Wireless Sensor Networks on the Test Bench: Novel Evaluation Kit for Measurement and Control Applications

Press Release / 20.4.2012

s-net® is a highly energy efficient solution in the field of wireless sensor networks. The Fraunhofer IIS technology is now available as evaluation kit and is being showcased for the first time at the trade show Hannover Messe Industrie. With s-net®, planned applications can be tested at the designated location, whether metrology, surveillance or control application.

The s-net® evaluation kit “DATA“ comprises a master and five sensor nodes, which independently set up a radio network as well as a pre-installed application template. Even defined data packets can be fed to the sensor node and transferred via network to the master node. The user con- figures and controls the sensor nodes as desired via graphical user interface. “DATA“ can also be adapted to specific requirements and put together as evaluation kit, tailored to the customer’s needs.
br/> The s-net® hardware and software are optimized for large-scale, seamless data acquisition and localization. The Center for Intelligent Objects ZIO will demonstrate how the s-net® technology is used as radio-based asset management solution for the efficient use of resources. Supplied with wireless sensor nodes, assets turn into smart objects and can take on various tasks, like room-level accurate localization or the enquiry of environmental parameters.br/>br/> In addition to s-net®, Fraunhofer IIS will be presenting further cutting-edge developments at the HMI trade show: A development kit for real-time positioning for airport, logistics or automation applications, developed and presented in cooperation with the partner PPS. The Fraunhofer researcher will also exhibit how RFID technology finds application in embedded materials like carbon or fibre-glass composite materials.

Drahtlose Sensornetze auf dem Prüfstand: Neues s-net® Evaluation-Kit für Mess- und Steuerungsanwendungen

Presseinformation / 20.4.2012

s-net® ist eine extrem energiesparende Lösung auf dem Gebiet der drahtlosen Sensornetze. Die Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS wird zur Hannover Messe Industrie erstmals als Evaluation-Kit angeboten. So lassen sich geplante Applikationen probeweise am vorgesehenen Einsatzort testen, egal ob Messtechnik-, Überwachungs- oder Steuerungsanwendung.

Das s-net® Evaluation-Kit »DATA« umfasst einen Master- und fünf Sensorknoten, die selbstständig ein Funknetz aufbauen, sowie eine vorinstallierte Beispiel-Anwendung. Selbst definierte Datenpakete können an den Sensorknoten eingespeist und über das Netz zum Masterknoten übertragen werden. Die Sensorknoten sind über eine grafische Benutzeroberfläche nach den Nutzervorstellungen konfigurier- und bedienbar. Zudem kann »DATA« an spezielle Anforderungen angepasst und ein maßgeschneidertes Evaluation-Kit zusammengestellt werden.

Das s-net® -Hardware und -Software sind für eine großflächige und lückenlose Datenerfassung und Lokalisierung optimiert. Das Zentrum für Intelligente Objekte ZIO des Fraunhofer IIS zeigt während der Hannover Messe Industrie, wie die s-net® Technologie in der Praxis als funkbasiertes Asset Management-System für die effiziente Betriebsmittelnutzung eingesetzt werden kann. Ausgestattet mit drahtlosen Sensorknoten werden Assets zu intelligenten Objekten und können eine Vielzahl von Aufgaben übernehmen, wie z. B. ihre raumgenaue Lokalisierung oder die Abfrage von Umweltparametern. Neben s-net® präsentiert das Fraunhofer IIS weitere Entwicklungen auf der HMI: Mit dem Vertriebspartner PPS wird ein »Development Kit« für die Echtzeitortung am Beispiel eines Flughafens vorgestellt. Darüber hinaus zeigen die Fraunhofer-Entwickler wie RFID in eingebetteten Materialien wie Kohle- oder Glasfaserverbundwerkstoffe zum Einsatz kommt.