Fraunhofer IIS’s awiloc® Technology for Positioning Makes EARTO Innovation Awards Final

/ 15.10.2015

Nuremberg/Brussels: October 15, 2015: The final judging for the Innovation Awards of the European Association of Research and Technology Organisations EARTO took place in Brussels on October 14. Among the six finalists was the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. A group of Fraunhofer IIS scientists developed the awiloc® technology for secure positioning in wireless networks.

Jürgen Hupp of Fraunhofer IIS received the EARTO award for the localization technology awiloc®. From left to right: Jürgen Hupp, Fraunhofer IIS, Maria Khorsand, President EARTO, Carlos  Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, European Commission.
© EARTO

The awiloc® technology received the second prize in the category Impact delivered. The EARTO Innovation Award of the European Association of Research and Technology Organisations is awarded to excellent research projects and innovations that are application-oriented and of high benefit to the society, both socially or economically.

The awiloc® technology closes a gap

This technology, which has been certified to comply with data protection regulations, makes it possible to create navigation and information services (also known as location-based services) for use in buildings and urban spaces and offer them through mobile devices such as smartphones. The ideal complement to satellite-based navigation solutions, awiloc® is used in multimedia museum guides all over the world.

How to find the nearest subway station or shopping mall? Thanks to satellite navigation systems, this is not a difficult task: One quick search on an everyday smartphone or tablet, and the user is directed to their destination – as long as they are out in the open. If they are indoors or using public transit, this functionality beloved of motorists tends to fail: Signal loss means that positioning or navigation services are unavailable. The awiloc® technology closes this gap.

Led by Jürgen Hupp and Steffen Meyer, the Fraunhofer IIS team has been working on positioning technologies that use existing wireless networks such as Wi-Fi or Bluetooth LE to determine a user’s position. The aim is to provide information services on smartphones, tablets and wearables. The user’s mobile device determines its own position based on variations in the strength of signals it receives from networks in its vicinity. This method involves no data communication with, or connection to, a central server, which helps ensure that services based on awiloc® conform to data protection regulations. As well as positions, awiloc® determines speed, direction and orientation so that more precise information becomes available, for instance, to museumgoers, shoppers or responders to an emergency call.

Since 2008, users and developers participating in the awiloc® alliance have been collaborating to create complete solutions for positioning in public spaces and associated location-based services. High-profile users of applications based on awiloc® include the State Museum of Egyptian Art in Munich, Germany, and the Perot Museum in Dallas, Texas. The technology is available for licensing.

The EARTO Innovation Awards

EARTO has recognized outstanding achievements in applied research annually since 2009. An independent jury selects projects it believes have the potential to spark social or economic change.

awiloc®-Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS ist Finalist beim EARTO-Innovationspreis

/ 15.10.2015

Nürnberg/Brüssel: 15. Oktober 2015: Unter den sechs Finalisten für den EARTOInnovationspreis der European Association for Research and Technology Organisation EARTO am 14. Oktober in Brüssel sind die Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer- Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS mit der awiloc®-Technologie zur sicheren Positionsbestimmung in Funknetzen.

Jürgen Hupp (M.) vom Fraunhofer IIS nahm den EARTO-Preis für die Lokalisierungstechnologie awiloc® entgegen. Neben ihm: Maria Khorsand, Präsidentin EARTO, und Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, European Commission.
© EARTO

Die awiloc®-Technologie erhielt den zweiten Preis in der Kategorie Impact delivered. Mit dem EARTO-Innovationspreis der European Association of Research and Technology Organisations ausgezeichnet werden exzellente Forschungsprojekte und Innovationen, die anwendungsorientiert sind und einen hohen Nutzen für die Gesellschaft haben, sei es sozial oder wirtschaftlich.

Die awiloc®-Technologie schließt eine Lücke

Auf Basis dieser datenschutzrechtlich geprüften Lokalisierungstechnologie können Navigations- und Informationsdienste – so genannte Location-based Services – in Gebäuden und im Innenstadtbereich aufgebaut und für mobile Geräte wie Smartphones angeboten werden. Als ideale Ergänzung für satellitengestützte Navigationslösungen wird awiloc® bereits weltweit in Museen eingesetzt.

Wo finde ich die nächste U-Bahn-Haltestelle oder das nächstgelegene Einkaufszentrum? Mit dem Smartphone oder Tablet-PC als mittlerweile ständigem Begleiter und im Außenraum dank satellitengestützter Dienste kein Problem: Suchanfrage gestartet und schon werden wir zum gewünschten Ort geführt. Dieser für viele aus dem Fahrzeug bekannte Komfort endet jedoch häufig im öffentlichen Nahverkehr oder in Gebäuden – kein Empfang, keine Ortungs- und Navigationsdienstleistung verfügbar. Mit der Entwicklung der awiloc®-Technologie wurde diese Lücke geschlossen.

Das Team des Fraunhofer IIS um Jürgen Hupp und Steffen Meyer arbeitet an Lokalisierungstechnologien, die zur Positionsbestimmung bereits bestehende drahtlose Funknetze wie WLAN oder Bluetooth LE nutzen, damit Informationsdienste auf Smartphones, Tablets und Wearables realisiert werden können. Dabei wird die Position durch die Auswertung der empfangenen Signalstärke von vorhandenen Kommunikationsnetzen auf dem eigenen mobilen Gerät berechnet, ohne dass eine Anbindung oder Datenkommunikation mit einem zentralen Server notwendig ist – ein wichtiger Punkt für die datenschutzrechtliche Unbedenklichkeit der Dienste auf der Basis der awiloc®-Technologie. awiloc® berechnet zusätzlich zur Position auch Geschwindigkeits- und Richtungsinformationen, so dass Informationen so präzise wie möglich angeboten werden,  wenn diese beispielsweise, beim Besuch eines Museums, eines Einkaufszentrums oder im Falle eines Notrufs benötigt werden.

Seit 2008 arbeiten Anwender und Entwickler in der awiloc® alliance an Gesamtlösungen für die Lokalisierung im öffentlichen Raum und darauf aufbauenden Location-based Services. Referenzbeispiele für Anwendungen der lizensierbaren awiloc®-Technologie finden sich im Staatlichen Museum Ägyptischer Kunst in München oder im Perot Museum in Dallas.

Der EARTO-Innovationspreis

Herausragende Beispiele für angewandte Forschung ehrt die EARTO seit 2009 jährlich. Eine unabhängige Jury wählt Projekte aus, die das Potenzial haben, einen gesellschaftlichen oder wirtschaftlichen Wandel zu initiieren.