Felix & Paul Studios to Integrate Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Technology into Next-Generation VR Camera System

/ 24.4.2017

Erlangen, Germany/Montreal, Canada – Fraunhofer IIS, the worldrenowned experts in audio and media technologies, today announced that Felix & Paul Studios, the Emmy® Award-winning studio behind the world’s leading cinematic virtual reality experiences, will integrate Fraunhofer’s Spatial Audio Microphone Processing solution into its next generation proprietary 360-degree 3D camera system.

Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processin. © Fraunhofer IIS
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing.

Fraunhofer’s Spatial Audio Microphone Processing SDK is designed to ease the high-quality capture of authentic spatial audio content on set. The automated processing algorithm is the first audio technology to be delivered under Fraunhofer’s upHear® brand of immersive audio innovations and Felix & Paul Studios is the first partner to incorporate and refine Fraunhofer’s algorithm into a virtual reality camera system.

“As the world’s only full-spectrum VR studio, we are dedicated to creating captivating, immersive experiences and sound plays a very important role in virtual reality storytelling,” said Sebastian Sylwan, Chief Technology Officer and Creative Partner at Felix & Paul Studios. “Fraunhofer is a world leader in digital audio technology and innovation and we are delighted to partner with them to incorporate their upHear Spatial Audio Microphone processing into our nextgeneration camera system; the full integration with our cameras makes the capture of a faithful spatialized scene rendition an integral, no-overhead part of the filming process,” Sylwan continued.

“Our upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing solution will enable Felix & Paul Studios to enhance their immersive VR content with spatial audio in a simple, yet robust way,” said Jan Nordmann, Senior Director, New Media at Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies. “We love to see our technological innovations in the hands of content creators and are very excited to work with the leading cinematic VR studio to enhance their sound capture and processing in the next generation of their camera systems.”

Fraunhofer’s Spatial Audio Microphone Processing was designed for professional and consumer 360-degree cameras and mobile devices, improving sound capture using the built-in microphones of the device. The algorithm automatically transforms captured sound signals in real time to any popular surround or immersive reproduction format, including First-Order Ambisonics (FOA) or Higher-Order-Ambisonics (HOA), immersive 3D audio with 7.1+4 height channels, or 5.1 surround for legacy systems, while preserving the authenticity of the original audio scene. Its flexible semantic signal analysis approach allows for adoption into devices with three or more microphones in various configurations, as well as more sophisticated configurations like in the case of Felix & Paul Studios’ cameras.

Jean-Pascal Beaudoin, Head of Audio at Felix & Paul Studios and Director of Sound at their subsidiary Headspace Studios further commented: “Fraunhofer’s technology allows us to faithfully and precisely capture scene-based audio that we can later combine with other sources for a fully immersive audio experience.”

About Fraunhofer’s upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing

Manufacturers, professional content creators, as well as consumers can benefit from the Fraunhofer Spatial Audio Microphone Processing technology:

  • Manufacturers – the flexibility and customization of Fraunhofer’s spatial audio capturing algorithm to unique camera and mobile designs, as well as the possible integration of Fraunhofer upHear in devices, mobile applications or in post-production software can benefit various product categories.
  • Content Creators – professional content creators will benefit from Fraunhofer’s audio quality standard through position-accurate 3D audio and a natural ambience that naturally carries the atmosphere of the captured situation. Furthermore, in post-production, sound designers can easily combine those audio scenes with additional sound elements like voice overs or dynamic objects.
  • Consumers – integration of Fraunhofer’s spatial audio capturing technology in cameras and phones allows the ability to capture immersive sound to accommodate a video with the push of a button. This aligns with today’s consumer demand for products that are easy to use and provide high-quality recordings.

To learn more about Fraunhofer’s upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing, please visit www.uphear.comor meet the company at NAB in Las Vegas (April 24 – 27, 2017), booth #SU6110.

In cooperation with


About Fraunhofer

When it comes to innovative audio technologies for the rapidly evolving media world, Fraunhofer IIS stands alone. For more than 25 years, digital audio technology has been the principal focus of the Audio and Media Technologies division of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. From the creation of mp3 and the codevelopment of AAC to the future of audio entertainment for broadcast, Fraunhofer IIS brings innovations in sound to reality.

Today, technologies such as Fraunhofer Cingo for virtual surround sound, Fraunhofer Symphoria for automotive 3D audio, AAC-ELD and EVS for telephone calls with CD-like audio quality, and MPEG-H Audio that allows television viewers to adjust dialogue volume to suit their personal preferences are among the division’s most compelling new developments.

Fraunhofer IIS technologies enable more than 10 billion devices worldwide. The audio codec software and application-specific customizations are licensed to more than 1,000 companies. The division’s mp3 and AAC audio codecs are now ubiquitous in mobile multimedia systems.

Fraunhofer IIS is based in Erlangen, Germany and is a division of Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. With 24,500 employees worldwide, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft is comprised of 69 institutes and research units making it Europe’s largest application-oriented research organization.

For more information, contact amm-info@iis.fraunhofer.de, or visit www.iis.fraunhofer.de/audio

Felix & Paul Studios integrieren Fraunhofer upHear Spatial-Audio-Technologie in Virtual Reality- Kamerasystem

/ 24.4.2017

Erlangen / Montreal, Kanada – Felix & Paul Studios setzt zukünftig auf Audio- Lösungen der renommierten Experten für Audio- und Medientechnologien des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS: Das unter anderem mit einem Emmy®-Award preisgekrönte Virtual Reality (VR) Filmstudio verwendet das upHear® Spatial-Audio-Microphone-Processing in seinem 360-Grad-3DKamerasystem und den zugehörigen Produktionswerkzeugen.

Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processin. © Fraunhofer IIS
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing.

Das Fraunhofer Spatial-Audio-Microphone-Processing-SDK vereinfacht die Aufnahme von hochqualitativem, authentischem Raumklang »vor Ort« und ist die erste Audiotechnologie aus der Fraunhofer upHear-Markenfamilie umhüllender Sound- Innovationen. Felix & Paul Studios ist der erste Partner, der den automatischen Verarbeitungsalgorithmus in ein VR-Kamerasystem implementiert.

»Als das weltweit einzige Studio, das die gesamte Bandbreite der VR-Produktion abdeckt, widmen wir uns der Kreation von faszinierenden, einhüllenden Erlebnissen – und Sound spielt beim Storytelling in der virtuellen Realität eine sehr wichtige Rolle«, sagt Sebastian Sylwan, Chief Technology Officer und Creative Partner bei Felix & Paul Studios. »Das Fraunhofer IIS ist weltweit führend bei digitalen Audiotechnologien und – innovationen und wir freuen uns, das upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing in unser Kamerasystem der nächsten Generation zu integrieren. Die vollumfassende Integration mit unseren Kameras und Werkzeugen lässt die Aufnahme einer originalgetreuen Raumklang-Szenerie zu einem wesentlichen, aber gleichzeitig aufwandsärmeren Teil der Dreharbeiten werden«, so Sylwan weiter.

»Mit unserem upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing kann Felix & Paul Studios einhüllende VR-Inhalte auf einfache, aber robuste Weise mit Raumklang aufwerten«, sagt Jan Nordmann, Senior Director New Media bei Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies. »Wir freuen uns sehr über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem VR-Filmstudio zur weiteren Verbesserung der Tonaufnahme und -verarbeitung in den Felix & Paul- Kamerasystemen der nächsten Generation.«

Das Spatial Audio Microphone Processing wurde von Fraunhofer sowohl für professionelle als auch für Consumer-360°-Kameras und Mobilgeräte entwickelt, um die Qualität der Tonaufnahme mit den eingebauten Mikrofonen zu steigern. Der Algorithmus wandelt Tonsignale automatisch und in Echtzeit in jedes gängige Surroundoder immersive Wiedergabeformat um, inklusive First-Order Ambisonics (FOA), Higher- Order-Ambisonics (HOA), einhüllendem 3D-Sound mit 7.1+4 Höhenkanälen oder 5.1 Surround für herkömmliche Systeme. Dabei bleibt die Authentizität der ursprünglichen Audio-Szenerie erhalten. Die flexible Analyse semantischer Signale ermöglicht eine Integration in Geräte mit drei oder mehr Mikrofonen in vielfältigen Konfigurationen, sowie auch für anspruchsvollere Anwendungen wie bei den Kameras von Felix & Paul Studios.

Jean-Pascal Beaudoin, Head of Audio von Felix & Paul Studios und Director of Sound beim Tochterunternehmen Headspace Studios, fügt hinzu: »Fraunhofer upHear ermöglicht es uns, originalgetreu und präzise szenenbasierten Sound aufzunehmen, den wir später mit anderen Quellen kombinieren können, um ein vollkommen einhüllendes Audio-Erlebnis zu schaffen.«

Über das Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing

Hersteller, professionelle Medienschaffende sowie auch Endanwender können von der Spatial-Audio-Microphone-Processing-Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS profitieren:

  • Hersteller – Der Algorithmus lässt sich flexibel auf kundenspezifische Anforderungen sowie auf spezielle Kamera- und mobile Designs anpassen. Er kann direkt in Geräten, mobilen Applikationen oder Postproduktions-Software integriert werden und somit in zahlreichen Produktkategorien zum Einsatz kommen.
  • Medienschaffende – Professionelle Content-Ersteller profitieren vom Fraunhofer Audio-Qualitätsstandard dank positionsgenauem 3D-Sound und einer natürlichen Räumlichkeit, die die Atmosphäre der aufgenommenen Szene originalgetreu einfängt. In der Postproduktion können Sounddesigner diese Audioszenen ganz einfach mit zusätzlichen Soundelementen wie Voiceovers oder dynamischen Objekten kombinieren.
  • Endanwender – Die Integration der Spatial-Audio-Microphone-Processing- Technologie von Fraunhofer in Kameras und Mobiltelefonen ermöglicht die Aufnahme von immersivem Sound zu einem Video mit nur einem Knopfdruck – und verbindet damit intuitive Bedienung und hochqualitative Aufnahmen.

Weitere Informationen zum Fraunhofer upHear Spatial Audio Microphone Processing erhalten Sie unter www.uphear.com, sowie am Fraunhofer-Stand SU6110 auf der Messe NAB in Las Vegas, vom 24. bis 27. April 2017.

In Zusammenarbeit mit


Über Fraunhofer

Im Bereich Audio und Medientechnologien des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Erlangen beschäftigen sich seit mehr als 25 Jahren Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure mit Audiosignalverarbeitung und -codierung. Mit der maßgeblichen Beteiligung an der Entwicklung der Audiocodierverfahren mp3 und MPEG AAC ist das Fraunhofer IIS weltweit bekannt geworden. In den vergangenen zwei Dekaden hat das Fraunhofer IIS Audiocodier-Software an mehr als 1000 Unternehmen lizenziert und so mehr als 10 Milliarden kommerzielle Produkte ermöglicht.

Das Fraunhofer IIS gehört zur Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, die ihren Hauptsitz in München hat. Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ist die größte Einrichtung für angewandte Forschung in Europa: In 69 Instituten und Forschungseinrichtungen arbeiten 24 500 Mitarbeiter an zahlreichen Forschungsthemen.