NAMES

NAMES - Emergency Call and Assistance System to Retain Mobility and Increase Independence in the Home

© TeleOrbit GmbH

With the NAMES© project - a robust and error-tolerant positioning at home is realised - which works without any transition outdoors and in the apartment. Due to the communication skills of this solution, it is possible to conduct manual (initiated by the user), as well as automated (initiated by an event) emergency functions.

In order to avoid false alarms, the new development of the indoor-positioning is secured via two independent technologies: e-home ceiling-sensors and iBeacons. The Fraunhofer IIS’s awiloc® positioning solution uses these Beaconsignals - based on a fingerprinting technology - to determine the location. The innovation of the positioning solution consists of a coordinate-free position localization, which can be directly allocated to the affected room, based on signal images. This means that positioning is possible without using a map. The localization generates commonly understood semantic terms (e.g. names for rooms like kitchen, dining room). Thus, a faster and simpler installation of the system is assured.

TeleOrbit® merges the above mentioned technologies with the existing outdoor-positioning technology. The applied emergency call - and alarm application was developed further to be used in smartphone-watches and optimized for indoor-positioning. The new NAMES-app is installed on the smartphone-watches, which send automatic alarms and manual emergency calls and transfer the current position inside or outside of a building.

The whole system can be applied for different scenarios as to determine a person’s location, to monitor certain areas, as well as for manual and automatic emergency functions and the best possible support whenever it is required.

In case of specific application scenarios, every alarm can be allocated to a room to detect uncommon behaviour. Staying 3 hours in the bathroom, for instance, can be a hint for a fall or staying one day in the bedroom can indicate a bad overall condition.

Project partners:

  • TeleOrbit GmbH, Nürnberg (Projectleader)
  • ACX GmbH, Zwickau
  • Fraunhofer IIS, Nürnberg
  • wbg Nürnberg GmbH
  • avendi Senioren  Service GmbH, Weißenfels

Supported by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) within the framework of the Central Innovation Program "middle class" (ZIM).

NAMES

NAMES - Notruf und Assistenzsysteme zur Erhaltung der Mobilität und Erhöhung der Selbstbestimmung im häuslichen Umfeld

NAMES© - Testaufbau
© Foto TeleOrbit GmbH

Mit NAMES© wird eine robuste und fehlertolerante Ortung im häuslichen Umfeld realisiert, die übergangslos im Freien und in der Wohnung funktioniert. Durch die Kommunikationsfähigkeiten der Lösung ist es möglich manuelle (durch den Nutzer ausgelöste) und automatisierte (durch ein Ereignis) Notruffunktionen zu realisieren.

Die Neuentwicklung der Indoor-Ortung wird über zwei unabhängige Technologien abgesichert, um Fehlalarme zu vermeiden: e-home Deckensensoren und iBeacons. Die awiloc® Lokalisierungslösung des Fraunhofer IIS  verwendet diese Beaconsignale zur Ortsbestimmung basierend auf einem Fingerprinting-Verfahren. Die Innovation der Lokalisierungslösung besteht in der koordinatenlosen Ortsbestimmung, die direkt von Signalbildern auf Räume schließen kann. Somit ist eine Lokalisierung ohne Karte möglich. Die Lokalisierung erzeugt allgemeinverständliche semantische Bezeichnungen (z.B. Raumnamen wie Küche, Esszimmer). Das ermöglicht eine schnelle und einfache Inbetriebnahme des Systems.

Die TeleOrbit GmbH führt diese Technologien mit der vorhandenen Outdoor-Ortungstechnik zusammen. Die verwendete Notruf- und Alarm-App wurde für den Einsatz in SmartPhoneWatches weiterentwickelt und für die Indoor-Ortung optimiert. Die neue NAMES-App wird auf SmartPhoneWatches installiert, die automatische Alarme und manuelle Notrufe versenden und die aktuelle Position innerhalb oder außerhalb von Gebäuden übermitteln.

Das Gesamtsystem ist somit sowohl für Szenarien zur Bestimmung des Aufenthaltsortes von Personen, die Überwachung von Aufenthaltsbereichen, eine manuelle und automatisierte Notruffunktion und die bestmögliche Unterstützung im Bedarfsfall anwendbar.

In konkreten Anwendungsszenarien kann jeder Alarm einen Raum zugeordnet werden, um ein unübliches Verhalten zu ermitteln. Beispielweise kann ein drei Stündiger Aufenthalt im Badezimmer auf einen Sturz hin deuten oder ein Tag im Schlafzimmer auf einen schlechten Allgemeinzustand hin deuten.

 

Projektpartner:

TeleOrbit GmbH, Nürnberg (Projektleitung)

ACX GmbH, Zwickau

Fraunhofer IIS, Nürnberg

wbg Nürnberg GmbH

avendi Senioren  Service GmbH, Weißenfels

 

Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) im Rahmen des Zentralen Innovationsprogramms Mittelstand (ZIM).