Mobile World Congress 2017: Fraunhofer IIS Shows EVS Communication Codec Used for Hi-Fi Mobile Telephony Worldwide

/ 27.2.2017

ERLANGEN, Germany/BARCELONA, Spain – At Mobile World Congress in Barcelona, Spain, taking place from February 27 to March 2, 2017, Fraunhofer IIS will demonstrate Enhanced Voice Services (EVS), the 3GPP communication codec designed specifically for Voice over LTE (VoLTE) services. Today, EVS is supported by selected phone models, for example, from Samsung, LG or Sony and in use worldwide by leading carriers: NTT DoCoMo Japan, T-Mobile USA and Vodafone Germany have already enabled EVS-based calls in their LTE networks. In addition, multiple carriers in Asia have also integrated EVS into their networks.

The technology, co-developed by Fraunhofer IIS, enables cellphone calls that create the feeling of being in the same room with the other participant in the conversation. In addition to measurably improved speech quality, EVS helps wireless providers to enhance network coverage, especially inside buildings. Cellphones that currently support EVS include the LG G5, Samsung Galaxy S7/S7 edge, Sony Xperia X Performance, Sharp AQUOS Zeta, and Sony Xperia XZ.

 

EVS enhances speech services by covering the entire frequency range audible to humans. While the bandwidth for today’s cellphone calls amounts to a maximum of 7 kilohertz, and 3.5 kilohertz for the majority of the time, EVS enables transmissions up to 16 kilohertz and beyond; which is the reason Vodafone Germany called its EVS-based service “Vodafone Crystal Clear®”.

 

EVS supports bit rates from 5.9 kbit/s up to 128 kbit/s, super wide band with Full HD Voice quality is supported starting at 9.6 kbit/s. At common mobile data rates of 13.2 and 24.4 kbit/s the new standard delivers unprecedented speech quality that is cleaner and clearer. This allows carriers to optimize the performance and sound quality of their networks as required by their service.

 

In addition, unintelligible phone calls due to packet loss in poor reception are becoming less likely with EVS. Packet loss can occur in mobile network services such as VoLTE and VoWiFi due to difficult network conditions. EVS reduces their impact by using one-of-a-kind tools. Other content, such as music, is also transmitted in Hi-Fi quality. Furthermore, EVS is backwards compatible with AMR-WB, allowing the audio signal to switch seamlessly between VoLTE (4G) and circuit switched networks (3G) when network conditions warrant a transition.

 

Visitors at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona from February 27 to March 2, 2017 will be able to experience the advantages of EVS with a demonstration of Vodafone Germany’s “Vodafone Crystal Clear®” service, as well as an EVS offline demo at booth 7G31.

Mobile World Congress 2017: Fraunhofer IIS präsentiert weltweit eingesetzten Kommunikationscodec EVS für Hi-Fi-Mobiltelefonie

/ 27.2.2017

ERLANGEN / BARCELONA – Auf dem Mobile World Congress in Barcelona zeigt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS vom 27. Februar bis 2. März 2017 Enhanced Voice Services (EVS), den 3GPP-Kommunikationscodec speziell für Voice over LTE (VoLTE)-Dienste. Verschiedene Handymodelle von Herstellern wie Samsung, LG oder Sony unterstützen bereits EVS, das mittlerweile weltweit Anwendung findet und aktuell in den LTE-Netzen von NTT DoCoMo Japan, T-Mobile USA und Vodafone Deutschland, sowie bei weiteren asiatischen Mobilfunkanbietern schon im Einsatz ist.

Die vom Fraunhofer IIS mitentwickelte Technologie sorgt für mobile Telefonate, die sich anfühlen, als wäre der Gesprächspartner im selben Raum. Neben der deutlich besseren Sprachqualität hilft EVS darüber hinaus den Mobilfunkanbietern, die Netzabdeckung insbesondere auch innerhalb von Gebäuden zu verbessern. Mobiltelefone, die EVS bereits unterstützen, sind unter anderem das LG G5, Samsung Galaxy S7/S7 edge, Sony Xperia X Performance, Sharp AQUOS Zeta sowie das Sony Xperia XZ.

 

EVS erweitert Sprachdienste auf den gesamten vom Menschen hörbaren Frequenzbereich. Während die Bandbreite bei Mobiltelefongesprächen heute maximal 7 Kilohertz und meist nur 3,5 Kilohertz beträgt, ermöglicht EVS eine Übertragung bis 16 Kilohertz und darüber hinaus. Vodafone Deutschland vermarktet seinen EVS-basierten Service dementsprechend unter dem Namen »Vodafone Crystal Clear®«.

 

EVS unterstützt Bitraten von 5,9 kbit/s bis hin zu 128 kbit/s – Superwideband mit Full-HD Voice-Qualität wird ab 9,6 kbit/s unterstützt. Bei den typischen mobilen Datenraten von 13,2 und 24,4 kbit/s liefert der neue Standard eine bisher nicht dagewesene Sprachqualität – klarer und mit minimiertem Rauschen. Carrier können auf diese Weise die Leistungsfähigkeit ihrer Netzwerke sowie die Klangqualität ihrer Dienste dem Bedarf entsprechend optimieren.

 

Kaum verständliche Telefongespräche bei schwierigen Empfangsbedingungen werden mit EVS ebenfalls seltener. Die Paketverluste, wie sie bei mobilen Netzwerkdiensten wie VoLTE und VoWiFi durch schlechte Netzwerkbedingungen ausgelöst werden können, gleicht EVS mit einzigartigen Werkzeugen aus und reduziert damit ihre Auswirkungen. Auch andere Inhalte als Sprache, wie beispielsweise Musik, werden in HiFi-Qualität übertragen. Außerdem ist EVS rückwärtskompatibel zu AMR-WB, so dass das Audiosignal bei Netzwerkschwankungen reibungslos zwischen VoLTE (4G) und verbindungsorientierten Netzen (3G) wechseln kann.

 

Besucher des Mobile World Congress in Barcelona (27. Februar bis 2. März 2017) können am Stand 7G31 die Vorteile von EVS beispielsweise in einer Demonstration des »Vodafone Crystal Clear®«-Services von Vodafone Deutschland sowie in einer EVS-Offline-Demo hautnah erleben.