Energy-efficient, Smart, Networked – Innovative Embedded Systems Heading for Success

Press Release / 27.2.2012

Mobile, energy-efficient solutions with great flexibility in adapting to new requirements and changing ambient conditions pose challenges for the design and development of embedded systems. At the embedded world fair 2012 in Nuremberg, Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS features new generation solutions and results: guaranteeing self-sufficient, long-term operation of embedded sensors and wireless communications technology based on energy harvesting technologies or intelligent energy concepts.

At the Fraunhofer IIS racetrack in hall 4-128, engineers will showcase innovative embedded communications and energy technology. On board a radio-controlled model car, a miniature HDTV camera sends high-resolution image sequences via an integrated DVB-T transmitter directly from the track to the monitor.

Oops, off-road course! Each bump means information for the data logger in the race car. The device stores data for the characterization of vibration energy. This way the degree of utilization of the energy source can be estimated for harvesting energy from the environment to intelligently and efficiently power e. g. low consumers or sensors in vehicles.

Wireless communication – intelligent control: energy-efficient, wireless sensor networks based on the s-net® technology are ideal for data acquisition, tracking and control applications. Ranging from simple point-to-point data transmission to large-scale, self-organizing communication networks, the patented single-frame multi-hop method of the s-net® technology for fast data-throughput optimizes applications in the areas smart metering, logistics as well as process control and supervisory control.

As much as necessary, as little as possible. The same applies when it comes to the power supply of embedded systems. In the scope of the European research project Smart Power Management, Fraunhofer IIS develops together with industrial partners a new power supply concept. The new power supply unit can be used for industrial embedded computers, build up with so-called computers-on-modules (COM). Compared to conventional power supplies, the energy required is reduced by up to 20 percent.

All-in-one chip: with the non-contact joystick control for the driver’s cab, Fraunhofer IIS demonstrated excellence as specialists for IC design of sophisticated integrated sensor technology and systems. The integrated 3D magnetic field sensor HallinOne® allows for the measurement of five degrees of freedom. The IC designers also present a single-chip solution for the navigation and control of vehicles with GPSGalileo-Glonass receivers.

Embedded Talk at the Exhibitor Forum Hall 5

M³ – Multistandard, Miniaturized and Mobile: the partners of the ESI Application Center present innovations in the area embedded wireless communication, technology trends in embedded miniaturized antennas and the latest developments in antennas for automobiles, cellular telephony and base stations. ESI’s industrial partners have access to the latest research results, are provided with the possibility to cooperate in development projects and to find cooperation partners. The initiative bundles competencies from university-based applied research and industrial development.

Energieeffizient, smart, vernetzt – Mit innovativen Embedded Systems auf Erfolgskurs

Pressemitteilung / 27.2.2012

Mobile, energiesparende Lösungen, die sich flexibel an neue Anforderungen und sich verändernde Umgebungsbedingungen anpassen lassen, sind Herausforderung für Design und Entwicklung eingebetteter Systeme. Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS stellt in Nürnberg auf der embedded world 2012 in Nürnberg neue Lösungen und Ergebnisse vor, die durch Energy-Harvesting-Technologien oder intelligente Energiekonzepte den autarken Langzeitbetrieb eingebetteter Sensoren und drahtloser Kommunikationstechnik garantieren.

Auf der Rennstrecke des Fraunhofer IIS Stands in Halle 4-128 zeigen die Ingenieure Beispiele für innovative eingebettete Kommunikations- und Energietechnik. An Bord des ferngesteuerten Modellfahrzeugs überträgt eine miniaturisierte HDTV-Kamera hochauflösende Bildsequenzen über einen integrierten DVB-T-Sender direkt von der Rennstrecke auf den Monitor.

Hoppla, Geländestrecke! Für den Datenlogger im Rennwagen bedeutet jede Unebenheit eine wichtige Information. Das Gerät zeichnet Daten zur Charakterisierung von Vibrationsenergie auf. Auf dieser Basis kann dann die Nutzung dieser Energiequelle für ein Energy-Harvesting-System eingeschätzt werden, um beispielsweise Kleinverbraucher oder Sensoren im Fahrzeug effizient und intelligent mit Strom zu versorgen.

Drahtlos kommunizieren – intelligent steuern: Energiesparende, drahtlose Sensornetze auf Basis der s-net®-Technologie eignen sich für den Einsatz zur Datensammlung, für Lokalisierungs- und Steuerungsaufgaben. Von der einfachen Punkt-zu-Punkt-Datenübertragung bis zum großflächigen, selbstorganisierenden Kommunikationsnetz optimiert das patentierte Single-Frame Multi-Hop-Verfahren der s-net®-Technologie über schnellen Datendurchsatz Anwendungen im Bereich Smart Metering, Logistik sowie Prozesssteuerung und -überwachung.

So viel wie nötig, so wenig wie möglich. Dies gilt auch für die Energieversorgung in der Informationstechnik. Im europäischen Forschungsprojekt »Smart Power Management« arbeitet das Fraunhofer IIS an einem neuartigen Schaltnetzteil, das z. B. für industrielle Einplatinenrechner, sogenannte Computer on Module (COM), bis zu 20 Prozent der Energie im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Netzteilen einsparen kann. Energieverluste des Systems durch überflüssige Abwärme werden über die dynamische Variation der Ausgangsspannung des Netzteils abhängig von der momentanen Belastung reduziert.

Alles auf einem Chip: Am Beispiel der berührungslosen Joystick-Steuerung für den Einsatz in der Fahrerkabine demonstrieren die Spezialisten des Fraunhofer IIS ihre Kompetenzen im IC-Design hochkomplexer integrierter Sensorik und Systeme. Die integrierte 3D-Magnetfeldsensorik – HallinOne® – ermöglicht die Erfassung von fünf Freiheitsgraden. Zudem stellen die IC-Designer auch eine Ein-Chip-Lösung für die Navigation und Steuerung von Fahrzeugen mit GPS-Galileo-Glonass Receivern vor.

Embedded Talk im Ausstellerforum Halle 5

Unter dem Schwerpunkt »M³ – Multistandard, Miniaturisiert und Mobil« bieten die Partner des ESI-Anwendungszentrums Neues über die Zukunft eingebetteter drahtloser Kommunikation, Technologietrends bei eingebetteten, miniaturisierten Antennen und neueste Entwicklungen bei Automobil- und Mobilfunk-Basisstationsantennen. Im Rahmen des ESIAnwenungszentrum können Unternehmen auf neueste Forschungsergebnisse zugreifen, Entwicklungsprojekte gemeinsam durchführen sowie Kooperationspartner finden. Die Initiative bündelt die Kompetenzen aus universitärer Forschung und industrienaher Entwicklung.