LocON: Improving Security of Large Public Areas

LocON

Improving airport security

Improving the security of large public areas such as airports is a never-ending process. At the same time, efforts are continually being made to render them easier to operate. Location sensing technologies make it possible to determine the positions of objects, people and vehicles in real time. The LocON project is bringing such technologies to airports.
Airport aprons are extremely busy areas: Airport staff are constantly driving baggage tractors to aircraft, loading air freight containers into holds or refueling planes. Cleaning crews have to complete their work on each plane before the next passengers arrive. It is important to be able to identify all people, vehicles and objects that are present on the apron at any one time. Are there any unauthorized persons present in the area? Is anybody putting themselves in danger? For security staff monitoring the area on screens, keeping track of everything is an almost impossible task.
The LocON platform will make it possible to automatically control access by airport staff as well as vehicles and other objects without the use of gates. Fraunhofer IIS is working in conjunction with European partners to further develop this platform. Using wireless technology, the platform is able to track the positions of people and objects. To this end, vehicles, containers and other objects are equipped with tiny transmitters. Combined with video surveillance, this technology offers further potential: Up until now, security personnel had not only to simultaneously watch screens showing images captured by different cameras, but also to be familiar with every authorized person. In the future, robocams could, for instance, track two people at a time and automatically match their movement patterns against the position data collected. The system could then notify security staff of any detected problems such as an imminent accident.
In collaboration with leading providers of positioning systems, LocON is going to be installed at Faro Airport, Portugal. The system is later to be employed to improve safety and security in other areas, for example on construction sites, at railroad stations or on company premises.

Sicherheit auf großen Infrastrukturen

LocON

Wenn sich die Sicherheit auf Flughäfen erhöht…

Große Infrastrukturen wie Flughäfen sollen immer sicherer werden. Gleichzeitig sollen solche Bauten leichter gesteuert werden. Ortungstechnologien bestimmen in Echtzeit die Positionen von Objekten, Personen und Fahrzeugen. Das Projekt LocON führt solche Technologien am Flughafen ein:

Auf dem Flugvorfeld eines Flughafens herrscht reges Treiben. Mitarbeiter fahren Gepäcktransporter an die Maschine, verladen Container für Luftfracht und betanken das Flugzeug. Putzkolonnen müssen das Flugzeug säubern, bevor neue Passagiere eintreffen. Doch welche Personen, welche Fahrzeuge und welche Objekte bewegen sich auf dem Flugvorfeld? Haben all die Menschen eine Befugnis für das Areal? Geraten Menschen in gefährliche Situationen? Für das Sicherheitspersonal, das das Gelände auf dem Bildschirm überwacht, ist es eine fast unlösbare Aufgabe, den Überblick zu bewahren.

Die Plattform LocON bietet eine automatische und torfreie Zutrittskontrolle sowohl für das beschäftigte Personal als auch für Fahrzeuge und andere Objekte. Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt sie gemeinsam mit europäischen Partnern. Durchgehend lokalisiert die Plattform alle Personen und Objekte mittels Funk. Fahrzeuge, Luftfrachtcontainer und andere Objekte sind mit einem funkenden Chip versehen und können so geortet werden. Weiteres Potential bietet die Kombination mit Videoüberwachung: Bisher mussten Sicherheitsbeamte stets mehrere Schirme mit Bildern verschiedener Kameras im Auge behalten und die berechtigten Personen kennen. Künftig könnten Robocams beispielsweise zwei Personen verfolgen und die Profile der Bewegungen automatisch mit den Lokalisierungsdaten abgleichen. Stellt das System fest, dass etwas nicht stimmt – etwa ein Unfall droht –, erhalten die Sicherheitskräfte einen Hinweis.

Gemeinsam mit führenden Anbietern von Lokalisierung wird LocON am portugiesischen Flughafen Faro installiert. Künftig soll das System die Sicherheit auch in anderen Bereichen erhöhen: Etwa auf Baustellen, Bahnhöfen oder Firmengeländen.