels out acoustical echoes that would otherwise make it impossible for the speaker to understand the user’s request.”

Fraunhofer’s upHear Voice Quality Enhancement solution supports full-bandwidth audio and is a suitable voice enhancement step for a wide range of applications, including natural language understanding in mobile and smart home devices. It is a fully integrated and flexible solution which enables full-duplex conversations and barge-in support with outstanding audio quality. This is achieved by combining advanced multichannel source localization and beamforming techniques with echo- and noise-reduction algorithms.

“We tested multiple voice enhancement solutions working together with our far-field microphone array technology Yandex.IO and found the Fraunhofer upHear technology to be the most effective in bringing Alice from the smartphone to the smart home,” said Konstantin Kruglov, Director of Experimental Products at Yandex. “Whether you are standing right in front of the device, or farther away in the room, Alice will understand you, even under challenging acoustic conditions.”

Yandex’s AI assistant Alice listens for and understands natural Russian-language requests and provides contextually relevant answers using Yandex’s search engine and services that include weather, news, maps, transport and music streaming services. In developing Alice, Yandex built on its knowledge of the more than 50 million monthly users who interact with its services, plus its machine-learning capabilities and 20 years of experience with Russian users and the Russian language.

Using Yandex’s proprietary speech recognition technology, Alice delivers world-best accuracy for spoken Russian-language recognition and understands speech with near human-level accuracy. Alice also synthesizes voice responses that sound natural and authentic.

Alice, which was initially offered in Yandex’s iOS and Android apps, is the first virtual assistant designed to serve the needs of Russian users. With the new integration into Yandex.Station and several other updates, Alice’s ecosystem is expanding to offer Russian users an even more advanced experience.

About Yandex

Yandex (NASDAQ:YNDX) is a technology company that builds intelligent products and services powered by machine learning. Our goal is to help consumers and businesses better navigate the online and offline world. Since 1997, we have delivered world-class, locally relevant search and information services. Additionally, we have developed leading on-demand transportation services, navigation products, and other mobile applications for millions of consumers across the globe. Yandex, which has 17 offices worldwide, has been listed on the NASDAQ since 2011.

Yandex und Fraunhofer IIS realisieren ersten russischsprachigen Smart Speaker

/ 25.6.2018

Erlangen/Moskau – Yandex, Betreiber einer marktführenden Suchmaschine in Russland sowie Entwickler intelligenter Produkte und Dienstleistungen für maschinelles Lernen, hat die upHear® Voice Quality Enhancement-Technologie von Fraunhofer in den ersten intelligenten Lautsprecher des Unternehmens integriert. Damit kann das Gerät Sprachbefehle präzise hören, ganz egal wo im Raum sie gegeben wurden.

© Yandex

Yandex.Station

Die upHear Voice Quality Enhancement (VQE)-Technologie von Fraunhofer reduziert Hintergrundgeräusche und akustische Echos und stellt sicher, dass der neue Smart Speaker von Yandex, Yandex.Station (Яндекс станция), sowie die eingebettete intelligente Assistentin Alice verbale Befehle verstehen, selbst wenn der Sprecher gleichzeitig Musik streamt.

»Fraunhofer steuerte eine wegbereitende Softwarelösung bei, die der ›Yandex.IO‹ Mikrofon-Array-Technologie für Fernfeld-Sprachaufnahme ein aufgearbeitetes Audiosignal liefert. Damit erhalten der Keyword-Spotter und der Spracherkenner von Yandex ein sauberes Sprachsignal«, sagt Manfred Lutzky, Leiter der Abteilung Audio für Kommunikationsanwendungen am Fraunhofer IIS. »Unsere upHear-Technologie entfernt Störgeräusche, die von den Mikrofonen des Smart Speakers aufgenommen werden, extrahiert die Stimme des Benutzers und entfernt das eigene Lautsprechersignal, was es dem Gerät sonst unmöglich machen würde, die Anfrage des Benutzers zu verstehen.«

upHear VQE von Fraunhofer verarbeitet Mikrofonsignale in voller wahrnehmbarer Audiobandbreite und eignet sich zur Sprachverbesserung für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen, einschließlich des Verstehens natürlicher Sprache in mobilen und Smart Home-Geräten. Die Technologie ist eine vollständig integrierte und flexible Lösung, die Vollduplex-Gespräche und Sprachansage-Unterbrechungen (Barge-In) mit herausragender Audioqualität ermöglicht. Dies wird erreicht, indem fortschrittliche Methoden der Mehrkanal-Quellenlokalisierung und des Beamformings mit Algorithmen zur Echo- und Rauschunterdrückung kombiniert werden.

»Wir haben mehrere Voice-Enhancement-Lösungen zusammen mit unserer Far-Field Mikrofon-Array-Technologie Yandex.IO getestet und kamen zu dem Ergebnis, dass die Fraunhofer upHear-Technologie unsere Sprachassistentin Alice am effektivsten vom Smartphone in das Smart Home bringt«, sagt Konstantin Kruglov, Director of Experimental Products bei Yandex. »Egal, ob die Nutzer sich direkt vor dem Gerät oder weiter weg im Raum befinden, Alice wird sie verstehen – auch unter schwierigen akustischen Bedingungen.«

Die Yandex KI-Assistentin Alice hört auf und versteht russischsprachige Befehle und liefert kontextrelevante Antworten mit Hilfe der Yandex-Suchmaschine und verschiedener Yandex-Dienste, wie Wetter-, Nachrichten-, Karten-, Transport- und Musikstreaming-Apps. Bei der Entwicklung von Alice halfen Yandex die Erfahrungen mit mehr als 50 Millionen Nutzern die jeden Monat die Dienste des Unternehmens verwenden, sowie neuartige Erkenntnisse über maschinelles Lernen und die 20-jährige Erfahrung mit russischen Nutzern und der russischen Sprache.

Mithilfe der proprietären Spracherkennungstechnologie von Yandex versteht Alice gesprochenes Russisch mit nahezu menschlicher Genauigkeit. Alice erzeugt auch Sprachantworten, die natürlich und authentisch klingen.

Alice, die schon seit einiger Zeit die iOS- und Android-Apps von Yandex unterstützt, ist die erste virtuelle Assistentin speziell für die Bedürfnisse russischsprachiger Benutzer. Mit der Integration in den Smart Speaker Yandex.Station wird die Alice-Welt erweitert, um Schritt für Schritt ein noch umfassenderes Erlebnis zu bieten.