Fraunhofer Technology Enables Efficient Networks in Vehicles for Data Rates up to 10 Gbit/s

/ 4.11.2014

Erlangen/Munich, Germany, November 3, 2014 – electronica, Hall A, Booth 113: Scientists from the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen will present a new high-speed link at electronica in Munich from November 11 to 14. Using the 10+ Gbit/s physical layer for a simple twisted pair wireline data transmission, it is possible to transfer data at rates of 10 Gbit/s in real time. The layer is ideal for high-bit-rate data streaming used in driver assistance systems, for connecting mobile devices as well as for multimedia applications in vehicles.

Fraunhofer IIS/Udo Rink

Effizienter High-Speed Physical Layer 10+ Gbps für die nächste Generation der Video-Übertragung. Faster and more efficient: the 10+ Gb/s physical layer for the next generation of video transmission.

Here’s what driving could look like in the future: The driver can relax while the car navigates rush-hour traffic using its camera-based assistance systems. At the same time, passengers are watching a sporting event broadcasting live over Internet TV on the car’s entertainment system. The sports shows of tomorrow will be broadcasting in 4K quality from every conceivable angle.

10+ Gbit/s physical layer speeds up wireline data transmission

These parallel applications require high data throughput using a simple, lightweight and inexpensive copper cable, combined with low power consumption and minimum latency. Fraunhofer IIS has developed this core technology for the next generation of data transmission and is in the process of making it ready for production. Consuming less than one watt for every transmitter/receiver pair, the new physical layer can transmit 10 Gbit/s over a single twisted pair cable 10–15 meters long. Keeping the latency to a minimum provides video data for human-machine interaction tasks in real time. The universal design of this development allows a wide range of content with various requirements to be transmitted simultaneously, which also means that connections that used to run in parallel can now be consolidated into one pair of wires.

The developed physical layer is currently working at 10 Gbit/s. For further applications it is intended to increase the data rate to 12.5 Gbit/s. This will serve as core technology for virtually all common data rates of 10 Gbit/s and more.

Applications range from mechanical engineering to broadcasting

High-speed data transmission systems are by no means limited to a vehicle’s on-board electronics. Many other application areas have similar requirements. These areas include industrial facilities, mechanical and systems engineering, automation technology, medical technology, robotics and data centers. Broadcasting that uses multiple cameras and HD or even 4k video streaming can also benefit from this technology.

Fraunhofer IIS scientists will be demonstrating an evaluation and test platform for the 10+ Gbit/s physical layer at electronica (Hall A, Booth 113) from November 11 to 14.

Fraunhofer-Technologie schafft leistungseffiziente Vernetzung im Auto für Datenraten bis 10 Gbit/s

/ 4.11.2014

Erlangen/München, 3. November 2014 – electronica, Halle A, Stand 113: Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Erlangen stellen auf der electronica vom 11.–14. November 2014 in München einen neuen High-Speed-Link vor. Mit dem 10+ Gbit/s Physical Layer für die Datenübertragung über ein einfaches Kupferkabel können Datenraten von 10 Gbit/s in Echtzeit übertragen werden. Der Layer eignet sich besonders für hochbitratige Datenströme in Fahrerassistenzsystemen, für die Anbindung mobiler Endgeräte sowie für Multimediaanwendungen im Fahrzeug.

Fraunhofer IIS/Udo Rink
Effizienter High-Speed Physical Layer 10+ Gbps für die nächste Generation der Video-Übertragung. Faster and more efficient: the 10+ Gb/s physical layer for the next generation of video transmission.

So könnte Autofahren in Zukunft aussehen: Der Fahrer entspannt, während das Fahrzeug mit seinen kamerabasierten Assistenzsystemen durch den Berufsverkehr navigiert. Währenddessen verfolgen die Mitfahrer im Car-Entertainment-System ein aktuelles Sportereignis live per Internet-TV. Das Sportstudio von morgen überträgt in 4k-Qualität aus jeder erdenklichen Perspektive.

10+ Gbit/s Physical Layer beschleunigt die leitungsgebundene Datenübertragung

Diese parallelen Anwendungen benötigen einen hohen Datendurchsatz auf einem einfachen, leichten und günstigen Kupferkabel bei niedrigem Stromverbrauch und geringer Laufzeit der Daten. Das Fraunhofer IIS hat diese Kerntechnologie der nächsten Datenübertragungsgeneration entwickelt und ist dabei, sie zur Produktionsreife zu bringen. Der neue Physical Layer überträgt 10 Gbit/s über ein einzelnes Twisted-Pair-Kabel von 10–15 m Länge und verbraucht dabei weniger als ein Watt pro Sender- und Empfängerpaar. Die minimale Laufzeit stellt Videodaten für die Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion in Echtzeit zur Verfügung. Das universelle Design dieser Entwicklung ermöglicht die gleichzeitige Übertragung unterschiedlichster Inhalte mit verschiedenen Anforderungen und erlaubt so die Übertragung bisher paralleler Verbindungen über ein Kabel.

Der Physical Layer bietet gegenwärtig eine Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit von 10 Gbit/s. Für weitere Anwendungen ist eine Datenrate von 12,5 Gbit/s geplant. Diese Übertragungskapazität dient als Kerntechnologie für nahezu alle gängigen Datenraten im Bereich von 10 Gbit/s und mehr.

Anwendungsbereiche vom Maschinenbau bis zur Rundfunkübertragung

Dabei ist die Nutzung eines schnellen Datenübertragungssystems keineswegs auf die Elektronik im Fahrzeug beschränkt. Weitere Anwendungsbereiche mit ähnlichen Anforderungen z. B. in der Automatisierung finden sich in Industrieanlagen, im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, in der Automationstechnik, Medizintechnik, Robotik und beim Broadcasting mit mehreren Kameras/HD-Video-Strömen.

Eine Evaluierungs- und Testplattform des 10+ Gbit/s Physical Layers zeigen die Wissenschaftler auf der electronica vom 11.–14. November in Halle A, Stand 113.