Fraunhofer IIS and Cube-Tec develop new digitalization procedure for video archives

Press Release / 9.9.2011

The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen and Cube-Tec International GmbH are jointly developing a new procedure for the high-quality and automated digitalization of analogue video cassettes. In this new procedure the complete signal processing path of tape machines is realized via computer software. This enables new forms of quality control, signal processing and the generation of technical meta data, which was previously not possible with the use of video recorders.

The recorded and processed digital data are subsequently available for data-based long-term archiving. The digitalization of the ½“ formats such as Betacam and Betacam SP is currently paramount in the project work. Nevertheless, older formats such as U-Matic can also be digitalised using this procedure. All used standardized coding and data formats correspond to the requirements of digital archiving and the future use of the digital film material.

In addition to the processing software developed by Fraunhofer IIS high-performance-capable systems from Cube-Tec are also utilized: »QUADRIGA Video« for automated input control and the generation of meta data, the high-performance Dobbin rendering system for coding, restoration and file transfer as well as the Cube-Workflow for automated process control.

Dr. Siegfried Fößel, Head of Departement Moving Picture Technologies at Fraunhofer IIS says: »The approach – which has been filed as an application for a patent – is a promising new way to preserve the content of valuable video cassette stocks for posterity and will make it available for production once again.«

According to Jörg Houpert, Technical Director of Cube-Tec, Cube-Tec International GmbH can feature extensive experience with comparable systems and processes that have already been used for the digitalization and archiving of audio tapes for many years.

Find out more about this project on the Fraunhofer stand at the International Broadcast Convention IBC in Amsterdam, Hall 8 Stand B80, and at Cube-Tec International in Hall 8 Stand D03.

Visit us at IBC 2011, Amsterdam September 9 – 13 Hall 8 / Booth B80!

Fraunhofer IIS und Cube-Tec entwickeln neues Digitalisierungsverfahren für neue Videoarchive

Pressemitteilung / 9.9.2011

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Erlangen und die Cube-Tec International GmbH entwickeln in einem gemeinsamen Projekt ein neues Verfahren für die hochqualitative und automatisierte Digitalisierung analoger Videokassetten. In diesem neuen Verfahren wird der komplette Signalverarbeitungspfad von Bandmaschinen über eine Computersoftware realisiert. Damit sind neue Formen der Qualitätskontrolle, der Signalaufbereitung und der Erzeugung von technischen Metadaten möglich, was bislang mit Hilfe von Videorecordern nicht umsetzbar war.

Die aufgenommenen und aufbereiteten digitalen Daten stehen anschließend für die dateibasierte Langzeitarchivierung zur Verfügung. Die Digitalisierung der ½“-Formate, wie Betacam und Betacam SP, stehen zunächst im Vordergrund der Projektarbeiten. Dennoch können auch ältere Formate, wie U-Matic mit diesem Verfahren digitalisiert werden. Alle standardisierten Codier- und Dateiformate entsprechen den Anforderungen an die digitale Archivierung und der zukünftigen Nutzung des digitalen Filmmaterials.

Neben der vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Verarbeitungssoftware kommen hochleistungsfähige Digitalisierungssysteme von Cube-Tec zum Einsatz: QUADRIGA Video für die automatisierte Einspielsteuerung und Metadatenerzeugung, das leistungsfähige Dobbin Renderingsystem für die Codierung, Restaurierung und den File-Transfer sowie der Cube- Workflow für die automatisierte Prozesssteuerung.

Dr. Siegfried Fößel, Leiter der Abteilung Bewegtbildtechnologien des Fraunhofer IIS, beurteilt diesen völligen neuen Ansatz, der zum Patent angemeldet wurde, als eine der derzeit besten Möglichkeiten, um Inhalte wertvoller Videokassettenbestände für die Nachwelt zu erhalten und der Produktion wieder zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Jörg Houpert, technischer Direktor von Cube-Tec International erklärt: »Wir setzen das Verfahren, bei dem das Signal bereits hinter der Kopftrommel digitalisiert und der komplette analoge Wiedergabeweg der Bandmaschine durch die digitale Signalverarbeitung präzise rekonstruiert wird, seit Jahren in großen Audioarchivprojekten ein und konnten damit deutliche Qualitätsgewinne erreichen.«

Mehr zu diesem Projekt zeigt das IIS auf dem Fraunhofer- Stand auf der International Broadcast Convention IBC in Amsterdam, Halle 8 Stand B80 sowie bei Cube-Tec International in Halle 8 Stand D03.

Besuchen Sie uns auf der IBC 2011 in Amsterdam vom 9. bis 13. September Halle 8 / Stand B80