Berlinale Relies on Fraunhofer IIS Expertise to Test Digital Film Formats

Press Release / 6.2.2012

According to the latest market analysis more than half of all worldwide movie screens have been converted to digital cinema. Especially for smaller post-production houses, mastering DCPs (digital cinema packages) can be a challenge. In order to have all movies ready for screening on February 9th for the opening of the Berlin International Film Festival, called Berlinale, Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS supports the technical quality control of all submissions of data media and movies in the DCP format.Datenträger und Filme im DCP-Format.

easydcp_man_darkhair

Post production tools for DCP creation, developed by Fraunhofer IIS

Postpro_1_Ausschnitt

Fraunhofer IIS develops post production systems for DCP creation and technical quality control

Prepared for the general trends in cinema production, the Berlinale is ready for the rising number of submissions in digital cinema formats. To ensure a high level of technical performance and reliability, all digital material undergoes technical quality control. This includes the conversion of digital cinema packages into a format ready for playback.

Festival manager Johannes Wachs strongly welcomes the cooperation: »In Fraunhofer IIS we found a partner with proven expertise in the field of digital cinema who makes our work much easier testing the specific digital formats.«

Commissioned by Digital Cinema Initiatives DCI, a joint venture of Hollywood Studios, Fraunhofer IIS produced the first compliance test plan for digital cinema systems. It ensures that in the age of digital cinematography exhibitors can show motion pictures in digital form in their theatres worldwide. Fraunhofer experts also created system specifications for digital cinema for the German Federal Film Board (FFA). Cooperations with partners from the industry propel innovative developments in this area.

Siegfried Fößel, head of the Moving Picture Technologies department at Fraunhofer IIS, affirms: »We are very pleased to assist one of the landmark film festivals of international standing with our expertise. The cooperation with and support of filmmakers gave us the unique opportunity to offer our developments and technologies tailored to the needs and expectations of the film industry.«

For more, please see www.iis.fraunhofer.de/en/

Berlinale setzt auf Fraunhofer IIS Expertise bei der Prüfung digitaler Filmformate

Pressemitteilung / 6.2.2012

Mehr als die Hälfte aller Kinoleinwände weltweit sind laut aktueller Marktstudien bereits digital. Insbesondere für kleinere Produktionsfirmen ist die Herstellung von digitalen Filmpaketen – sogenannter DCPs (Digital Cinema Packages) – jedoch keine leichte Aufgabe. Damit am 9. Februar zum Start der Berlinale alle eingereichten Filme abspielbereit sind, unterstützt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS die Berlinale bei der Eingangs- und Funktionskontrolle der eingeschickten Datenträger und Filme im DCP-Format.

easydcp_man_darkhair

Postproduktionswerkzeuge für Erstellung von Digital Cinema Packages DCP, entwickelt am Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, Erlangen

Postpro_1_Ausschnitt

Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt Postproduktionssysteme für die Erstellung und Qualitätsüberprüfung von DCPs

Die Berlinale trägt der allgemeinen Entwicklung in der Kino branche Rechnung und stellt sich auf die verstärkte Einreichung digitaler Filmformate ein. Durch deren technischer Überprüfung stellt die Berlinale sicher, dass die Filme auch zuverlässig gezeigt werden können. Hierzu werden, wenn nötig, die digitalen Filmpakete repariert und in ein abspielfähiges Format gebracht.

Johannes Wachs, Festival Manager der Berlinale, zeigt sich erfreut: »Mit dem Fraunhofer IIS haben wir in Deutschland einen ausgewiesenen Experten auf dem Gebiet des digitalen Kinos als Partner gewonnen, der uns bei der Prüfung der speziellen digitalen Formate unterstützt und so unsere Arbeit erleichtert.«

Das Fraunhofer IIS erarbeitete im Auftrag der Hollywoodstudios – unter dem Zusammenschluss Digital Cinema Initiatives DCI – den ersten Testplan zur Einhaltung der Kompatibilität digitaler Kinosysteme: Damit auch im digitalen Zeitalter des Kinos Filme weltweit in jedem dafür ausgestatteten Kinosaal präsentiert werden können. Auch für die deutsche Film- förderanstalt FFA entwickelten die Fraunhofer-Experten die Systemspezifikationen für digitales Kino. Zusammen mit Partnern aus der Branche werden verschiedenste Entwicklungen weiter vorangetrieben.

Siegfried Fößel, Leiter der Abteilung Bewegtbildtechnologien am Fraunhofer IIS, betont: »Wir freuen uns sehr, der Berlinale als einem der bedeutendsten Filmfestivals von internationalem Rang mit unserem Fachwissen zur Seite zu stehen. Die Zusammenarbeit und Unterstützung der Filmschaffenden ist für uns von enormer Bedeutung, um mit unseren Entwicklungen und Technologien für die Anforderungen und Erwartungen der Filmbranche passende Lösungen anbieten zu können.«

Weitere Informationen unter www.iis.fraunhofer.de