Fraunhofer IIS and Fujitsu are Cooperating

Press Release / 2.12.2011

In exchanging expertise and granting mutual access to their IP pools, Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe and the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS are ­facilitating the development of future-proof nano­meter chips for their customers

As part of this cooperation, new research and development projects have been under way since the beginning of 2010. These are aimed at multimedia, image processing and navigation applications in the automotive, industrial and telecommunications markets.

For this purpose, Fujitsu is making available its analogue and digital nanometer technology libraries, IP (intellectual property) pool and expertise. Fraunhofer IIS is complementing this with its own IP and decades of experience in IC and system design. Chip designs, right up to the GDSII data, are devel­oped and evaluated together with customers. Fujitsu is producing prototypes in 90 nm and 65 nm CMOS techno­logies on multi-project wafers (MPW) at significantly reduced mask costs.

This means that the technology partners of Fujitsu and the ­ IC developers at Fraunhofer IIS can implement fast and highly efficient solutions. There is potential for business models from prototypes (MPWs) via small series through to series production.

“Industry, research and training all benefit from this co-­operation. It grants cost-effective and dependable access to the latest nanometer technology for research projects, pilot series and products”, comments Josef Sauerer, Head of Integrated Circuits and Systems at Fraunhofer IIS.

Norbert Schuhmann, Digital Systems Group Manager, adds: “Particularly worth noting is the quality of the analogue and digital Fujitsu libraries, the easy access to their IP pool and their professional and smooth approach”.

Mark Ellins, Director for ASIC and Foundry Services at Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe said ”We are very pleased to be able to work together with such an experienced design partner as Fraunhofer IIS, and believe our cooperation will provide significant benefits to developers requiring access to advanced process technologies“.

Fraunhofer IIS und Fujitsu kooperieren

Presseinformation / 2.12.2011

Mit dem Austausch von Know-how und dem gegenseitigen Zugriff auf ihre IP-Pools ermöglichen das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS und Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe ihren Kunden die Entwicklung von zukunftsfähigen Nanometer-Chips.

Im Rahmen dieser Zusammenarbeit wurden seit Anfang 2010 neue Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte gestartet. Sie sind auf Multimedia-, Bildverarbeitungs- und Naviga­tionsanwendungen in den Märkten Automotive, Industrie und Telekommunikation ausgerichtet.

Fujitsu stellt dafür seine analogen und digitalen Nanometer-Technologie-Bibliotheken, seinen IP-Pool (Intellectual Property) und Know-how zur Verfügung.
Das Fraunhofer IIS ergänzt dies mit eigenen IPs und jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung im IC- und System-Design. Zusammen mit den Kunden werden Chip-Designs bis zu den GDSII-Daten entwickelt und evaluiert. Die Prototypen produziert Fujitsu in 90 nm- und 65 nm-CMOS-Technologien auf Multiproject Wafern (MPW) zu stark reduzierten Maskenkosten.

Auf diesem Weg können der Technologiepartner Fujitsu und die IC-Entwickler des Fraunhofer IIS schnelle und hoch­effiziente Lösungen realisieren. Möglich sind Geschäfts­modelle von Prototypen (MPW) über Kleinserien bis hin zur Serienproduktion.

»Industrie, Forschung und Lehre profitieren von dieser ­Kooperation. Sie erschließt einen kostengünstigen und ­zuverlässigen Zugang zu modernster Nanometer-Technologie für Forschungsprojekte, Pilotserien und Produkte«, sagt Josef Sauerer, Leiter der Abteilung Integrierte Schaltungen und Systeme des Fraunhofer IIS.

Norbert Schuhmann, Gruppenleiter Digitale Systeme, ­ergänzt: »Besonders hervorzuheben ist die Qualität der analogen und digitalen Fujitsu-Bibliotheken, der einfache Zugang zu ihrem IP-Pool sowie die professionelle und ­reibungslose Abwicklung.«

Mark Ellins, Direktor für ASIC und Foundry Services bei ­Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe, fügt hinzu: »Wir freuen uns sehr, mit einem so erfahrenen Design-Partner wie dem ­Fraunhofer IIS zu arbeiten und sind überzeugt davon, dass diese Zusammenarbeit für Entwickler, die Zugang zu ­neuesten Prozesstechnologien benötigen, erhebliche Vorteile haben wird«.