Fraunhofer IIS technologies supporting effective toothbrushing – individually tuned to the user!

/ 22.2.2016

Erlangen/Barcelona, February 22, 2016 – Mobile World Congress, Hall 8.1, Booth 8.1I68: For healthy teeth, it is crucial to spend the right amount of time brushing and to brush with precision. The latest generation of electric toothbrushes supports users with applications on their smartphones. Based on the image analysis software SHORE™ developed by Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS as well as its localization technologies for position recognition, Procter & Gamble is now presenting a new smart tooth-brushing system at the Mobile World Congress. By telling users which area of teeth they are currently brushing, this system supports them in their daily dental hygiene as recommended by dentists.

© Photo Procter&Gamble

ORAL B GENIUS in corporation with Fraunhofer SHORE TM -technology and localization technology for positioning

It’s not just the toothbrush that determines whether dental care is correct and improves dental health. To keep teeth healthy, it’s much more important to brush “correctly” and pay equal attention to all areas. To support users as effectively as possible, Procter & Gamble (P&G) has been working with scientists from Fraunhofer IIS on the development of a new “smart interactive” toothbrush Oral-B GENIUS. The toothbrush connects via Bluetooth with an app on users’ smartphone, which can be affixed directly to a mirror. Analysis can begin as soon as users begin brushing their teeth.

Image analysis and inertial sensors for a better brushing result

The integrated Fraunhofer SHORE™ facial detection and analysis technology allows head movement and hand position to be recognized and analyzed in real time. This lets users know whether they are brushing too little or too long in one place, or whether they have missed an area. “We are using image-based classification to further develop and refine the algorithm of our SHORE™ software library so that it can determine the exact position of the toothbrush,” is how Dr. Jens Garbas, head of the Group for Intelligent Systems explains the technical challenge facing his team. “SHORETM has to be able to provide reliable results even with poor lighting, frequently changing head positions or rapid hand movements.” The Fraunhofer developers use their SHORETM software to determine the position of the jaw from images and evaluate the results with a large number of testing sequences.

In order to further improve the robustness and precision in line with requirements, the SHORE™ developers have taken colleagues from the Multi-sensor Systems Group at Fraunhofer IIS on board. Thanks to what are known as inertial sensors in the brush handle, smart analysis software can assess the brush’s position and movements and combine this information with data from the image analysis. The advantage of this type of sensor fusion is that more precise information is generated on whether each area has been brushed for a sufficient period of time and whether any areas have been left out. Users can see the results directly on their smartphones and adjust their brushing accordingly. “Our challenge in achieving sensor fusion across the two technologies was to produce a reliable classification of the brushing area even when the acceleration sensors weren’t delivering measurement data with a high data rate. Our determination to solve this tricky task without building any additional technology into the system was what spurred us to come up with new approaches to sensor fusion for optimum combination with image-processing data,” reports group leader Jochen Seitz.

Collaboration with Procter & Gamble

P&G, the world’s leading manufacturer of household, health and beauty-care products, whose portfolio of brands includes Oral-B and Braun, has been collaborating with scientists at Fraunhofer IIS since 2013. In its search for a highly reputed, reliable development partner for a new, smart generation of toothbrushes, the P&G Group’s Research Division noticed a presentation of SHORE™ facial detection and analysis software. The efficiency and capabilities of SHORE™ soon brought the two partners
together to develop new ideas and solutions for software-based assistance systems. “The scientists at Fraunhofer IIS have excellent technological and application-oriented know-how. Our collaboration with them supports us in the user-oriented further development of attractive new products, so we can offer our customers real added benefits for dental hygiene,” says Frank Kreßmann, Research & Development for Connected Devices and Oral Hygiene at P&G.

Presentation of the new toothbrushes at the Mobile World Congress

The new Oral-B GENIUS smart electric toothbrush, featuring integrated image analysis software and movement analysis developed by Fraunhofer IIS, offers users far more advantages than many familiar applications of electric toothbrushes to date. Procter & Gamble is presenting these new interactive toothbrushes at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona.

About SHORE™

SHORE™ is a real-time software developed by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS for detecting and analyzing faces in images and videos: It can analyze people’s age, gender and emotional state/facial expression. For the past 15 years, one focus for the Intelligent Systems Group has been to develop and research algorithms and procedures for the image-based detection, analysis and interpretation of faces, gestures, movements and persons. In 2001 the first system able to recognize people’s faces in real time against any background and to follow them over a long period of time in a stable, robust manner was introduced. Findings generated by work in this area are introduced into the Fraunhofer software library SHORE™ (Sophisticated High-speed Object Recognition Engine), which is being constantly refined.

Fraunhofer IIS-Technologien unterstützen wirksames Zähneputzen – auf den Nutzer individuell abgestimmt!

/ 22.2.2016

Erlangen/Barcelona, 22. Februar 2016 – Mobile World Congress, Halle 8.1, Stand 8.1I68: Die richtige Putzdauer und die -genauigkeit sind für die Zahngesundheit wichtig. Elektrische Zahnbürsten neuester Generation unterstützen den Benutzer dabei mit Applikationen auf dem Handy. Mit der integrierten Bildanalysesoftware SHORE™ und Lokalisierungstechnologien zur Positionserkennung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS stellt Procter & Gamble auf dem Mobile World Congress ein neues intelligentes Zahnbürstensystem vor. Dieses informiert den Nutzer über den aktuell geputzten Zahnbereich und unterstützt ihn bei der täglichen korrekten Zahnpflege.

© Foto Procter&Gamble

ORAL B GENIUS mit Fraunhofer SHORE ™ -Technologie und Lokalisierungstechnologie zur Positionsbestimmung.

Die korrekte Zahnpflege und damit die Verbesserung der Zahngesundheit hängt nicht allein von der Zahnbürste ab – viel wichtiger für gesunde Zahne ist das »richtige« und gleichmäßige Putzen aller Bereiche. Um die Nutzer so gut wie möglich zu unterstützen, arbeitete Procter & Gamble (P&G) mit Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer IIS an einer Neuentwicklung intelligenter und interaktiver Zahnbürsten – der Oral-B GENIUS. Via Bluetooth verbindet sich die Zahnbürste mit der zugehörigen App auf dem Smartphone, das der Benutzer direkt am Spiegel befestigen kann. Sobald der Anwender mit dem Zähneputzen beginnt, kann die Auswertung beginnen.

 

Mit Bildanalyse und Inertialsensorik zum besseren Putzergebnis

Die integrierte Fraunhofer SHORE™-Technologie zur Gesichtsfindung und -analyse sorgt dafür, dass die Kopfbewegung sowie die Handhaltung in Echtzeit erkannt und analysiert werden kann. So erkennt der Nutzer, ob er zu kurz oder zu lange an einer Stelle putzt und ob er einen Bereich ausgelassen hat. »Die Aufgabe für die bildbasierte Klassifikation besteht darin, den Algorithmus unserer SHORE™-Softwarebibliothek so weiterzuentwickeln, dass die präzise Position der Zahnbürste bestimmt werden kann«, erläutert Dr. Jens Garbas, Leiter der Gruppe Intelligente Systeme, die technische Herausforderung für sein Team. »Auch unter schlechten Lichtverhältnissen, bei oft wechselnden Kopfpositionen oder schnellen Handbewegungen muss SHORETM belastbare Ergebnisse liefern.« Die Fraunhofer-Entwickler verwenden unter anderem ihre SHORETM-Software, um bildbasiert die Lage des Kiefers zu bestimmen und die Ergebnisse anhand einer Vielzahl von Testsequenzen zu bewerten.

Um die Robustheit und Genauigkeit, wie gefordert, noch weiter zu verbessern, holten die SHORE™-Entwickler Kollegen aus der Gruppe Mehrsensorsysteme des Fraunhofer IIS mit ins Boot. Mit der so genannten Inertialsensorik lassen sich über Sensoren im Handgriff der Zahnbürste Lage und Bewegungen über eine intelligente Auswertesoftware analysieren und zusammen mit den Daten aus der Bildanalyse kombinieren. Vorteil dieser »Sensor-Fusion« sind genauere Angaben, ob jeder Bereich ausreichend lang und vollständig geputzt wurde oder ob es Bereiche gibt, die ausgelassen wurden. Das Ergebnis wird dem Nutzer direkt auf seinem Smartphone zur Kontrolle angezeigt. »Die Herausforderung bei der Sensor-Fusion der beiden Technologien war eine sichere Klassifikation des Putzbereichs bei vergleichsweise geringem Messdatenvolumen der Beschleunigungssensoren. Diese knifflige Aufgabe zu lösen und ohne zusätzliche technische Einbauten auszukommen, war für uns Ansporn für neue Ansätze der Sensor-Fusion zur optimalen Kombination mit den Bildverarbeitungsdaten«, berichtet Gruppenleiter Jochen Seitz.

Kooperation mit Procter & Gamble

Die Kooperation mit dem weltweit führenden Hersteller von Haushalts-, Gesundheits- und Schönheitspflegeprodukten P&G, zu dessen Markenportfolio Oral-B und Braun zählen, und den Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer IIS besteht seit 2013. Auf der Suche nach einem renommierten und zuverlässigen Entwicklungspartner für eine neue intelligente Generation von Zahnbürsten wurde die Forschungsabteilung des P&G-Konzerns über die Vorstellung der SHORE™ Gesichtsdetektions- und analysesoftware aufmerksam. Die Leistungsfähigkeit von SHORE™ führte beide Partner rasch zu neuen Ideen und Lösungen für softwarebasierte Assistenzsysteme zusammen. »Die Kooperation mit den Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer IIS unterstützt uns durch ihr technologisches und anwendungsorientiertes Know-how bei der benutzerorientierten Weiterentwicklung neuer, attraktiver Produkte, damit wir unseren Kunden einen echten Zusatznutzen für die Zahnhygiene anbieten können«, stellt Frank Kreßmann, Forschung & Entwicklung für Connected Devices und Mundpflege bei P&G fest.

Vorstellung der neuen Zahnbürste auf dem Mobile World Congress

Die neue intelligente elektrische Zahnbürste Oral-B GENIUS mit der integrierten Bildanalysesoftware und Bewegungsauswertung des Fraunhofer IIS bietet dem Nutzer weitaus mehr Vorteile, als viele der bisher bekannten Anwendungen elektrischer Zahnbürsten. Procter & Gamble stellt diese neue, interaktive Zahnbürste auf dem Mobile World Congress in Barcelona vor.

Über SHORE™

SHORE™ ist eine echtzeitfähige Software des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS zur Gesichtsfindung und -analyse in Bildern und Videos und kann das Alter, Geschlecht und die Mimik von Personen analysieren. Seit ca. 15 Jahren liegt ein Schwerpunkt der Gruppe lntelligente Systeme auf der Entwicklung und Erforschung von Algorithmen und Verfahren zur bildbasierten Detektion, Analyse und Interpretation von Gesichtern, Gesten, Bewegungen und Personen. 2001 wurde erstmalig ein Verfahren vorgestellt, das in der Lage ist, Gesichter von Personen in Echtzeit und vor beliebigem Hintergrund zu erkennen und diese robust über längere Zeiträume zu verfolgen. Die Erkenntnisse aus bisherigen Arbeiten in diesem Bereich sind in die Fraunhofer Softwarebibliothek SHORE (Sophisticated Highspeed Object Recognition Engine) eingeflossen, die ständig weiterentwickelt wird.