Live and in HD: Fraunhofer IIS and Nokia Siemens Networks to Showcase New Form of Video Production

Presse Release / 15.2.2011

The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS and Nokia Siemens Networks are collaborating to shape the future of video transmission. Pooling their expertise in camera design and cellular networks, they have made it possible to produce live outside broadcasts in HD quality.

Visible from a distance, satellite trucks from major TV networks are a sure sign that some large event is being covered live. Outside broadcasting has traditionally depended on these vehicles, which transmit video data via satellite to the studio – a complex and expensive process that many smaller TV stations and web portals cannot afford.

Working in conjunction with Nokia Siemens Networks, Fraunhofer IIS has developed a new form of outside broadcasting which could fundamentally change the global media landscape: IIS scientists have further refined a Fraunhoferdeveloped camera technology which has been successfully trialed in numerous sports broadcasts. Equipped with an integrated compressor, the next-generation MicroHDTV camera enables very high quality real-time video transmission using cellular networks. An added advantage is that, thanks to its small size, the camera can be used anywhere, including cramped or awkward environments.

Through its fourth-generation wireless technology, Nokia Siemens Networks is creating the basis for HD video transmission. Long Term Evolution (LTE) will provide mobile networks with sufficient bandwidth to handle the necessary volumes of data. Using globally standardized networks, it will then be possible to transmit live video data to a television studio or the Internet directly and without delay. As well as boosting transmission speeds, the new collaboration between Fraunhofer IIS and Nokia Siemens Networks will also help to dramatically reduce costs, as the technology uses existing infrastructure. This will allow even small, local TV stations to produce live outside broadcasts, including 3D video content.

The partners will present the new generation of outside broadcasting technology to the public at Mobile World Congress 2011 in Barcelona. Visitors to Booth C01 in Hall 8 will have the opportunity to experience the new possibilities of live outside broadcasting while going around a racetrack in a remote-controlled car equipped with a 3D camera.

Live und in HD: Fraunhofer IIS und Nokia Siemens Networks zeigen neue Möglichkeiten für Videoproduktionen

Presseinformation / 15.2.2011

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS und Nokia Siemens Networks arbeiten gemeinsam an der Zukunft der Videoübertragung. Die Bündelung der gemeinsamen Kompetenzen in Kameraentwicklung und Mobilfunknetzen ermöglicht Live-Berichterstattung in HD-Qualität.

Sie kündigen das Medienaufkommen bei Großevents bereits von Weitem an: Die großen Übertragungswagen der Fernsehstationen. Denn bisher ist Live-Berichterstattung vor Ort nur mit Hilfe dieser sogenannten Ü-Wagen möglich. Diese übermitteln Video-Daten über Satellit ins Studio. Ein teures und aufwendiges Verfahren, das sich vor allem kleinere Sender oder Online-Portale nicht leisten können.

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat gemeinsam mit Nokia Siemens Networks einen neuen Weg der Live-Berichterstattung gefunden, der die Medienlandschaft komplett verändern könnte: Die IIS-Forscher haben ihre bereits bei vielen Sportsendungen erfolgreich erprobte Kameratechnik weiterentwickelt. Mit der Integration eines Kompressors ermöglicht die neue Generation der MicroHDTV-Kamera erstmals die Übermittlung von Video-Daten über Mobilfunknetze in höchster Qualität und in Echtzeit. Darüber hinaus kann die mobile Kamera durch ihre geringe Größe überall eingesetzt werden, auch in beengten oder schwierigen Situationen.

Mit der 4. Mobilfunkgeneration schafft Nokia Siemens Networks die Voraussetzungen für die Übertragung in HDQualität. Die Long Term Evolution (LTE) der neuen Mobilfunknetze liefert künftig genug Bandbreite, um entsprechende Datenmengen zu verarbeiten. Über die weltweit einheitlichen Netze können die Live-Daten mittels direkter Verbindung ohne Verzögerung ins Fernsehstudio oder Internet transportiert werden. Durch ihre neue Kooperation machen das Fraunhofer IIS und Nokia Siemens Networks die Übertragung nicht nur schnell, sondern auch kostengünstig durch das Zurückgreifen auf die bereits bestehende Infrastruktur. So haben in Zukunft sogar kleinere, lokale Berichterstatter die Möglichkeit, Live-Sendungen außerhalb des Studios zu produzieren – auch in 3D.

Die neue Generation der Live-Berichterstattung stellen die Partner erstmals auf dem Mobile World Congress 2011 in Barcelona vor. Als Fahrer eines mit einer 3D-Kamera ausgestatteten ferngesteuerten Autos können die Zuschauer die neuen Möglichkeiten der Live-Übertragung auf einer Rennstrecke in Halle 8, Stand C01 testen.