High-throughput Satellite Communication

DVB-S2X Technology

Satellite communication is a multi-billion market, with dozens of satellites being launched each year, providing terabytes of capacity worldwide. Despite the growth of alternative and competing terrestrial and wireless solutions, satellite continues being a must-have for areas not or just barely connected and shows its full economic potential in supporting one-to-many connectivity.

DVB-S2 is the de-facto standard being used in direct-to-home (DTH) satellite TV distribution. DVB-S2 is also widely adopted in satellite broadband (»satellite internet«) for the user downlink and in many interactive or professional peer-to-peer networks. Compared to DVB-S2 developed and specified in the early 2000s, DVB-S2X is a state-of-the-art, backwards-compatible extension and superset, providing higher spectral efficiencies and new features to enable or promote new applications.

Fraunhofer IIS was actively involved in the development, specification and validation of DVB-S2X. The subsequent section provides further insight into

  • how DVB-S2X differs from and extends DVB-S2;
  • key additional features in DVB-S2X and their implication on performance and for new applications; and
  • DVB-S2X technology and IP available at Fraunhofer IIS for specific markets.

Why satellite communication? Why DVB-S2X?

Satellite communication can be anything from a tiny communication link into the middle of nowhere to the backbone technology of direct-to-home (DTH) TV broadcast. Compared to competing technology, satellite communication has a unique advantage in several domains:

  • Alternative infrastructure is technically not feasible
    This includes applications like in-flight entertainment, in-flight internet connectivity or maritime services: It just isn’t an option using cable, fiber or backhaul connected wireless technology in or over the middle of an ocean.
  • Alternative infrastructure is not deployed
    This includes scenarios where connectivity is urgently needed but conventional infrastructure has not yet reached the area – or where the connectivity need is temporal and too short to upgrade alternatives. This is specific for »on the move« scenarios, including, but not limited to the military domain (MILCOM). This also includes time-limited backhauling for mobile phone networks spreading out into rural areas or news and data gathering applications with instantaneous demand.
  • Satellite having the superior total cost of ownership
    Application examples include remote sites connectivity using dedicated satellite links and satellite broadband – providing internet access to end-user premises in rural or remote areas. In this case satellite per se may not be the cheapest or best technical option, but any alternative infrastructure is eliminated by prohibitive investment cost for each individual site.
  • One-to-many connectivity
    A single TV or radio broadcast satellite may easily provide content and data to 100 millions of users. Compared to competitive technologies that physically or wirelessly connect each individual user, satellite broadcast allows an unlimited number of users being reached with no per-user infrastructure cost penalty.

In brief, the improvements in DVB-S2X address the above opportunities as follows:

  • Improved performance and spectral efficiency, squeezing more sellable capacity out of the same amount of spectrum, or, vice versa, providing lower cost per bit
  • Additional features, allowing more robust communication and enabling new applications and use cases

In this context, DVB-S2X should be seen as a tool-box, with certain tools addressing certain challenges and opportunities and where each implementer is free to pick the subset that is believed to be best suited for an application or market, but also to differentiate a DVB-S2X product from the competition.

Implementation details

DVB-S2X is an extension of the DVB-S2 specification. Any DVB-S2X receiver is backwards compatible with DVB-S2, but legacy DVB-S2 receivers are not required being forward compatible. Thus legacy DVB-S2 receivers will not decode transmissions using new DVB-S2X features.

Some features are transparent to DVB-S2 receivers, thus DTH transmissions may be constructed to be usable for both DVB-S2 and DVB-S2X receivers, with only the latter making use of the additional capabilities. On the long run, once DVB-S2X DTH receivers have reached sufficient market penetration, broadcasters are expected to pool attractive content in DVB-S2X-only channels, cutting down the legacy DVB-S2 offer – similar to the transformation from DVB-S to DVB-S2 at the beginning of the high-definition TV era.

A plurality of the technical improvements in DVB-S2X is focused on improving performance and spectral efficiency, both in the physical layer (PHY) and on system level:

 

IMPROVEMENTS BENEFITS AND APPLICATIONS
Increased granularity in modulation and coding (MODCODs) Reduces unnecessary margins in DTH and broadband applications
Pulse shaping with sharper roll-off filters Resulting in capacity gains for most applications from better utilizing the available spectrum
Higher modulation schemes up to 256APSK Extended range is beneficial for broadband applications on modern high-throughput satellites (HTS) and for professional equipment using high gain ground antennas
MODCODs optimized for linear transponder, operated in multi-carrier mode with appropriate back-off Typical use case for the return link in broadband or for remote site or backhaul connectivity on bandwidth-lease transponders
Support for ultra-wideband carrier Feature is predominately designed for DTH and broadband applications – use cases with enough throughput filling entire transponders
Channel bonding A system-level feature beneficial for DTH on fragmented transponder
Co-channel interference mitigation Applicable in DTH receivers and on HTS satellites used for broadband
Improved multiplexing gain Reduces the overhead reserved for temporal peak capacity demands on wideband carrier and on channel bonded transponders

Besides performance improvements, DVB-S2X also adds a number of physical layer and system level features for new use cases or for improving the robustness in existing applications, including very low signal-to-noise ratio (VL-SNR) operation and introduction of a low-overhead super-frame structure. Super-framing allows for new transmission techniques like precoding and beam hopping.

Deciding on the supported feature set

Implementing the DVB-S2X standard may be complicated by the variety of different target applications and services and the richness in features – normative, optional or not applicable, depending on target application and service. Implementing DVB-S2X is further complicated by the wide throughput range a receiver may have to cover – less than 100 Mbps on a traditional satellite using 36 MHz transponder to in excess of 2000 Mbps on a 500 MHz transponder operated under high SNR conditions. Moreover the required receiver resources grow more than linear with carrier bandwidth and throughput.

Therefore, a receiver manufacturer not only has to decide on the supported feature set to be implemented and tested, but also on the trade-off between throughput, complexity and price of the silicon and implementation loss, e.g. resulting from efficient but limited accurate symbol demapping or from limiting the number of iterations in the LDPC decoding process. Clearly there is no one-size-fits-all solution, and a highly cost sensitive DTH receiver will be quite different from a professional high-end and high-throughput MODEM.

DVB-S2X: Be smart, get it right and get it done

Thorough understanding of DVB-S2X technology, the market needs and the constraints of the target application is vital for the right selection of the features and for building a unique and successful product. Thus, as an equipment or chipset manufacturer, benefit from Fraunhofer IIS’ background and know-how when evaluating DVB-S2X as an extension to your product portfolio and when drafting the product’s DVB-S2X features and capabilities in detail.

Implementing DVB-S2X easily consumes person-years of effort, not even counting functional validation and fine tuning the decoder performance. Adoption of a validated and field tested implementation minimizes technical and schedule risks. Contact us for an evaluation of a field tested FPGA receiver implementation and to discuss customizations and porting to alternative platforms and technologies.

Time-to-market is essential staying ahead of competition and for timely return of investment. Fraunhofer IIS offers a readily available DVB-S2X receiver implementation using Annex E, format 4 (super-framing) that can be quickly tailored for different products and throughput ranges. Different licensing options are available on request.

Neue Effizienz in der Satellitenkommunikation

DVB-S2X-Technologie

Die Satellitenkommunikation ist ein riesiger Markt: Jährlich starten weltweit dutzende Satelliten ins All und stellen Terabytes an Datenkapazität zur Verfügung. Trotz der wachsenden Verbreitung terrestrischer und drahtloser Alternativangebote sind Satellitenverbindungen immer noch ein Muss für Regionen mit fehlender oder schlechter Internetanbindung. Auch bei der Verbreitung eines Inhalts an viele verschiedene Empfänger ist die Satellitenkommunikation einer der effizientesten und rentabelsten Wege der Übertragung.

Der aktuelle De-facto-Standard für das Satellitenfernsehen (Direct-to-Home, DTH) ist DVB-S2. Darüber hinaus wird er fürs Internet via Satellit im User-Downlink und für viele interaktive oder professionelle Peer-to-Peer-Netzwerke eingesetzt. Der Standard wurde bereits in den frühen 2000er Jahren entwickelt und spezifiziert. DVB-S2X ist die 2014 standardisierte und abwärtskompatible Erweiterung von DVB-S2. Sie erlaubt eine höhere Bandbreiteneffizienz und enthält zusätzliche Features, die neuartige Anwendungen ermöglichen und voranbringen.

An der Entwicklung, Spezifikation und Validierung von DVB-S2X war das Fraunhofer IIS aktiv beteiligt. Im Folgenden beschreiben wir

  • die Unterschiede und Verbesserungen von DVB-S2X gegenüber DVB-S2,
  • die wichtigsten Zusatzfeatures in DVB-S2X und deren Anwendungsgebiete, und
  • die am Fraunhofer IIS verfügbaren Technologie- und IP-Lösungen für DVB-S2X.

Warum Satellitenkommunikation? Und warum DVB-S2X?

Satellitenkommunikation ist vielseitig: Sie versorgt abgelegene Regionen mit einzelnen Kommunikationslinks, gleichzeitig stellt sie die gesamte Backbone-Technologie für das Satellitenfernsehen zu Hause bereit. Ihre Vorteile zeigen sich besonders dann, wenn

  • … eine alternative Infrastruktur technisch nicht realisierbar ist:
    Ob Entertainment, Internet oder andere Datendienste – im Flugzeug oder auf hoher See ist die Satellitenanbindung alternativlos, weil Kabel, Glasfaser und terrestrische Drahtlosnetzwerke keine Option darstellen.
  • … eine alternative Infrastruktur nicht vorhanden ist:
    Wenn Konnektivität dringend benötigt wird, der Netzausbau bestimmte Regionen aber noch nicht erreicht hat oder der Bedarf nur temporär besteht, kommen Satellitenverbindungen zum Einsatz. Klassischerweise ist das bei mobilen Nutzungsszenarien der Fall, zum Beispiel im militärischen Bereich. Satellitenverbindungen lassen sich aber auch für temporäre Mobilfunknetzwerke oder für die Berichterstattung in bzw. aus entlegenen Regionen nutzen.
  • … man die günstigeren Gesamtbetriebskosten betrachtet:
    Zur Überwachung entlegener Standorte oder Anlagen über spezielle Satellitenlinks und bei der Einrichtung von Internet für Nutzer in ländlichen und weit abgelegenen Gebieten müssen die Gesamtbetriebskosten ins Auge gefasst werden. Satellit ist nicht immer die günstigste oder beste Option, erspart jedoch die erheblichen Investitions- und Betriebskosten, die beim Netzausbau für jeden individuellen Standort anfallen würden.
  • … viele Nutzer gleichzeitig erreicht werden sollen:
    Ein einziger TV- oder Radiosatellit kann problemlos hunderte Millionen von Nutzern mit Inhalten und Daten versorgen. Im Gegensatz zu Konkurrenztechnologien, bei denen jeder einzelne Nutzer entweder kabelgebunden oder drahtlos verbunden werden muss, erreicht der Satellitenrundfunk eine unbegrenzte Anzahl von Zuschauern oder Hörern ohne zusätzlichen Aufwand pro Nutzer.

Der verbesserte DVB-S2X-Standard reizt die Möglichkeiten der Satellitenkommunikation in vollem Umfang aus:

  • Verbesserte Leistungsfähigkeit und Bandbreiteneffizienz für mehr Kapazität bei gleicher Bandbreite oder – umgekehrt betrachtet – zu geringeren Kosten pro »Bit«
  • Zusätzliche Features für stabilere Kommunikationsverbindungen oder neue Anwendungen und Nutzungsszenarien

In diesem Kontext ist DVB-S2X als »Werkzeugkasten« zu verstehen, der für verschiedenste Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten die richtigen Instrumente bereithält. Wer den Standard implementieren will, muss entscheiden, welches Instrumentarium das geeignete ist für die geplante Anwendung, den adressierten Markt oder zur Produktpositionierung im Wettbewerb.

Die Implementierungsdetails

DVB-S2X ist eine Erweiterung der DVB-S2-Spezifikation. Das heißt, jeder DVB-S2X-Receiver ist abwärtskompatibel zu DVB-S2 – DVB-S2-Produkte müssen aber nicht aufwärtskompatibel sein. Sprich: ältere DVB-S2-Empfänger sind nicht dafür ausgelegt, Datenströme zu decodieren, die unter Nutzung spezieller DVB-S2X-Features übertragen werden.

Dennoch sind viele Features auch für ältere DVB-S2-Receiver transparent: Denn Übertragungen für das Satellitenfernsehen können technisch so gestaltet werden, dass sowohl DVB-S2- als auch DVB-S2X-Receiver sie empfangen können. Der Zusatznutzen wird dann nur für Letztere sichtbar. Langfristig ist zu erwarten, dass Programmanbieter neue, attraktive Angebote nur noch in DVB-S2X-Kanäle einspeisen, sobald die Marktdurchdringung der entsprechenden Receiver groß genug ist. Das DVB-S2-Angebot könnte dann nach und nach zurückgefahren werden, ähnlich wie bei DVB-S während des Übergangs zu DVB-S2 zu Beginn des HD-Fernsehens.

Eine Vielzahl technischer Verbesserungen in DVB-S2X konzentriert sich darauf, die Leistungsfähigkeit und Bandbreiteneffizienz auf der physikalischen Übertragungsschicht (PHY) und auf Systemebene zu erhöhen:

 

VERBESSERUNGEN
NUTZEN UND ANWENDUNGEN
Erhöhte Granularität bei Modulation und Codierung (MODCODs) Bessere Ausnutzung des Übertragungskanals für DTH- und Breitbandanwendungen
Zusätzliche Ausgangsfilter mit geringerem »roll-off« Verschafft Kapazitätsgewinne für die meisten Anwendungen durch bessere Ausnutzung des verfügbaren Spektrums
Höhere Modulationsschemata: bis zu 256APSK Erweiterter Bereich, der gewinnbringend einsetzbar ist für Breitbandanwendungen über moderne High-Throughput-Satelliten (HTS) und für professionelles Bodenequipment mit größeren Antennen
MODCODs optimiert für lineare Satellitentransponder Höhere Kapazitäten im Frequenz-Multiplex-Betrieb, z. B. auf Transpondern im Rückkanal und stark fragmentierten »Leased Bandwidth«-Transpondern
Unterstützung von Ultra-Breitband-Trägern Erlaubt bei DTH- und Breitbandanwendungen die Nutzung der gesamten Transponderbandbreite durch einen einzelnen Träger
Kanalbündelung Feature auf Systemebene für DTH, um die – über mehrere Transponder verteilte – Restbandbreite zu einem logischen Kanal zu bündeln
Verbesserte Unterdrückung von Störungen aus dem Nachbarkanal Höherer Datendurchsatz bei HTS-Satelliten
Höherer Multiplex-Gewinn Ein aus vielen Datenströmen bestehender »Multiplex« benötigt weniger Reserven um Kapazitätsspitzen abzufangen – breitere Transponder können effizienter genutzt werden

DVB-S2X bietet neben Leistungsverbesserungen auch einige Features auf Übertragungs- und Systemebene für neue Nutzungsszenarien oder Stabilitätsverbesserungen in existierenden Anwendungen, wie zum Beispiel einen Betriebsmodus mit sehr geringem Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis (VL-SNR) und eine neue effiziente Superframe-Struktur. Super-Framing ermöglicht neuartige Übertragungsverfahren wie Precoding und Beam Hopping.

Die Herausforderung: Das richtige Feature-Set finden

Die Vielzahl der Features und die vielen möglichen Zielanwendungen und Services bringen ein paar Herausforderungen bei der Umsetzung des DVB-S2X-Standards mit sich. Je nach Anwendung gibt es vorgegebene, optionale, aber auch nicht anwendbare Features. Die DVB-S2X-Implementierung verkompliziert sich außerdem in Abhängigkeit vom Datendurchsatz, den ein Receiver erreichen soll. Das sind weniger als 100 Mbps bei einem traditionellen Satelliten mit 36 MHz-Transponder und mehr als 2 000 Mbps bei einem 500 MHz-Transponder im Betrieb mit hohen SNR-Bedingungen. Dabei wachsen die erforderlichen Receiver-Ressourcen teilweise überproportional mit der Bandbreite des Trägers und dem Durchsatz.

Ein Receiver-Hersteller muss nicht nur entscheiden, welche Features umgesetzt oder validiert werden sollen, sondern auch, welche Kompromisse zwischen Durchsatz, Komplexität bzw. Preis der Chips und Umsetzungsverlusten gemacht werden können. Letztere resultieren vor allem aus dem effizienten, aber nur begrenzt genauen Symbol-Demapping sowie aus der begrenzten Zahl an Iterationen im LDCP-Decodierungsprozess. Natürlich gibt es keine Standardlösung – ein möglichst preisgünstiger Satelliten-Receiver für den Hausgebrauch unterscheidet sich stark von einem professionellen High-End-Modem mit hohem Durchsatz.

Der Weg zur richtigen DVB-S2X-Umsetzung

Ein umfassendes Verständnis der DVB-S2X-Technologie, der Marktanforderungen und der Zielanwendungen ist entscheidend für die richtige Wahl der Features und für die Entwicklung eines einzigartigen und erfolgreichen Produkts. Als Geräte- oder Chipsatzhersteller können Sie von der Erfahrung und dem Know-how des Fraunhofer IIS profitieren. Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Bewertung von DVB-S2X als Erweiterung Ihres Produktportfolios und beim detaillierten Entwurf der DVB-S2X-Features und der Einsatzmöglichkeiten Ihres Produkts.

Die Implementierung des DVB-S2X-Standards kann schnell Personalressourcen im Umfang mehrerer Personenjahre binden – ohne die tiefgehende funktionale Validierung und Optimierung der Decoder-Leistung. Der Einsatz einer validierten und im Praxistest bewährten Implementierung minimiert technische und zeitplanmäßige Risiken. Kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie an einer praxisgetesteten FPGA-basierten Receiver-Implementierung interessiert sind und Anpassungen an spezifische Anforderungen oder für alternative Plattformen und Technologien wünschen.

Eine schnelle Produkteinführung ist essentiell, damit sich die Investition lohnt und ein Vorsprung am Markt gesichert bleibt. Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet eine einfach verfügbare DVB-S2X-Receiver-Implementierung (kompatibel mit DVB-S2X Annex-E: Super-Frame-Format 4), die schnell an verschiedene Produkte und Durchsatzanforderungen angepasst werden kann. Hierfür bieten wir flexible Lizenzierungsoptionen an.