Improving airport security

Presse Release / February 03, 2010

Invitation to the first live demonstration of the new location platform “LocON“, February 9 and 10 at Faro Airport, Portugal. Using wireless technology, the platform LocON is able to track the positions of people and objects wearing a LocON tag in real time. The system notifies the operator or security staff of any detected problem such as objects or persons in a non authorized area. Journalists are kindly invited to join the live demonstration at Faro Airport, Portugal, presented by Fraunhofer IIS in collaboration with its european project partners.

Airport aprons are extremely busy areas: Airport staff are constantly driving baggage tractors to aircraft, loading air freight containers into holds or refueling planes. Cleaning crews have to complete their work on each plane before the next passengers arrive. It is important to be able to identify all people, vehicles and objects that are present on the apron at any time.

For the airport operator it is an almost impossible task to maintain the overview. The new platform LocON supports the airport staff. It helps to improve the safety and security and to increase the efficiency of the workflow.

The functions of the system will be shown in a live demonstration on Feburary 9 and 10, 2011 at Faro Airport, Portugal to which mediapartners are cordially invited. Register via mail to registration@locon.org. With pleasure we make available to you photos and film material.

AGENDA

February 9, 2011

9:30 Registration and welcome
10:30 LocON: How to enhance safety, security and economic efficency of an airport
11:30 Live demonstration
13:00 European Commision view
14:30 Panel discussion: LocON benefits, other applications and future steps
15:50 Live demonstration

February 10, 2011

9:30 Opening presentation: Potential of LocON
10:00 Invited presentations
11:00 Workshop on safety, security and logistics applications

Höhere Sicherheit am Flughafen

Presseinformation / 3.2.2011

Medieneinladung zur Live-Demonstration der neuen Ortungsplattform LocON am 9. und 10. Februar in Faro LocON bestimmt mittels Funk die Position von Objekten, Personen und Fahrzeugen auf dem Flughafen Vorfeld. In Echtzeit erfasst und überprüft das System die Daten. Mit LocON wird der Flughafen sicherer und die Organisation effizienter. Innerhalb des EU-Forschungsprojekts laden das Fraunhofer IIS und seine Partner gemeinsam zur Live-Demonstration der Technologie nach Faro/Portugal.

Auf dem Vorfeld herrscht reges Treiben. Mitarbeiter fahren Gepäcktransporter an die Maschine, verladen Container für Luftfracht und betanken das Flugzeug. Putzkolonnen säubern die Maschine, Passagiere werden mit Bussen über das Rollfeld gefahren. Doch was darf sich hier alles bewegen? Für das Sicherheitspersonal ist es eine fast unlösbare Aufgabe, den Überblick zu bewahren.

Die LocON-Plattform erleichtert diese Arbeit. Alltagsprozesse und Arbeitsabläufe auf einem Flughafen können verfolgt und damit sicherer und effizienter werden. Wie das System funktioniert, zeigt erstmals eine Live-Demonstration unter realen Bedingungen am 9. und 10. Februar 2011 auf dem Flughafen Faro in Portugal, zu der Medienvertreter herzlich eingeladen sind.

Bitte melden Sie sich per Mail an (registration@locon.org).

Gerne stellen wir Ihnen Fotos oder Film-Material zur Verfügung.

Agenda

Mittwoch, 9. Februar 2011 9:30 Uhr Begrüssung

10:30 Uhr Vorstellung von »LocON«
11:30 Uhr Live-Demonstration
13:00 Uhr Statement eines EU-Vertreters
14:30 Uhr Diskussionsrunde: Vorteil, Anwendung und Zukunft von »LocON«
15:50 Uhr Live-Demonstration

Donnerstag, 10. Februar 2011

9:30 Uhr Vortrag: Potenzial von »LocON«
11:00 Uhr Workshop: Sicherheit, Schutz und Logistik