Fraunhofer IIS presents an intelligent sensor for anonymous video analysis at the MWC in Barcelona

/ 27.2.2015

Erlangen/Barcelona, February 27, 2015 – Mobile World Congress, Hall 7, Exhibit Booth 7G31: At the Mobile World Congress MWC being held on March 2–5, 2015, the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS will premier an intelligent sensor for carrying out anonymous video analyses. Referred to as AVARD (Anonymous Video Analytics for Retail and Digital Signage), the system does not transmit video sequences and instead sends only anonymous metadata. The system will be certified through an independent and transparent evaluation and validation process to ensure compliance with European data privacy and security regulations. AVARD is designed for analyzing customer behavior and can be used with digital advertising platforms or in retail stores.

Online advertisers and operators of online sales platforms enjoy numerous ways to analyze the composition and behavior of the customer base. In contrast, brick-andmortar retailers and digital signage operators usually have much less information about their customers. With the development of the AVARD system, Fraunhofer IIS aims to help the retail industry acquire this missing information. At the heart of the system is SHORE™, a software solution that can anonymously analyze the facial expressions of a person or group of people to estimate their age and gender in real time. Fraunhofer IIS will be premiering an integrated AVARD solution in the form of a compact intelligent sensor at the 2015 MWC. The solution eliminates the need to transmit the video data and analyze it on a computer. Because AVARD merely transmits metadata or statistics, the public's private sphere is completely protected. Wolfgang Thieme, head of the Digital Camera Systems group at Fraunhofer IIS says: “With AVARD, Fraunhofer IIS is providing an advanced tool for anonymous video analysis. Retailers benefit from improved customer analyses while ensuring that the customer's private sphere is protected.”

Crowdsense

Together with the Center for Digital Technology & Management (CDTM), a joint effort between the Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich and the Technical University Munich, a concrete application scenario and business model was created based on the Fraunhofer IIS technology, including the acquisition of customer feedback. The result was Crowdsense, a business concept that illustrates the potential and practical application of this technology and how it ties to the needs of the market.

Additional information: http://vimeo.com/101956038.

Benefits for the retail industry

Understanding customers, knowing how they tick and what they like; the AVARD video analysis tool supplies this and other information. What is the age group of the customers in the store at the moment and how many are there? Are there more women or men? Do they appear to be under stress or are they relaxed? This information allows the retailer to satisfy the needs of the customer in a more targeted fashion. Placing advertising signage and products in line with the customers increases not only sales, but also customer loyalty. Another benefit is that the system does not require an additional processor, which reduces the time and effort for setting up the necessary infrastructure. The system is currently undergoing certification to ensure compliance with German privacy protection laws.

Interested visitors can get a first-hand look at the features and capabilities of the system through a live demo at two upcoming trade fairs: from March 2–5, 2015, at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona, Spain (hall 7, exhibit booth 7G31) and from March 16–20, 2015, at the CeBIT in Hannover, Germany (hall 9, exhibit booth E40).

In cooperation with

Fraunhofer IIS zeigt auf dem MWC in Barcelona einen intelligenten Sensor zur anonymisierten Videoanalyse

/ 27.2.2015

Erlangen/Barcelona, 27. Februar 2015 – Mobile World Congress, Halle 7, Stand 7G31: Auf dem Mobile World Congress MWC vom 2. bis 5. März 2015 zeigt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS erstmalig einen intelligenten Sensor zur anonymisierten Videoanalyse. Das Anonymous Video Analytics for Retail and Digital Signage (AVARD) genannte System überträgt allerdings keine Videosequenzen, sondern lediglich anonyme Metadaten. Eine Zertifizierung des Systems nach Europäischen Datenschutzkriterien soll durchgeführt werden. AVARD ist für digitale Werbeflächen oder im Einzelhandel zur Analyse des Kundenverhaltens einsetzbar.

In der Onlinewelt verfügen Werbende und Betreiber von Verkaufsplattformen über zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, um Kundenzusammensetzung und -verhalten zu analysieren. Der stationäre Einzelhandel oder auch die Betreiber von digitalen Werbeflächen wissen
dagegen oft weit weniger über ihre Kunden. Um dieses fehlende Wissen auszugleichen, hat das Fraunhofer IIS AVARD entwickelt. Das Herzstück dieses Systems bildet SHORE™ – eine Softwarelösung zur anonymen Gesichtsanalyse, die in Echtzeit Alter, Geschlecht und Gesichtsausdruck von Personen und Personengruppen auswerten kann. Auf dem MWC 2015 zeigt das Fraunhofer IIS nun erstmals eine integrierte Lösung in Form eines kompakten intelligenten Sensors. Eine Übertragung von Bilddaten und die Bildauswertung auf einem Rechner entfallen dabei vollständig. Da lediglich Metadaten bzw. Statistiken übertragen werden, ist absoluter Schutz der Privatsphäre gewährleistet. Wolfgang Thieme, Gruppenleiter Digitale Kamerasysteme: »Mit AVARD liefert das Fraunhofer IIS ein fortschrittliches Tool zur anonymisierten Videoanalyse. Davon profitiert zum einen der Einzelhandel durch eine verbesserte Kundenanalyse, zum anderen der Kunde durch den Schutz seiner Privatsphäre.«

Geschäftskonzept Crowdsense

In Kooperation mit dem CDTM (Center for Digital Technology & Management) – einer Kooperation der LMU und der TU München, wurden auf Basis der Fraunhofer-Technologie erste konkrete Anwendungsszenarien und Geschäftsmodelle entwickelt sowie Kundenfeedbacks eingeholt. Als Resultat entstand das Geschäftskonzept Crowdsense, welches das Potenzial und die Praxisrelevanz dieser Entwicklung verdeutlicht und mit den Marktbedürfnissen verbindet.

Mehr Informationen unter: http://vimeo.com/101956038.

Vorteile für den Einzelhandel

Den Kunden verstehen lernen, wissen wie dieser tickt, was ihm oder ihr gefällt – diese und noch weitere Informationen liefert das Videoanalysetool AVARD. Wie alt sind die Kunden, die sich im Geschäft befinden? Wie viele Kunden sind in diesem Moment zu Besuch? Kommen mehr Frauen oder Männer in den Laden? Und wirken diese eher angestrengt oder entspannt? Diese Informationen dienen dem Einzelhändler dazu, gezielter auf die Bedürfnisse der Kunden eingehen zu können. Nach dem Kunden ausgerichtete Werbeflächen und Product Placements führen nicht nur zu höheren Verkaufszahlen, sondern können auch die Kundenbindung steigern. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Da keine zusätzliche Rechnereinheit zum Einsatz kommt, sinkt der Aufwand für die benötigte Infrastruktur. Die Zertifizierung des Systems nach deutschen Datenschutzrichtlinien
ist beantragt.

Interessierte Besucher können die Leistungsfähigkeit und den Leistungsumfang des Systems gleich auf zwei anstehenden Messen in einer Live-Demo kennenlernen: Vom 2. bis 5. März 2015 auf dem Mobile World Congress, Halle 7, Stand 7G31, in Barcelona sowie vom 16. bis 20. März 2015 auf der CeBIT, Halle 9, Stand E40, in Hannover.

In Zusammenarbeit mit