Energy Management

Energy harvesting solution for an energy-independent flow measuring system on pipelines and filling pumps

/ 17.11.2015

Nuremberg, November 17, 2015: Scientists at the Fraunhofer IIS have succeeded in using the existing mechanical flow energy on an oval wheel meter to produce electrical energy. This allows data from filling pumps or pipelines to be read remotely using an independent energy source and without requiring maintenance.

The measurement of volume flows – to determine the amount of gas that has been put in the tank, for example – can be carried out using oval wheel meters. To transmit the measurement for evaluation and checking, a wireless remote solution would be beneficial for many applications. The necessary energy has previously come from batteries or via cables, which has always resulted in additional maintenance and installation work and thus extra costs. With pipelines in particular, the additional cost is so high or the locations are so inaccessible that economical use of flow measurements using remote reading has not been possible due to a lack of alternative power supply methods.

Energy harvesting which uses environmental energy such as light, heat, or motion to produce electrical energy has allowed the Fraunhofer IIS team led by Dr. Peter Spies, head of the “Integrated Energy Supplies” group, to use the turning of the cog wheels in oval wheel meters to generate energy. Peter Spies explains the benefits of the technology as follows: “A suitable arrangement of magnets on the cog wheels and fixed coils on the housing of the oval wheel allows the rotary motion to produce the electrical energy needed to supply a wireless module and to transmit the measurements wirelessly.”

The flow measurement system with remote read-out and its own energy supply was developed jointly with the project partners Bopp & Reuther Messtechnik GmbH and WIKON GmbH within the “Oval Wheel Meters” project of the Central Innovation Program for SME (ZIM). The project was funded by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology under the project sponsorship of the German Federation of Industrial Research Associations (AiF).

You will find further information on energy harvesting here: www.iis.fraunhofer.de/energyharvesting

Energiemanagement

Energy-Harvesting-Lösung für ein energieautarkes Durchflussmesssystem an Pipelines und Zapfsäulen

/ 17.11.2015

Nürnberg, 17. November 2015 – Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer IIS ist es gelungen, aus der vorhandenen mechanischen Strömungsenergie an einem Ovalradzähler elektrische Energie zu gewinnen. Dadurch ist eine Fernauslesung von Daten an Zapfsäulen oder Pipelines energieautark und wartungsfrei möglich.

Die Messung von Volumenströmen, beispielsweise zur Bestimmung der getankten Benzinmenge an der Zapfsäule, kann mit so genannten Ovalradzählern ausgeführt werden. Für die Messwertübertragung zur Auswertung und Kontrolle ist für viele Anwendungen eine drahtlose Fernauslösung wünschenswert. Die notwendige Energie kommt dabei bisher aus Batterien oder über angeschlossene Kabel, welche immer zusätzlichen Wartungs- und Installationsaufwand und damit auch erhöhte Kosten bedeuten. Insbesondere bei Pipelines ist der Kostenaufwand so hoch oder die Stellen so unzugänglich, dass ein wirtschaftlicher Einsatz von Durchflussmessungen mit Fernauslesung aufgrund fehlender Alternativen für die Stromversorgung bis jetzt nicht möglich war.

Durch Energy Harvesting, bei dem aus Umweltenergie wie Licht, Wärme oder Bewegung elektrische Energie gewonnen wird, ist es dem Fraunhofer IIS-Team um Dr. Peter Spies, Leiter der Gruppe »Integrierte Energieversorgungen«, gelungen, die Drehung der Zahnräder bei Ovalradzählern auch zur Energieerzeugung zu verwenden. »Mit einer geeigneten Anordnung von Magneten an den Zahnrädern und fest installierten Spulen am Gehäuse des Ovalradzählers kann aus der Drehbewegung elektrische Energie gewonnen werden, um ein Funkmodul zu versorgen und die Messdaten drahtlos zu übertragen,« erläutert Peter Spies die Vorteile der Technologie.

Das energieautarke Durchflussmesssystem mit Fernauslesung wurde gemeinsam mit den Projektpartnern Bopp & Reuther Messtechnik GmbH und WIKON GmbH im Projekt »Ovalradzähler« des Zentralen Innovationsprogramms Mittelstand ZIM entwickelt. Das Projekt wurde unter der Projektträgerschaft des AIF (Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie gefördert.

Weitere Informationen zu Energy Harvesting finden Sie unter: www.iis.fraunhofer.de/energyharvesting.