Energy Maximization of Complex Battery Systems - Increased Range of Electric Vehicles

Press Release / 2.11.2010

Fraunhofer IIS develops battery management systems to maximize the energy efficiency of battery systems,providing for a significantly increased vehicle range.

The battery management system (BMS) developed by Fraunhofer IIS measures the current, voltages and temperatures of the battery cells. Based on the measured values the state-of-charge of the cells is calculated. So far the capacity of a serial multi-cell system is limited to the capacity of its weakest cell in the chain. Discharge has to be interrupted when the low-voltage limit is reached. Valuable cell energy of the other cells is lost and cannot be used.

This is where the battery management systems of Fraunhofer IIS come into play. In order to fully discharge all cells, the energy of the stronger cells has to be transferred to the weaker cells. When the BMS detects differences in state-of-charge, energy transfer from one cell to another is initiated with the help of a newly developed active balancing. This way the system efficiency is maximized and the power of every battery cell can be used. Fraunhofer scientists were the first to implement this innovative battery management technology. What is more, active balancing of energy reduces reduces the waste heat in the accumulator, which is generated i. e. by passive balancing.

Powerful battery systems are used in i. e. electric and hybrid vehicles and in small, light-weight electric vehicles, like wheelchairs or electric bicycles. With the help of the Fraunhofer battery management system it is possible to significantly increase the range of electric vehicles.

Fraunhofer showcases its latest battery management systems and efficiency maximizing technology at the Munich fair Electronica from November 9 to 12, 2010.

Energiemaximierung von komplexen Batterie- und Brennstoffzellensystemen - höhere Reichweite für Fahrzeuge

Presseinformation / 2.11.2010

Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt Batteriemanagement-Systeme, mit deren Hilfe die Engergieausbeute von Batterie- und Brennstoffzellensystemen maximiert werden kann. Dadurch ist es möglich, die Reichweite von Fahrzeugen deutlich zu erhöhen.

Das Batteriemanagement-System (BMS) des Fraunhofer IIS misst den Strom, die Zellspannungen und die Temperaturen des Batteriesystems. Anhand der Messwerte wird der Ladezustand der Zellen berechnet. Bisher kann bei einem seriellen Mehrzellensystem nur soviel Energie entnommen werden, wie in der schwächsten Zelle enthalten ist. Die Entladung muss abgebrochen werden, wenn die minimale Spannung erreicht wurde. Dadurch geht wertvolle Energie in den restlichen Zellen zur Nutzung verloren.

An dieser Schwachstelle setzen die Batteriemanagement-Systeme des Fraunhofer IIS an. Um alle Zellen komplett entladen zu können, muss die Energie von stärkeren in schwächere Zellen umgeladen werden. Stellt das BMS ungleiche Ladezustände fest, kann es mit Hilfe einer neuartigen implementierten aktiven Symmetrierung Energie zwischen den Zellen transferieren. Dadurch wird die Ausbeute des Systems maximiert und die gesamte Energie aller Zellen genutzt. Diese innovative Technologie wurde erstmalig von den Fraunhofer- Forschern umgesetzt. Zudem verringert die Umladung der Energie und die weitere Nutzung im Verbraucher die Abwärme im Akku, die z. B. durch die übliche passive Symmetrierung entsteht.

Größere Batteriesysteme werden beispielsweise in Elektround Hybridfahrzeugen sowie in elektrischen Kleinfahrzeugen, z. B. Rollstühle verwendet. Mit Hilfe des Fraunhofer- Batteriemanagement-Systems ist es möglich, die Reichweite der Fahrzeuge deutlich zu erhöhen.

Die aktuellsten Batteriemanagement-Systeme und ihre Effizienz bei der Energiemaximierung zeigt das Fraunhofer IIS auf der Electronica vom 9. bis 12.11.2010 in München.