smart KPI determination

CPS in in-house transport: Efficiency measurement with the help of automated generated key figures

You need reliably data in order to be able to plan, control, monitor logistical processes precisely as well as identifying critical components within the process. The existing procedures for data capture are, for example, derived from whichever IT system is being used for warehouse entries, or the data is entered manually. Data entry thus involves considerable effort and time on the part of staff, and can also lead to subjective and imprecise results.

In order to make the deployment and tracking of ground conveyors more transparent and efficient, the localization technologies developed by Fraunhofer IIS are used. The relevant data on the ground conveyors becomes capturable, and a universal software platform and appropriate front end also mean that the data can be evaluated and interpreted. In order to generate additional, company-specific information, the mobile localization systems can also be linked to various types of sensors such as to measure temperature or detect shocks. With this as a basis, specific key performance indicators (KPIs) and potential for optimization such as throughput times for trips, the time intervals for loading and unloading, and the number of empty trips can be recognized. Automatically generated KPIs can thus be used to uncover process bottlenecks in your company and show them in motion profiles.

The system allows for simple and temporary installation as well as flexible evaluation options in order to be able to show the current status of a transport system in a reliable manner. The solution from Fraunhofer IIS helps to reduce a company’s costs by optimizing the use of tugger trains and streamlining the fleet of forklifts. The data captured allows transport routes to be planned economically and points where traffic jams and bottlenecks occur to be identified and remedied.

Intelligente Kennzahlenermittlung

CPS im innerbetrieblichen Transport: Effizienzmessung mit Hilfe automatisiert generierter Kennzahlen

Um Logistikprozesse präzise planen, steuern und kontrollieren zu können sowie kritische Bestandteile innerhalb der Prozesse zu identifizieren, benötigt man verlässliche Daten. Die bisherigen Vorgehensweisen zur Datenerfassung werden beispielsweise aus dem jeweiligen IT-System auf Basis von Lagerbuchungen ausgeleitet oder manuell erhoben. Die Datenerhebung ist so mit einem beträchtlichen personellen und zeitlichen Aufwand verbunden und kann zudem zu subjektiven und unpräzisen Ergebnissen führen.

Um den Einsatz und die Verfolgung von Flurförderzeugen transparenter und effizienter zu gestalten, werden die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Lokalisierungstechnologien verwendet. Die relevanten Daten der Flurförderzeuge werden erfassbar und durch eine übergreifende Softwareplattform, sowie ein entsprechendes Front-End, auswert- und interpretierbar. Um unternehmensspezifische Zusatzinformationen zu generieren, können die mobilen Lokalisierungssysteme zudem mit unterschiedlichster Sensorik, beispielsweise Temperaturmessung oder Erschütterungserkennung, verknüpft werden. Auf dieser Basis können konkrete Kennzahlen (KPI) und Optimierungspotenziale wie die Durchlaufzeiten für Touren, die Zeitintervalle für Be- und Entladungsvorgänge sowie die Anzahl der Leerfahrten ermittelt werden. Mit Hilfe automatisiert generierter Kennzahlen können daher Prozessengpässe in Ihrem Unternehmen aufgedeckt und in Bewegungsprofilen dargestellt werden.

Das System ermöglicht eine leichte und temporäre Installation sowie flexible Auswertmöglichkeiten, um den Ist-Zustand eines Transportsystems zuverlässig darstellen zu können. Die Lösung des Fraunhofer IIS hilft die Kosten im Unternehmen zu reduzieren, indem der Einsatz von Routenzügen optimiert und die Staplerflotte verschlankt werden können. Die erhobenen Daten erlauben es, Fahrwege ökonomisch zu planen sowie Stau-und Engstellen zu identifizieren und zu beheben.