Energy-saving WakeUp-Receiver for the “Internet of Things”

/ 4.11.2014

Erlangen/Munich, Germany, November 3, 2014 – electronica, Hall A, Booth 113: The WakeUp-Receiver developed by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS can continuously operate and receive wireless signals for years on a µ-Watt power source. The device, which functions without a microcontroller, boasts a fast response time of 32 ms and is suitable for around-the-clock moni-toring of wireless sensor networks. Power can be supplied via energy harvest-ing technology.

The Fraunhofer WakeUp-Receiver technology significantly increases the operating life of wireless receiver systems. In terms of energy consumption and data rates, the device can be configured in a wide range, thus ensuring several years of battery operation or fully autonomous operation via energy harvesting.

The WakeUp-Receiver continuously monitors the wireless channel – without the use of a microcontroller – and recognizes two separate wake-up patterns. Apart from the pure WakeUp mode, coded data can also be received. Furthermore, a selective wake-up of certain wireless nodes can be performed, using a 16-bit address.  

Millisecond response time

The current prototypes, which are based on 130 nm CMOS technology, operate in the 868 MHz and 2.4 GHz frequency bands and feature -80 dBm sensitivity. When operating in the standard configuration at a data rate of 1 kbit/s, energy consumption is reduced to a mere 3 µA with a response time of 32 ms.

Wide range of applications

The Fraunhofer WakeUp-Receiver technology represents a key technology for the “Internet of Things” and “Smart Object” environments. It offers utility across a wide range of applications including building automation, intelligent lighting, electronic labels, remote maintenance, remote control and wireless sensor networks.

Stromsparender WakeUp-Receiver für das »Internet of Things«

/ 4.11.2014

Erlangen/München, 3. November 2014 – Jahrelang in Betrieb und ständig auf Empfang – das leistet der WakeUp-Receiver, den das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS entwickelt hat. Der Funkempfänger kommt ohne Mikrocontroller aus, hat eine sehr niedrige Reaktionszeit von 32 ms und eignet sich für die kontinuierliche Überwachung drahtloser Sensornetze. Die Stromversorgung ist mittels Energy Harvesting möglich.

Die Fraunhofer-WakeUp-Receiver-Technologie erhöht die Betriebsdauer von Funkempfangssystemen deutlich und ist hinsichtlich Stromverbrauch und Datenrate in weiten Bereichen konfigurierbar. Das gewährleistet einen jahrelangen Batteriebetrieb oder einen völlig autarken Betrieb mit Energy Harvesting.

Ohne zusätzlichen Mikrocontroller überwacht der WakeUp-Receiver den Funkkanal kontinuierlich und erkennt zwei unabhängige Aufweckmuster. Neben dem reinen WakeUp-Betrieb können codierte Daten empfangen werden. Ferner ist selektives Aufwecken bestimmter Funkknoten mit einer 16-Bit-Adresse möglich.

Reaktionszeit im Millisekundenbereich

Die derzeit vorliegenden Prototypen, die auf einer 130-nm-CMOS-Technologie basieren, arbeiten bei 868 MHz und 2,4 GHz und erreichen eine Empfindlichkeit von -80 dBm. In der Standard-Konfiguration reduziert sich der Stromverbrauch bei einer Datenrate von 1 kbit/s auf nur 3 µA bei einer Reaktionszeit von 32 ms.

Breites Anwendungsgebiet

Die Fraunhofer-WakeUp-Receiver-Technologie stellt eine Schlüsseltechnologie dar für das »Internet of Things« und für »Smart Objects«. Der WakeUp-Receiver lässt sich zukünftig in weiten Anwendungsbereichen einsetzen, z. B. für Gebäudeautomatisierung, intelligente Beleuchtung, elektronische Etiketten, Fernwartung und Fernsteuerung sowie allgemein in drahtlosen Sensornetzen.