Filter4Flow – Intelligentes Atmungsfiltersystem
© iStock.com/Juanmonino
Intelligenter Virenfilter zur patientennahen Erfassung der Atemparameter und für den außerklinischen Einsatz

Smart virus filter system

Filter-sensor system that can be used easily, quickly and safely in hospital and non-hospital settings.

Filter4Flow – A smart, non-invasive respiratory filter system

Monitoring breathing close to the patient: Precise, wireless and intuitive

Objective

As part of the Filter4Flow project, we are working on a novel technology for monitoring patients’ breathing. It improves clinical treatment processes, allows respiratory parameters to be recorded close to the patient and can be used outside the ICU.
Our smart virus filter revolutionizes respiratory monitoring for patients suffering from conditions such as SARS-CoV-2 by filtering out harmful particles from the air while also continuously monitoring all relevant parameters (breathing flow, oxygen level, tidal volume, etc.). This means that patients can be given ideal respiratory assistance at all times. The design allows filters and sensors to be replaced quickly and easily, thus making life easier for the nursing staff. The simplicity of the application means that it can even be used outside medical institutions, for example in developing countries or crisis regions.

Background

The sensor and electronic components responsible for measuring respiratory mechanism values tend to be located in hard-to-reach places inside ventilators. This distance from the patient is enough to distort results and makes it harder to replace individual components as required. Continuous respiratory monitoring is relevant for all patient groups, whether or not pneumonia has been diagnosed. But up to now, this kind of monitoring has been possible only in the ICU, where it is managed by specially trained personnel.

Immediate diagnosis close to the patient

Our Solution

Made of thin fabric, the smart respiratory system’s filter is positioned directly between the ventilator hose and the patient’s breathing tube. Sensor elements such as strain gauge strips and gas sensors are attached to the fabric to allow for point-of-care recording of respiratory activity and gas concentrations.
The filter-sensor combination protects patients from viruses and bacteria while wireless signal transmission makes it easier to manage their respiratory assistance. Since the respiratory filter system can be replaced quickly and easily, it makes life easier for the nursing staff.

Added value of the robust respiratory filter system

  • Non-invasive, point-of-care recording of relevant respiratory parameters (breathing flow, air pressure, oxygen level)
  • Maintenance-free and cost-effective single-use item
  • Good accessibility and ease of use enable non-hospital use (developing countries, crisis regions)
  • Hygienic thanks to the straightforward exchange of individual components

Current situation

  • An initial lab prototype of the proposed measuring system is ready and comprises strain gauge strips, amplifier boards and control devices.
  • The prototype is undergoing a proof-of-concept test.
  • Further miniaturization of the sensor elements and refinement of the SGS structures is scheduled to take place in early 2021.   

Project Partner

The following Fraunhofer institutes are involved in the Filter4Flow project:

  • Fraunhofer IIS
  • Fraunhofer ITEM
  • Fraunhofer IST

Filter4Flow – Intelligentes Atmungsfiltersystem
© iStock.com/Juanmonino
Intelligenter Virenfilter zur patientennahen Erfassung der Atemparameter und für den außerklinischen Einsatz

Intelligentes Virenfiltersystem#

Filter-Sensorsystem für den einfachen, schnellen und sicheren Einsatz in klinischen und nicht-klinischen Bereichen

Filter4Flow – Intelligentes, nicht-invasives Atmungsfiltersystem

Atem-Monitoring direkt am Menschen: Präzise, drahtlos und intuitiv#

Ziel

Im Projekt Filter4Flow arbeiten wir an einer neuartigen Technologie zur Überwachung der Beatmung von Patienten, die die klinischen Behandlungsprozesse verbessert, eine patientennahe Erfassung der Atemparameter ermöglicht und auch außerhalb von Intensivstationen eingesetzt werden kann.
Es handelt sich um einen intelligenten Virenfilter, der das Atem-Monitoring von bspw. SARS-Cov-2-Patienten revolutioniert, indem er sowohl gefährliche Partikel in der Atemluft filtert und zugleich alle atembezogenen Parameter (Atemfluss, Sauerstoffgehalt, Tidalvolumen etc.) kontinuierlich überwacht und damit die Beatmung jederzeit optimal geregelt wird. Die Filter-Sensor-Struktur lässt sich schnell und einfach austauschen und entlastet somit das Pflegepersonal. Die einfache Anwendung ermöglicht auch den Einsatz außerhalb klinischer Einrichtungen, z.B. in Entwicklungsländern oder Krisenregionen.

Motivation

Die Sensor- und Elektronikbauteile zur Messung atemmechanischer Größen sind zumeist direkt in den Beatmungsgeräten an schwer zugänglichen Stellen verbaut, diese patientenferne Erfassung zieht Verzerrungen nach sich und verhindert den beliebigen Austausch einzelner Komponenten. Ein durchgängiges Atem-Monitoring ist für alle Patientengruppen relevant, egal ob mit oder ohne nachgewiesener Pneumonie. Allerdings ist ein solches Monitoring bisher nur auf Intensivstationen und durch speziell geschultes Personal umsetzbar.
 

Patientennahe Sofortdiagnostik#

Unsere Lösung

Das Filtermaterial des intelligenten Atmungsfilters besteht aus dünnem Gewebe, das zwischen dem Schlauch des Beatmungsgeräts und des Tubus beim Patientenkopf direkt integriert wird. Zur patientennahen Erfassung der Atmungsaktivität und Gaskonzentration sind auf das Gewebe sensorische Elemente, z.B. Dehnungsmessstreifen und Gassensoren, aufgebracht.


Die Filter-Sensor-Kombination schützt den Patienten nicht nur vor Viren und Bakterien, sondern erleichtert durch die kabellose Übertragung der Signale gleichzeitig die Steuerung seiner Beatmung. Das Atmungsfiltersystem kann im Klinikalltag einfach und schnell ausgetauscht werden und erleichtert damit die Arbeiten des Pflegepersonals.

  • Mehrwert des robusten Atmungsfiltersystems
    • Nicht-invasive, patientennahe Erfassung relevanter Atemparameter (Atemfluss, Luftdruck, Sauerstoffgehalt)
    • Wartungsfreier und kostengünstiger Einwegartikel
    • Gute Zugänglichkeit und einfache Anwendbarkeit ermöglicht außerklinischen Einsatz (Entwicklungsländer, Krisenregionen)
    • Hygienische Sauberkeit durch den einfachen Austausch einzelner Komponenten
  • Aktueller Stand
    • Ein erstes Labormuster des geplanten Messsystems, bestehend aus Dehnungsmessstreifen, Verstärkerplatine und Controller, liegt vor
    • Das Labormuster wird einer Proof-of-Concept Messung unterzogen
    • Die weitere Miniaturisierung der Sensorelemente und die Überarbeitung der DMS-Strukturen sind für Anfang 2021 geplant  

Projektpartner#

Am Projekt Filter4Flow sind folgende Fraunhofer-Institute beteiligt

  • Fraunhofer IIS
  • Fraunhofer ITEM
  • Fraunhofer IST