Fraunhofer Announces MPEG-H Trademark to Identify Interoperable Products

/ 3.1.2017

ERLANGEN, Germany/LAS VEGAS, Nevada – In preparation for the start of the world’s first TV broadcast services with next-generation audio features – South Korea’s new MPEG-H-based ATSC 3.0 broadcast channels scheduled to go on the air in February – Fraunhofer IIS has developed a trademark program for products incorporating its MPEG-H TV Audio System.

Trademark for the MPEG-H TV Audio System

Trademark for the MPEG-H TV Audio System

Logo of Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea

Logo of Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea

Consumer products such as TVs, soundbars, audio-video receivers, set-top boxes, digital media adapters, or mobile apps and devices may display the trademark to indicate that they have been tested to work together and support the features of the MPEG-H system used for TV broadcasts.

 

The Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea will become the first authorized test center under the program. The test centers will verify that new products meet the program specifications and are qualified to bear the trademark after internal testing by manufacturers using the program’s tools. To learn more about the Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea, visit http://www.tta.or.kr.

 

The MPEG-H TV Audio System provides immersive sound and the ability for the consumer to personalize the audio mix. Broadcasts include information about mix adjustments that are presented to consumers in a control interface on their viewing devices. To that end, implementing a next-generation audio codec now requires close cooperation of a manufacturer’s audio engineers, its experts handling user interfaces, and those responsible for HDMI and other connections to work together to display this information and process consumer selections.

“We are offering this program to the industry as a way to test that products have implemented the MPEG-H TV Audio system successfully despite the broader scope of work required,” said Robert Bleidt, Division General Manager at Fraunhofer USA. “Given the industry’s desire to have TV sets in Korean consumers’ homes in time for the Olympics next year, production schedules are tight. Our program will help manufacturers meet their deadlines and help consumers purchase products that will work together to watch the new MPEG-H broadcasts,” he added.

 

Fraunhofer will offer an online listing of trademarked products and provide consumer education about connecting and using products with the MPEG-H TV Audio System. The program is voluntary and offered under a no-fee license from Fraunhofer. End-product hardware and software manufacturers may learn more about the program by contacting Fraunhofer at audio-info@iis.fraunhofer.de.

 

MPEG-H TV Audio System Trademark Program Website

Fraunhofer IIS stellt Markenzeichen für MPEG-H-kompatible Produkte vor

/ 4.1.2017

ERLANGEN / LAS VEGAS – Das neue, MPEG-H-basierte ATSC 3.0-Fernsehen in Südkorea wird voraussichtlich im Februar auf Sendung gehen. Im Hinblick auf den Start dieses weltweit ersten TV-Angebots mit Audio-Features der nächsten Generation hat das Fraunhofer IIS ein Markenprogramm für Produkte entwickelt, die das MPEG-H-TV-Audio-System unterstützen.

Markenzeichen für das MPEG-H TV-Audio-System

Markenzeichen für das MPEG-H TV-Audio-System

Logo der Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea

Logo der Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea

Das Markenzeichen kann für Produkte aus der Unterhaltungselektronik, wie Fernsehgeräte, Soundbars, Audio-Video-Receiver, Set-Top-Boxen, Adapter für digitale Medien sowie für mobile Apps und Geräte genutzt werden. Es bestätigt, dass ein Produkt mit dem MPEG-H-System für TV-Übertragungen arbeitet und dessen Features unterstützt.

 

Die Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea wird dabei das erste autorisierte Testcenter im Rahmen des Markenprogramms. Die Testzentren verifzieren die Kompatibilität neuer Geräte und Apps mit den Programmspezifikationen und stellen durch interne Tests der Programmtools bei den Herstellern sicher, dass die Produkte wirklich über die Qualifikation verfügen, das Markenzeichen zu tragen. Weitere Informationen zur Telecommunications Technology Association of South Korea finden sich unter: http://www.tta.or.kr.

 

Das MPEG-H-TV-Audio-System liefert umhüllenden Klang und die Möglichkeit, den Audio-Mix zu personalisieren. Fernsehübertragungen enthalten daher auch Informationen zu Anpassungen der Toneinstellungen, die den Nutzern per Kontrollschnittstelle auf ihren Geräten angezeigt werden. Derartige Features eines Audiocodecs der nächsten Generation in Endprodukte zu bringen, erfordert eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Audio-Ingenieuren der Hersteller und ihren Experten für die Nutzer-Schnittstellen, HDMI und andere Verbindungen.

 

»Wir bieten den Herstellern von Unterhaltungselektronik dieses Markenprogramm als eine Möglichkeit zu testen, dass MPEG-H erfolgreich in ihre Produkte implementiert wurde«, sagt Robert Bleidt, Division General Manager bei Fraunhofer USA. »Da die Industrie rechtzeitig zu den Olympischen Spielen in Südkorea im nächsten Jahr entsprechende TV-Geräte auf den Markt bringen will, sind die Produktionszeitpläne eng gestrickt. Unser Programm wird den Herstellern helfen, ihre Deadlines zu halten und die Konsumenten dabei unterstützen, Produkte zu kaufen, mit denen sie die neuen MPEG-H-Übertragungen erleben können.« so Bleidt weiter. 

 

Das Fraunhofer IIS wird eine Liste der mit dem Markenzeichen versehenen Produkte, sowie Konsumenteninformationen zum Anschließen und Nutzen von Geräten, die das MPEG-H-TV-Audio-System unterstützen, auf seiner Website bereitstellen. Die Teilnahme am Markenprogramm ist freiwillig, das Markenzeichen wird unter einer gebührenfreien Lizenz von Fraunhofer angeboten. Hersteller von Hardware und Software für Endprodukte können weitere Informationen zum Markenprogramm per E-Mail an audio-info@iis.fraunhofer.de anfordern.

 

MPEG-H TV Audio System Markenprogramm-Website