Ensure quality in assembly with intelligent tools – pilot project with BMW Regensburg

/ 20.4.2017

Nuremberg/Regensburg/Hanover: At the Hannover Messe, together with the BMW Group, the Fraunhofer Institute IIS is presenting a project for developing and testing an intelligent screwdriver for use in assembly. A special attachment module that is connected directly with the IT system receives the respective order and uses sensor data to check for and then signal order completion. This way, the production employee knows at all times if the order was completely and correctly carried out. The test application is currently in preparation in the production line at BMW in Regensburg, providing a basis for possible extensions of the intelligent tool.

Intelligent tools increase quality in assembly. © BMW Group
© Photo BMW Group

Intelligent tools increase quality in assembly

The digitization of many work processes in the Industry 4.0 environment provides new opportunities to increase the quality and reliability of procedures in production. Particularly in the assembly of vehicle parts with manually operated tools, this is a challenge that the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is taking on in practical testing, together with the BMW Group in the Regensburg plant, in a pilot application.

Intelligent tools in the pilot application

Each order requires a great deal of attention on the part of the assembly technician on the production line, e.g. to check if all of the screw connections that must be carried out on a car door were also done correctly and completely. Because production is becoming increasingly specified, this information changes extremely quickly. Thanks to the attachment module developed by Fraunhofer IIS that is installed on the manually operated screwdriver, the tool is connected with the production IT system, and for each new order, it supplies the correct data directly to the assembly technician’s screwdriver. The module is not dependent on the tool or manufacturer and can be used with all types of screwdrivers.

“The prototype of the system is now being prepared for a test application in a production line in the BMW Group Plant Regensburg,” explains Jonathan Röske, Project Manager at the BMW Group. “This pilot test is also about working together with our production employees to analyze which parameters essential to quality assurance must be added in order to extend the system even further and, in cooperation with Fraunhofer IIS, to transfer it into a product to be used by other production lines.”

Sensor fusion technology makes real-time assistance for assembly technicians possible

In addition to the network connection, the innovative software from Fraunhofer IIS also provides an analysis of the screw procedure, specification of tool motion, and detection of position. “In one sensor fusion process, rotation rates, accelerations, and direction information are combined and calculated together in real time. This tracking information is compared with the specified parameters,” says Jochen Seitz, Group Manager of Multisensor Systems at Fraunhofer IIS, explaining the principle. If the values match, a signal can be given directly to the assembly technician on-site via an LED display, indicating if all of the screw connections have been carried out correctly. Currently, it is being used to check if all of the screws have been tightened properly. In the next step, this application can be combined very effectively with a positioning system in order to associate a screw connection with a workpiece or even a screw position. Moreover, if desired, the procedures can be documented with transparency.

The scientists, together with the BMW Group, are demonstrating the project at the Hannover Messe Industrie from April 24–28 at the shared Fraunhofer stand in Hall 2, C22.

Qualität sichern in der Montage mit intelligenten Werkzeugen – Pilotprojekt mit BMW Regensburg

/ 20.4.2017

Nürnberg/Regensburg/Hannover: Das Fraunhofer-Institut IIS stellt zusammen mit der BMW Group auf der Hannover Messe ein Projekt zur Entwicklung und Erprobung eines intelligenten Schraubers für den Montageeinsatz vor. Ein spezielles Aufsatzmodul, das direkt mit dem IT-System vernetzt ist, erhält den jeweiligen Auftrag, prüft anhand von Sensordaten die Auftragserfüllung und signalisiert diese. So weiß der Fertigungsmitarbeiter jederzeit, ob der Auftrag vollständig und korrekt erledigt wurde. Derzeit wird der Testeinsatz in der Produktionslinie bei BMW in Regensburg vorbereitet, der die Basis für mögliche Erweiterungen des intelligenten Werkzeugs bietet.

Intelligente Werkzeuge erhöhen die Qualität in der Montage © BMW Group
© Foto BMW Group

Intelligente Werkzeuge erhöhen die Qualität in der Montage

Die Digitalisierung vieler Arbeitsprozesse im Industrie 4.0-Umfeld bietet neue Chancen, die Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit von Abläufen in der Produktion zu erhöhen. Insbesondere bei der Montage von Fahrzeugteilen mit handgeführten Werkzeugen ist dies eine Herausforderung, die das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS zusammen mit der BMW Group im Werk Regensburg in einem Piloteinsatz dem Praxistest unterzieht.

Intelligente Werkzeuge im Piloteinsatz

Jeder Auftrag fordert vom Monteur in der Produktionslinie hohe Aufmerksamkeit, z.B. ob alle Verschraubungen, die an einer Autotür vorzunehmen sind, auch korrekt und vollständig durchgeführt wurden. Denn in einer zunehmend individuellen Produktion wechseln diese Informationen extrem schnell. Dank des vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Aufsatzmoduls, das auf dem handgeführten Schrauber aufgesteckt ist, vernetzt sich das Werkzeug mit dem IT-System der Produktion und liefert je nach neuem Auftrag die korrekten Daten direkt zum Schrauber des Monteurs. Das Modul ist hierbei unabhängig vom Werkzeug und Werkzeughersteller und für alle Arten von Schraubern einsetzbar.

»Derzeit wird der Prototyp des Systems für einen Testeinsatz in einer Produktionslinie im BMW Group Werk Regensburg vorbereitet«, erläutert Jonathan Röske, Projektleiter bei der BMW Group. »In diesem Pilottest geht es uns auch darum, zusammen mit unseren Fertigungsmitarbeitern zu analysieren, welche Kennzahlen essentiell für die Qualitätssicherung herangezogen werden müssen, um das System noch weiter auszubauen und mit dem Fraunhofer IIS in ein Produkt für weitere Produktionslinien überführen zu können.«

Sensor-Fusions-Technologie ermöglicht Echtzeitassistenz für den Monteur

Neben der Vernetzung bietet die neuartige Software des Fraunhofer IIS auch die Analyse des Schraubvorganges, die Bestimmung der Werkzeugbewegung und die Detektion der Position an. »In einem Sensor- Fusionsverfahren werden Drehraten, die Beschleunigungen und die Richtungsinformation in Echtzeit kombiniert und miteinander verrechnet. Diese Trackinginformationen werden mit den vorgegebenen Parametern abgeglichen,« erklärt Jochen Seitz, Gruppenleiter Mehrsensorsysteme am Fraunhofer IIS, das Prinzip. Stimmen die Werte überein, kann dem Monteur vor Ort direkt per LED-Anzeige signalisiert werden, ob alle Verschraubungen korrekt ausgeführt sind. Aktuell wird damit überprüft, ob alle Schrauben fest angezogen wurden. Diese Anwendung kann im nächsten Schritt sehr gut mit einem System zur Ortung kombiniert werden, um eine Verschraubung einem Werkstück oder gar einer Schraubstelle zuordnen zu können. Die Abläufe können zudem, wenn gewünscht, transparent dokumentiert werden.

Auf der Hannover Messe Industrie demonstrieren die Wissenschaftler zusammen mit der BMW Group das Projekt auf dem Fraunhofer-Gemeinschaftsstand vom 24.–28. April in Halle 2 C22.