Energy monitoring and smart metering reduce industrial and household energy consumption

Press Release / 2.10.2012

Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS will be presenting two highperformance metering solutions at the Metering Europe, October 9 to 11, booth E06 in Amsterdam. The energy consumption in the industrial and manufacturing sectors as well as in private homes can be accurately measured and reduced.

Prototype of the sensor measurement system.
s-net® Smart Metering: Testing the wireless data transmission technology at the designated location is possible with the s-net® evaluation kit DATA.

The energy savings potential of particularly medium-sized and energy-intensive industries is far from being exhausted. Often there is little or no information on the exact energy consumption of manufacturing equipment. New legislation for energy management systems, like the DIN EN ISO 50001 standard, which has been effective since late 2011, imposes the binding obligation on companies to report and publish their energy efficiency measures, and specifies new requirements for a detailed energy demand assessment throughout the manufacturing process.

Novel current sensor measures performance of large electrical appliances

Fraunhofer IIS found the ideal solution: since March 2010 and in collaboration with Rauschert GmbH, the scientists have developed a new metering system to continuously capture the consumption per circuit with highest accuracy. The measuring modules are installed directly in the distribution box of the manufacturing machinery. The research project is funded by the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Transport and Technology as part of its Microsystems Technology program.

Tried and tested: Radio-based metering with s-net®

Consumption-based rates, automated reading and accurate consumption prognosis – child’s play with the s-net® wireless sensor networks for smart metering. The s-net® technology allows for the integration of existing simple, radio-based as well as wired metering systems into a multi-hop communication network for the transmission of consumption data as well as the realization of new, intelligent meter readout systems. The s-net® technology can be combined with other wireless radio-based protocols like e. g. wireless M-Bus. The s-net® technology easily adjusts to the diverse range of meters and metering protocols with flexible interfaces. This way, the utility companies, municipal utilities and meter manufacturers can develop solutions, which enable a unique proposition in the markets. The evaluation kit DATA is used to test the s-net® technology on site.

Novel current sensor measures performance of large electrical appliances

Fraunhofer IIS developed a sensor ASIC, which measures the consumption of remote appliances. The network quality parameters can be monitored to help rapidly identify problems during production.

The novel current sensor measures the magnetic field in tangential direction to the surface of the chip and transmits the recorded data via optimized serial data transmission to a microcontroller. Here the measured data of the individual sensors are processed to derive the measurement value for the current in the conductor. Insulationpiercing screws permit the measurement of the voltage. The sensor system is extremely easy to install; the metering unit can be simply clipped onto a conductor like a laundry peg.

s-net® Technology

The characteristics of the s-net® technology for wireless sensor networks are unequalled. It offers the key components for smart metering solutions: Licensable hardware design for the radio nodes in the meter, individually adjustable networking protocol software, as well as service and application components. The s-net® technology reacts with great flexibility to legal regulations regarding metering.

The s-net® communication protocol allows for autarkic battery operated large-scale s-net® networks with low latency properties. The dynamic network structure and self-organizing topology require minimum configuration effort and maintenance while providing a high level of robustness. Bidirectional multi-hop communication eliminates range restrictions of radio cells. Meter readings, instructions or control commands, like e. g. transmission of the latest rates, closing of the valve, are sent to the individual smart meters via various radio nodes.

For more, please go to www.s-net-info.com

Energiemonitoring und Smart Metering senken Energieverbrauch bei Industrie und Endkunden

Presseinformation / 2.10.2012

Auf der Metering Europe in Amsterdam zeigt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS vom 9. bis 11. Oktober am Stand E06 zwei leistungsfähige Lösungen zur Energieverbrauchsmessung. Der Verbrauch bei industriellen Prozessen und in Haushalten kann damit detailliert erfasst und gesenkt werden.

Prototyp des Sensormesssystems.
s-net®-Smart Metering: Zum Test der drahtlosen Datenübertragung am geplanten Einsatzort steht das s-net®- Evaluation-Kit DATA zur Verfügung.

Vor allem mittelständische und energieintensive Industriezweige haben ihr Einsparpotenzial bei weitem noch nicht ausgeschöpft. Oftmals liegen kaum Informationen über den genauen Verbrauch von Produktionsmaschinen vor. Neue gesetzliche Regelungen zu Energiemanagementsystemen wie die seit Ende 2011 gültige Norm DIN EN ISO 50001 fordern von Unternehmen einen Nachweis von Maßnahmen zur Energieeffizienz und stellen neue Anforderungen an eine detaillierte Erfassung des Energiebedarfs im Herstellungsprozess.

Neuer Stromsensor misst die Leistung von elektrischen Großgeräten

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat hierfür eine Lösung gefunden: Zusammen mit der Firma Rauschert entwickeln die Forscher seit März 2010 ein neuartiges Messsystem, das den Verbrauch pro Stromkreis präzise und kontinuierlich erfasst. Die Messmodule sind direkt im Verteilerkasten der Industriemaschinen montiert. Das Projekt wird vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur und Technologie innerhalb des Programms Mikrosystemtechnik Bayern gefördert.

Erprobt: Drahtlose Verbrauchswerterfassung mit s-net®

Verbrauchsabhängige Tarife, automatisiertes Auslesen und genauere Verbrauchsprognosen – mit dem Einsatz von drahtlosen Sensornetzen im Smart Metering ist das kein Problem. Die s-net®-Technologie erlaubt sowohl die Einbindung von bestehenden einfachen, funkbasierten oder drahtgebundenen Zählersystemen in ein Multi-Hop- Kommunikationsnetz zur Datenweiterleitung von Verbrauchswerten als auch die Realisierung von neuen intelligent abfragbaren Zählersystemen. Die s-net®-Technologie ist kombinierbar mit anderen drahtlosen Primärfunkprotokollen wie z. B. Wireless-M- Bus. Über flexible Schnittstellen kann sich die s-net®-Technologie dabei an die unterschiedlichen Zähler und Zählerprotokolle anpassen. So können Energieversorger, Stadtwerke und Zählerhersteller Lösungen mit Alleinstellungsmerkmalen konzipieren.

Neuer Stromsensor misst die Leistung von elektrischen Großgeräten

Am Fraunhofer IIS wurde ein Sensor-ASIC entwickelt, der den Energieverbrauch dezentraler Geräte misst. Gleichzeitig können auch Parameter der Netzqualität aufgezeichnet werden, sodass bei Störungen im Produktionsverlauf die Ursache schnell lokalisiert werden kann.

Der neuartige Stromsensor misst tangential zur Chip-Oberfläche verlaufende Magnetfelder und überträgt diese mittels optimierter serieller Datenübertragung an einen Mikrocontroller. Dieser verarbeitet die Messwerte der einzelnen Sensoren zu einem Messwert für den elektrischen Strom im Leiter. Die Spannungsmessung erfolgt über einen Dorn, der bei der Montage durch die Isolierung in den Leiter gedrückt wird.

Das Sensorsystem kann mit geringem Aufwand montiert werden. Das Gehäuse ist so angelegt, dass es sich ähnlich einer Wäscheklammer um den Leiter klemmen lässt. Prototyp des Sensormesssystems.

s-net®-Technologie

Die s-net®-Technologie für drahtlose Sensornetze weist einzigartige Eigenschaften auf. Vorhanden sind die für Smart Metering-Lösungen entscheidenden Bausteine: vom lizenzierbaren Hardwaredesign für die Funkknoten im Zähler über die individuell anpassbare Protokollsoftware für deren Vernetzung bis zu Service- und Anwendungskomponenten. Die s-net®-Technologie kann flexibel auf gesetzliche Auflagen für das Zähler- und Messwesen reagieren.

Mit dem s-net®-Kommunikationsprotokoll ist der autarke Batteriebetrieb großer s-net®-Netze mit gleichzeitig geringer Latenzzeit möglich. Der dynamische Aufbau und die Selbstorganisation sorgen für geringen Konfigurations- und Wartungsaufwand und hohe Robustheit. Die bi-direktionale Multi-Hop-Kommunikation überwindet die Reichweitenbeschränkung einer Funkzelle, indem Zählerwerte sowie Anweisungen oder Befehle, wie z. B. Übertragung neuer Tarife und Schließen des Ventils, an einzelne Zähler über mehrere Funkknoten weitergegeben werden.

Für den Test der s-net®-Technologie am Einsatzort kann das Evaluation-Kit DATA genutzt werden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.s-net-info.de