The Internet of Things for security functions – Future Security Conference 2017 in Nürnberg

/ 8.6.2017

Nürnberg (Germany): In future the Internet of Things (IoT) can also play a large role in security functions. The emergency services can use the IoT to improve networking in an emergency. The Future Security Conference will be held on September 26–28, 2017, under the motto »Internet of Things for Security« in Nürnberg, Germany. Experts from the sciences, industry, and public bodies will be presenting the latest developments.

For firefighters it is important to know the location of all emergency services in the event of a major disaster. Previously, it was not possible to maintain radio contact between all the units. In such situations the Internet of Things can benefit firefighters with regard to networking and localization, making security-related software applications more effective.

At the Future Security Conference, experts will be presenting the latest developments with regard to IoT issues for security applications. These include experts from the German Aerospace Center (DLR), the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), as well as from industrial companies such as NXP Semiconductors. One of the keynote speakers will be Franz-Josef Schneiders from the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure, who is responsible for the “security strategy for the freight transportation and logistics sector.” The conference is being organized by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. The Future Security Conference will be held on September 26–28 in the NürnbergConvention Center.

Abstracts are to be submitted by the middle of June

The deadline for authors to submit an abstract of their conference paper is June 15, 2017. The focus of the contribution should be on the use of the IoT for defence and security issues or the protection of IoT-based critical infrastructure. The conference language will be English.

Please use the online portal to register for the conference

Interested parties or students can register to attend the Future Security Conference by September 15. It is possible to register online at www.future-security.org. The conference is under the patronage of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the German Federal Ministry of Defence.

Journalists please register with a quick mail to pr@iis.fraunhofer.de or via our portal to attend this event.

Das Internet der Dinge für Sicherheitsaufgaben – Future Security Conference 2017 in Nürnberg

/ 9.6.2017

Nürnberg: Das Internet der Dinge (IoT) kann künftig auch bei Sicherheitsaufgaben eine große Rolle spielen. Einsatzkräfte können IoT nutzen, um sich im Notfall besser zu vernetzen. Unter dem Motto »Internet of Things for Security« findet die Future Security Conference vom 26.-28. September 2017 in Nürnberg statt. Experten aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und öffentlichen Einrichtungen stellen dort aktuelle Entwicklungen vor.

Für Feuerwehrleute ist es im Katastrophenfall wichtig zu wissen, an welcher Stelle sich alle Einsatzkräfte befinden. Bislang ist es nicht immer möglich, Funkkontakt unter allen Einheiten zu halten. Das Internet der Dinge kann hier Hilfe bei der Vernetzung und Ortung der Feuerwehrleute bieten und einen Mehrwert für Anwendungen in der Sicherheit schaffen.

Auf der Future Security Conference stellen Experten, unter anderem vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), dem Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik BSI sowie von Industrieunternehmen, wie NXP Semiconductors aktuelle Entwicklungen zum Thema IoT für Sicherheitsanwendungen vor. Einer der Keynote-Sprecher ist Franz-Josef Schneiders vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur. Er ist dort verantwortlich für das Thema »Sicherheitsstrategie für die Güterverkehrs- und Logistikwirtschaft«. Die fachliche Leitung der Konferenz hat das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS. Die Future Security Conference findet vom 26.-28. September im Nürnberg Convention Center statt.

Einreichung von Abstracts bis Mitte Juni

Bis zum 15. Juni 2017 besteht für Autoren die Möglichkeit, ein Abstract für einen Konferenzbeitrag einzureichen. Im Fokus des Beitrags sollte die Anwendung von IoT in Verteidigungs- und Sicherheitsfragen oder der Schutz von IoT basierten kritischen Infrastrukturen stehen. Die Konferenzsprache ist Englisch.

Anmeldungen zur Konferenz über Onlineportal

Bis zum 15. September können sich Interessierte für die Future Security Conference anmelden. Die Registrierung ist online möglich über www.future-security.org. Die Konferenz steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung und des Bundesministeriums für Verteidigung.

Journalisten können sich für die Veranstaltung anmelden mit einer kurzen, formlosen Mail an: pr@iis.fraunhofer.de oder über das Anmeldeportal für Journalisten.