World Premiere: “ValuCT” Delivers New Price-Performance Model for Industrial NDT

/ 7.6.2016

Erlangen/Munich, June 6, 2016 – WCNDT, booth no. FE 23: world premiere at the World Congress for Non-Destructive Testing in Munich: in cooperation with the American enterprise VJ Technologies the Development Center for X-ray Technology EZRT of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS presents the cost-effective One-Click-CT System “ValuCT” The system provides two- and three-dimensional X-ray images with only one touch of a button – without any previous knowledge on the part of the user, dramatically reducing training and operating costs. The product is debuting at the WCNDT Conference in the VJ Technologies booth no. FE 23 First Floor Foyer from June 13 to 17.

© Fraunhofer IIS

The system provides two- and three-dimensional X-ray images with only one touch of a button – without any previous knowledge on the part of the user.

user interface
© Fraunhofer IIS

The innovative user interface provides operators with easy to use predefined programs to optimize the image acquisition.

Besides numerous adjustment possibilities modern single-lens reflex cameras are pro-vided with an automatic mode enabling beginners without any previous knowledge to take photographs of high technical quality. VJ Technologies and the Fraunhofer Development Center for X-ray Technology worked together to deliver this cost-effective one-click computed tomography system. “The new system is priced at the cost of traditional DR NDT systems with the ability to deliver high quality 3D CT images, it really is a breakthrough for the industry,  states Vijay Alreja, CEO of The VJ Group.

Fully Functional Capabilities, Plus Simple Operations

Obtaining the optimum X-ray image is a science in itself. It usually requires specialize skills and many small adjustments to achieve ideal images. The one-click computed tomography system uses new algorithms and technologies to literally “take charge” of the technical direction of all of this: an innovative user interface provides operators with easy to use predefined programs to optimize the image acquisition. Thus, the system creates images with parameters optimally adjusted to the test object, reconstructs a 3D model from hundreds of individual images and evaluates it fully automatically, in just seconds.

The maintenance-free components of the “ValuCT” are manufactured by VJ Technologies from one source and are thus optimally compatible. The X-ray source is operated at an output of 500 watts and a voltage of 180 kV together with the detector at a resolution of 190 micrometers. It is possible to examine objects of a maximum diameter of 20 centimeters at an object height of maximally 50 centimeters.

Numerous possible applications

The system is suitable for any possible application of modern X-ray technology – whether reverse engineering, precise location of faults or metrology.

In particular small and medium-sized companies of the producing industry will benefit from the “ValuCT”: “We subjected the system to extensive tests in our laboratories using CFRP or aluminum components that can be easily radiographed as test specimens. Both the test results and the data quality were constantly at a high level”, reports Markus Eberhorn, head of the group “Computed Tomography Systems”.

Weltpremiere: »ValuCT« bringt neues Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis auf den ZfP-Markt

/ 7.6.2016

Erlangen/München, 7. Juni 2016 – WCNDT, Stand FE 23: Weltpremiere auf dem World Congress for Non-Destructive Testing in München: Gemeinsam mit dem amerikanischen Unternehmen VJ Technologies stellt das Entwicklungszentrum Röntgentechnik des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS die preisgünstige One-Click-CT-Anlage »ValuCT« vor. Das System erstellt zwei- oder dreidimensionale Röntgenaufnahmen mit nur einem Knopfdruck – ohne jegliches Vorwissen des Anwenders und senkt so die Kosten für Weiterbildung und Betrieb. Das System debütiert auf der WCNDT Konferenz im Foyer im Erdgeschoss, Stand FE 23 von VJ Technologies vom 13.–17. Juni.

Eröffnung des neuen Gebäudes in Nürnberg
© Fraunhofer IIS

Das System erstellt zwei- oder dreidimensionale Röntgenaufnahmen mit nur einem Knopfdruck – ohne weiteres Vorwissen des Anwenders.

Schlüsselübergabe
© Fraunhofer IIS

Die innovative Bedienoberfläche bietet dem Nutzer Einflussmöglichkeiten in Form von voreingestellten Programmen, ohne ihn mit irrelevanten Optionen zu überfordern.

Moderne Spiegelreflexkameras verfügen neben zahlreichen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten über einen Automatikmodus, mit dem Anfänger ohne weiteres Vorwissen technisch gute Fotos machen können. Ein ähnliches Ziel verfolgen VJ Technologies und das Entwicklungszentrum Röntgentechnik mit der günstigen One-Click-Computer-tomographie-Anlage, die gemeinsam entwickelt wurde. »Der Preis des neuen Systems ist auf dem Level einer klassischen 2D-Röntgenanlage angesiedelt. Dadurch, dass qualitativ hochwertige 3D-Computertomographieaufnahmen möglich sind, ist das System ein Durchbruch für die Industrie«, erklärt Vijay Alreja, Vorstandsvorsitzender der VJ Gruppe.

Voller Funktionsumfang trotz einfachster Bedienung

Das bestmögliche Ergebnis aus einer Röntgenaufnahme herauszuholen, ist eine Wissenschaft für sich. Es gibt vieles zu beachten und noch mehr einzustellen. Dies nimmt das One-Click-CT-System dem Anwender nahezu komplett ab: Eine innovative Bedienoberfläche bietet dem Nutzer Einflussmöglichkeiten in Form von voreingestellten Programmen, ohne ihn mit irrelevanten Optionen zu überfordern. Das System erstellt so Aufnahmen mit optimal auf das Prüfobjekt angepassten Parametern, rekonstruiert aus hunderten Einzelbildern ein 3D-Modell und wertet dieses in nur wenigen Sekunden vollautomatisch aus.

Die wartungsfreien Komponenten der »ValuCT« sind von VJ Technologies aus einer Hand gefertigt und daher optimal aufeinander abgestimmt: Die Röntgenröhre arbeitet mit einer Leistung von 500 Watt bei 180 kV Spannung zusammen mit dem Detektor mit einer Auflösung von 190 Mikrometern. Geprüft werden können Objekte mit einem maximalen Durchmesser von 20 Zentimetern bei einer Objekthöhe von maximal 50 Zentimetern.

Zahlreiche Anwendungsmöglichkeiten

Das System eignet sich für sämtliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten moderner Röntgentechnik – vom Reverse Engineering über die präzise Fehlerortung bis hin zur Messtechnik.

Vor allem kleine und mittlere Unternehmen der produzierenden Industrie profitieren von der »ValuCT«: »Wir haben das System in unserem Labor umfangreichen Tests unterzogen. Leicht durchstrahlbare Bauteile aus CFK oder Aluminium, wie sie oft im Automobilbau vorkommen, dienten als Probekörper. »Sowohl die Prüfergebnisse als auch die Datenqualität waren stets auf einem hohen Niveau«, berichtet Markus Eberhorn, Gruppenleiter der Gruppe Computertomographie-Systeme.