Network

Fraunhofer IIS works hand in hand with other institutes of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, collaborating in groups and alliances. Fraunhofer IIS is also involved in research activities at national and international institutions and universities.

Fraunhofer Groups

Institutes working in related subject areas cooperate in Fraunhofer Groups and foster a joint presence on the R&D market. They help to define the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft’s business policy and act to implement the organizational and funding principles of the Fraunhofer model.

Fraunhofer Group for Defense and Security

This group has been formed by Fraunhofer Institutes as a means of coordinating their research activities and defining common goals in the area of "Defense and Security".

Fraunhofer Information and Communication Technology Group

The Fraunhofer ICT Group is the largest provider of applied research in the field of information and communications technologies in Europe.

The Fraunhofer ICT Group covers a broad spectrum of technological fields through its member institutes, from the basics to practical solutions in informatics, mathematics, as well as information and communications technology, and it offers assistance to national and international IT providers and IT users alike, particularly SMEs.

 
 

Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research

Understanding the complex interdependencies within systems of innovation is critical for business, government, science, and society to succeed. For this reason, it is important to recognize change as soon as it emerges in any sector, market or technology. Only by comprehending such change, can we actively influence its long-term economical, technological, societal, governmental, and cultural impact. As an expert partner that uniquely combines socioeconomic and sociotechnical research, the Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research provides stakeholders with orientation, facilitates them in positioning themselves, and assists in shaping the future in the innovation system.

The Fraunhofer Group MATERIALS

Material research within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft covers the entire value chain, from the development of new materials and the enhancement of existing ones, to industrial-scale manufacturing technology, characterization of material properties and evaluation of material behavior when employed in components and systems.
The group concentrates its expertise primarily on fields of activity that are important to the national economy: energy, health, mobility, information and communication technology, construction and housing. It promotes the use of novel, customized materials and components as a means of implementing innovative systems.

Fraunhofer Group for Microelektronics

The Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics is a service provider for R&D in the areas of microelectronics and smart systems integration. It combines the expertise of 11 Fraunhofer Institutes (plus five guest institutes) with a total of more than 3,000 employees. The Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics carries out internationally networked top research in microelectronics / nanoelectronics, as well as in microsystem and communication technology.

Fraunhofer Alliances

Institutes and departments of institutes active in related fields join their various competencies in Fraunhofer Alliances to develop and market their field of business. Within the alliance »Ambient Assisted Living« Fraunhofer Institutes develop complete solutions which display typical characteristics of intelligent environments and represent personal health systems for medical applications.

Fraunhofer Adaptronics Alliance

In the Adaptronics Alliance the competences of six Fraunhofer institutes, which lie in the areas of development, application and optimization of intelligent material systems and components, systems and applications are combined.

Through this cooperation the institutes want to make a substantial contribution towards efficiently solving complex tasks in the field of adaptronics and towards offering the user a common, central contact person for his system development. As a result of the participation of the institutes in other groups of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft an active exchange of information is guaranteed.

Fraunhofer Ambient Assisted Living Alliance

The AAL Alliance works on system solutions for ambient assisted living and personal health. AAL stands for intelligent environments which adapt autonomously, proactively, and context sensitively to the needs and aims of users in order to support them in their daily lives. Intelligent environments are designed to allow especially older, disabled, and care-dependent persons to live self-determined lives in a private setting.

The Alliance takes a holistic approach that integrates various technologies, applications, and user groups.

 

 
 

Fraunhofer Big Data and Artificial Intelligence Alliance

The Fraunhofer Big Data and Artificial Intelligence Alliance consists of 30 institutes bundling their cross-sector competencies. Their expertise ranges from market-oriented big data solutions for individual problems to the professional education of data scientists and big data specialists.

Fraunhofer-Allianz Cloud Computing

In der Fraunhofer-Allianz Cloud Computing werden die Kompetenzen von derzeit sechs Fraunhofer-Instituten gebündelt. Zu den Themenbereichen zählen:Betriebs- und Geschäftsmodelle,Prozessmanagement, Ressourcenplanung, Anwendungsentwicklung und Life Cycle Management für Cloud Services und Umgebungen.

 

Mit ihrer Zusammenarbeit leisten die Institute einen wesentlichen Beitrag, um die komplexen Aufgaben in der Cloud effizienter zu bearbeiten und dem Anwender einen gemeinsamen, zentralen Ansprechpartner für seine Systementwicklung anzubieten.

 

 

Fraunhofer Alliance Digital Media

The Fraunhofer Institutes offering key components for digital cinema have pooled their expertise in the Fraunhofer Network for Digital Cinema.

The Digital Cinema Network offers innovative solutions for an all-digital cinema chain. The scope of activities ranges from camera and storage technology to innovative audio systems, post-production tools, projection and transmission techniques, and finally system solutions for digital archiving.

Fraunhofer Food Chain Management Alliance

The Fraunhofer alliance offers food chain management servi-ces for industrial partners, small and medium sized enterprises, as well as institutional investors on a national, European and global level.

The goals of the co-operation are new approaches in food safety, microelectronics, and logistics, which can be easily integrated in the entire food chain to en-sure a high value added at low cost.

Unique opportunities for new competencies and research development on both a technological and application oriented level emerge due to synergy of the involved disciplines.  

Fraunhofer Lightweight Design Alliance

The Institutes that make up the Fraunhofer Lightweight Design Alliance bring together expertise in a number of fields: materials and material composites, joining techniques and manufacturing processes for lightweight construction, numerical and experimental simulation, and evaluation of components and systems.

 

 

Fraunhofer Numerical Simulation of Products, Processes Alliance

The simulation of products and processes today plays a decisive role in all phases of the product life cycle, from model-based materials development and simulation of manufacturing processes to operating characteristics and product placement on the market.

The object of the alliance is to address institute-overarching issues and to represent the interests of the member institutes as a central point of contact for public-sector and industrial customers. In particular, the pooling of expertise from the I&C sector with materials and components know-how as well as with surface technology and production engineering promises to yield innovative results.

Fraunhofer Space Alliance

The Fraunhofer Space Alliance is a group of 13 institutes that carries out collaborative research in the field of aeronautics technologies. By pooling different skills, this alliance offers customers a unique spectrum of R&D services ranging from the development of individual components and prototype validation, to the implementation of entire systems.

Fraunhofer Transport Alliance

The Fraunhofer Transport Alliance develops adequate technical and conceptual solutions for the public and industry partners and puts these solutions into practice by means of transport-related research.

It creates a new choice in R&D in transport through the bundling of the existing potential and a broad system competency.

Due to their participation in international research programs member institutes have worldwide contacts with companies and research organizations involved in the fields of transportation engineering and management.

Fraunhofer Vision Alliance

In the Fraunhofer Vision Alliance several Fraunhofer institutes work together in the fields of image processing and optical testing and measurement techniques. The central office of the Fraunhofer Vision Alliance has been installed at the Fraunhofer IIS in Fürth. It conveys and coordinates projects as well as marketing and PR measures.

Partners

ESI-Application Center

At the ESI-Application Center, which is part of the Embedded Systems Initiative, Fraunhofer IIS collaborates with Friedrich-Alexander University, Erlangen-Nuremberg. Since late 2009, the Application Center has been developing embedded systems, with a focus on multi-core systems, wireless communications, design methodologies and hardware-software codesign. In this context, Fraunhofer IIS undertakes work on automation in a wide range of areas, for instance for sport, fitness, automobility and industry 4.0.

Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT

The Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology IDMT in Ilmenau (Thuringia) offers applied research in digital audio-visual systems. It develops solutions for virtual acoustics for the home entertainment sector and professional markets (e.g. IOSONO® wave field synthesis technology) and software technology for analyzing multimedia meta data as well as audio-visual applications for medical technology.

Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies

In close collaboration with Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen, the DMT team, based in San José, California, introduces new audio formats into the American market.

International Research Cooperations

HTA – Heterogeneous Technology Alliance: Fraunhofer-Verbund Mikroelektronik, Centre Suisse d'Electronique et de Microtechnique (CSEM), Laboratoire d'Electronique et Technologie de l'Information (Leti) and VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland - Micro- and Nano Technologies

Faculty of Engineering, Bilkent Universitäy in Ankara, Turkey

Vladimir State Technical University and St. Petersburg State Polytechnical University, Russia

School of Engineering of Universidad de Navarra (Tecnun) and associated Research Center CEIT in San Sebastián, Spain

University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria in Las Palmas, Spain

German University in Cairo (GUC), Egypt

Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, USA

Faculty of Economics of Moscow State University, Russia

Zhejiang University of Science and Technology in Hangzhou, China

Contact

Martina Spengler

Contact Press / Media

Martina Spengler

International Business Development

Fraunhofer IIS
Am Wolfsmantel 33
91058 Erlangen, Germany

Phone +49 9131 776-1622

Fax +49 9131 776-1699

Contact

Maximilian Müller

Contact Press / Media

Maximilian Müller

Personalmarketing

Fraunhofer IIS
Am Wolfsmantel 33
91058 Erlangen

Phone +49 9131 776-1657

Fax +49 9131 776-1699

Memberships

In our publication »Names | Events | Publications« you can find information about our participation in industry committees, trade associations and program committees, as well as our memberships in alliances and other organizations.

High Performance Center for Electronic Systems

The High Performance Center for Electronic Systems is a joint initiative of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Fraunhofer IIS and IISB and Friedrich-Alexander University in Erlangen-Nuremberg, in addition to other non-university research institutes and various industry partners. The center is bundling its activities in two key fields of technology: high-performance electronics and low-power electronics.

Netzwerk

In Fraunhofer-Verbünden und -Allianzen kooperiert das Fraunhofer IIS mit weiteren Instituten der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich das Fraunhofer IIS bei Forschungen in nationalen und internationalen Einrichtungen und Hochschulen.

Fraunhofer-Verbünde

Fachlich verwandte Institute organisieren sich in Forschungsverbünden und treten gemeinsam am FuE-Markt auf. Sie wirken in der Unternehmenspolitik sowie bei der Umsetzung des Funktions- und Finanzierungsmodells der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft mit.

Fraunhofer-Verbund Innovationsforschung

Das Wissen um die komplexen Wirkzusammenhänge innerhalb von Innovationssystemen ist erfolgskritisch für Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft. Die Veränderung von Branchen, Märkten und Technologien muss daher frühzeitig erkannt und verstanden werden, um die langfristigen Auswirkungen in ökonomischer, technologischer, sozialer, politischer sowie kultureller Hinsicht aktiv gestalten zu können. Als kompetenter Partner mit einer einzigartigen Verknüpfung von sozio-ökonomischer sowie sozio-technischer Forschung unterstützt der Verbund Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft.

Fraunhofer-Verbund IUK-Technologie

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IuK) ist die größte IT-Forschungsorganisation in Europa. Der moderne Lebens- und Arbeitsalltag ist ohne Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie nicht mehr vorstellbar. Der Verbund bietet Unterstützung durch maßgeschneiderte Studien, Technologieberatung und Auftragsforschung für neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen im IT-Bereich.

 

 

Fraunhofer-Verbund Mikroelektronik

 

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Mikroelektronik ist ein Forschungs- und Entwicklungsanbieter für Smart Systems. Er betreibt Spitzenforschung in der Mikro- / Nanoelektronik und der Mikrosystem- und Kommunikationstechnik. Dafür bündelt der Verbund langjährige Erfahrung und die Expertise von ca. 3000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern aus derzeitig elf Fraunhofer-Instituten, plus fünf Gastinstitute aus anderen Fraunhofer-Verbünden.

 

Fraunhofer-Verbund Verteidigungs- und Sicherheitsforschung

Ein Zusammenschluss von Fraunhofer-Instituten zur Koordination und Umsetzung von Forschungsaktivitäten im Bereich »Defense and Security Research«.

Fraunhofer-Verbund Werkstoffe, Bauteile - MATERIALS

Fraunhofer-Materialforschung umfasst die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der Entwicklung neuer und der Verbesserung bestehender Materialien über die Herstelltechnologie im industrienahen Maßstab, die Charakterisierung der Eigenschaften bis hin zur Bewertung des Einsatzverhaltens.

Entsprechendes gilt für die aus den Materialien hergestellten Bauteile und deren Verhalten in Systemen. Dabei werden experimentelle Verfahren und Methoden der mathematischen Modellierung und Simulation komplementär zueinander gesetzt.

Fraunhofer-Allianzen

Institute oder Abteilungen von Instituten mit unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen kooperieren in Fraunhofer-Allianzen, um ein Geschäftsfeld gemeinsam zu bearbeiten und zu vermarkten. Im Rahmen der Allianz arbeiten Fraunhofer-Institute an ganzheitlichen Lösungen, die einerseits typische Merkmale intelligenter Umgebungen aufweisen, andererseits »Personal Health«-Systeme für gesundheitsbezogene Anwendungen verkörpern.

Fraunhofer-Allianz Adaptronik

Fraunhofer-Allianzen bündeln die Kompetenzen verschiedener Fraunhofer-Institute, um ein gemeinsames, integratives Geschäftsfeld zu bearbeiten. Die Fraunhofer-Allianz Adaptronik beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung, Anwendung sowie Optimierung von intelligenten Materialsystemen und Komponenten. Durch ihre Zusammenarbeit wollen die Institute dem Anwender einen zentralen Ansprechpartner für seine Systementwicklung anbieten und so dazu beitragen, komplexe Aufgaben der Adaptronik effizienter zu bearbeiten.

 

Fraunhofer-Allianz Big Data und Künstliche Intelligenz

In der Fraunhofer-Allianz Big Data und Künstliche Intelligenz bündeln mehr als 30 Institute ihre branchenübergreifende Expertise. Die Fraunhofer-Expertinnen und -Experten begleiten Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung von Big-Data-Strategien, entwickeln Software und datenschutzgerechte Systeme für Big Data und bilden Fach- und Führungskräfte zu »Data Scientists« aus.

 

Fraunhofer-Allianz Ambient Assisted Living

Die Fraunhofer-Allianz Ambient Assisted Living arbeitet an AAL- und »Personal Health«-Systemlösungen. AAL steht für intelligente Umgebungen, die sich selbstständig, proaktiv und situationsspezifisch den Bedürfnissen und Zielen des Benutzers anpassen, um ihn im täglichen Leben zu unterstützen. Intelligente Umgebungen sollen insbesondere auch älteren, behinderten und pflegebedürftigen Menschen ermöglichen, selbstbestimmt in einer privaten Umgebung zu leben.

Dabei verfolgt die Allianz einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der verschiedene Technologien, Anwendungen und Nutzergruppen integriert.

 

 
 

Fraunhofer-Allianz Cloud Computing

In der Fraunhofer-Allianz Cloud Computing werden die Kompetenzen von derzeit sechs Fraunhofer-Instituten gebündelt. Zu den Themenbereichen zählen:Betriebs- und Geschäftsmodelle,Prozessmanagement, Ressourcenplanung, Anwendungsentwicklung und Life Cycle Management für Cloud Services und Umgebungen.

 

Mit ihrer Zusammenarbeit leisten die Institute einen wesentlichen Beitrag, um die komplexen Aufgaben in der Cloud effizienter zu bearbeiten und dem Anwender einen gemeinsamen, zentralen Ansprechpartner für seine Systementwicklung anzubieten.

 

 

Fraunhofer-Allianz Digital Media

In der Fraunhofer Allianz Digital Media arbeiten vier Fraunhofer-Institute zusammen, die sich mit der Entwicklung von Schlüsselkomponenten und -technologien für digitales Kino sowie für Multiformat- und Multiplattform-Contenterzeugung und Verteilung beschäftigen.

Die Insitute bieten Forschung- und Entwicklungsleitsung in vielen Bereichen an: Von Kameras und Speicher, Audiosystemen bis hin zu Datenkompression, Postproduktion, Projektion, Distribution und Archivierung decken die Entwicklungen und Innovationen  die gesamte Kette für Digitales Kino und HD-Technik ab.

Fraunhofer-Allianz Food Chain Management

Die Fraunhofer-Allianz Food Chain Management bietet Lösungen für industrielle Partner, kleine und mittlere Unternehmen und institutionelle Fördermittelgeber auf nationaler, europäischer und globaler Ebene.

Das Ziel der gemeinsamen Arbeit sind neuartige Ansätze in der Lebensmittelsicherheit, Mikroelektronik und Logistik, die einfach in die gesamte Lebensmittelkette integriert werden können und eine möglichst hohe Wertschöpfung bei geringen Kosten sicherstellen.

In der engen Verknüpfung der Disziplinen entstehen neue Kompetenzen und Forschungsansätze auf technologischer und anwenderorientierter Basis.  

Fraunhofer-Allianz Leichtbau

In der Fraunhofer-Allianz Leichtbau werden die Erfahrungen und das Know-How von 19 Fraunhofer-Instituten gebündelt. Kundenspezifische Erwartungen werden unter Berücksichtigung sozialer, ökonomischer und ökologischer Konsequenzen umgesetzt, Lösungen werden aus einer Hand angeboten.

 

Fraunhofer-Allianz Numerische Simulation von Produkten, Prozessen

Die Simulation von Produkten und Prozessen spielt heute eine entscheidende Rolle in allen Phasen des Lebenszyklus eines Produkts, von der modellgestützten Materialentwicklung über die Simulation des Herstellprozesses bis zum Betriebsverhalten und der Platzierung des Produkts am Markt.
Das Ziel der Allianz ist es, institutsübergreifende Aufgabenstellungen aufzugreifen und als Ansprechpartner für öffentliche und industrielle Auftraggeber die Interessen der im Verbund zusammengeschlossenen Institute zu vertreten.

 

Fraunhofer-Allianz Space

Die Fraunhofer-Allianz Space ist ein Zusammenschluss von 13 Instituten, die im Bereich Weltraum angewandte Forschung betreiben. Durch das Vereinen von technologischen Kompetenzen bietet sie den Kunden ein einzigartiges Spektrum von der Entwicklung einzelner Komponenten über die Validierung von Prototypen bis hin zur Implementierung im Gesamtsystem.

Fraunhofer-Allianz Verkehr

Die Mitglieder der Allianz haben sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch verkehrsrelevante Forschung geeignete technische und konzeptionelle Lösungen für öffentliche und industrielle Auftraggeber zu entwickeln und in die Anwendung zu überführen.

Durch eine enge, themenbezogene Zusammenarbeit können im Verkehrsbereich für die Kunden ganzheitliche System- und Verbundlösungen sowie neue Anwendungsbereiche durch Know-how-Transfer erschlossen werden. Diese Auswahl und Bündelung unterschiedlichster Kompetenzen stellt sicher, dass bedarfsgerechte Lösungen für den Kunden angeboten werden können.

Fraunhofer-Allianz Vision

Die Fraunhofer-Allianz Vision ist ein Zusammenschluss von Fraunhofer-Instituten zu den Themen Bildverarbeitung und optische Mess- und Prüftechnik. Die Geschäftsstelle der Fraunhofer-Allianz Vision befindet sich am Fraunhofer IIS in Fürth. Die Geschäftsstelle ist verantwortlich für die Vermittlung und Koordinierung von Projekten, die Umsetzung gemeinsamer Marketingkonzepte und die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Fraunhofer-Allianz Vision.

Partner

ESI-Anwendungszentrum

Das ESI-Anwendungszentrum ist eine europaweit einzigartige Kompetenzbündelung von industrienaher Entwicklungsexpertise des größten deutschen Fraunhofer-Instituts, dem Fraunhofer IIS, mit dem wissenschaftlichen Know-how von 16 Lehrstühlen in den Bereichen Hard- und Software der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU). Der Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf den Multicore-Systemen, der drahtlosen Kommunikation, der Entwurfsmethodik und dem Hardware-Software-Co-Design. Durch das ESI-Anwendungszentrum werden die darin entstehenden Synergieeffekte für Unternehmen in den verschiedensten Bereichen wie Sport, Fitness, Automobilität und Industrie 4.0 nutzbar gemacht.

Fraunhofer-Institut für Digitale Medientechnologie IDMT

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Digitale Medientechnologie IDMT in Ilmenau (Thüringen) betreibt angewandte Forschung im Bereich digitaler audio-visueller Anwendungen. Entwickelt werden neben Lösungen zur virtuellen Akustik für Heim- und Profianwender (z. B. die IOSONO® Wellenfeldsynthese-Technologie) auch Softwaretechnologien zur Analyse und Charakterisierung von multimedialen Inhalten sowie audio-visuelle Anwendungen für die Medizintechnik.

Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies

Zusammen mit den Kollegen des Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen führte das in San José in Kalifornien ansässige Team neue Audioformate auf dem amerikanischen Markt ein.

Internationale Forschungskontakte

HTA – Heterogeneous Technology Alliance: Fraunhofer-Verbund Mikroelektronik, Centre Suisse d'Electronique et de Microtechnique (CSEM), Laboratoire d'Electronique et Technologie de l'Information (Leti) und VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland – Mikro- und Nanotechnologie

Faculty of Engineering der Bilkent Universität in Ankara, Türkei

Staatlich Technische Universität St. Petersburg und Staatliche Universität Vladimir, Russland

Technische Fakultät der Universität Navarra (Tecnun) und das zugehörige Forschungszentrum CEIT in San Sebastián, Spanien

Universität Las Palmas de Gran Canaria in Las Palmas, Spanien

German University in Cairo (GUC), Ägypten

Johns Hopkins Universität in Baltimore, USA

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Staatlichen Universität Moskau, Russland

Zhejiang-Hochschule für Wissenschaft und Technik in Hangzhou, China

Kontakt

Martina Spengler

Contact Press / Media

Martina Spengler

International Business Development

Fraunhofer IIS
Am Wolfsmantel 33
91058 Erlangen

Telefon +49 9131 776-1622

Fax +49 9131 776-1699

Kontakt

Maximilian Müller

Contact Press / Media

Maximilian Müller

Personalmarketing

Fraunhofer IIS
Am Wolfsmantel 33
91058 Erlangen

Telefon +49 9131 776-1657

Fax +49 9131 776-1699

Mitgliedschaften

In unserer Publikation »Namen | Ereignisse | Veröffentlichungen« finden Sie Informationen über die Mitwirkung in Fachgremien, Fachverbänden und Programmkomitees sowie über Mitgliedschaften in Verbünden und Organisationen.

Leistungszentrum Elektroniksysteme

Das Leistungszentrum Elektroniksysteme ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, ihrer Institute IIS und IISB und der Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU), zusammen mit weiteren außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen sowie assoziierten Partnern aus der Industrie. Das Leistungszentrum Elektroniksysteme bündelt seine Aktivitäten schwerpunktmäßig in zwei technologische Ausrichtungen: Leistungselektronik und Low-Power-Elektronik.