Satellit im Weltall
© Johan Swanepoel - Fotolia.com

Satellite Communication

Business area of Communication Systems Division

Satellite Communication

Satellite communication technology ensures that data can be sent and received anywhere and at any time – even on ships, in aircraft and in remote areas with poor or non-existent internet connectivity.

Therefore, we develop communication solutions that connect people and systems all over the world via satellite. Besides overall system and architecture definition, we focus on related transmission technologies and individual components such as antennas, transmitters and receivers. We also develop ground station technologies and test equipment and offer dedicated measuring and test facilities for validating prototypes.

 

High throughput
satellite systems

Optimum efficiency in satellite communication

 

Internet of Things (IoT) via satellite

Global connectivity

 

5G satellite integration

Direct 5G satellite connectivity

 

On-board processing

For satellite-based, digital signal processing applications

 

FORTE SatCom on the Move (SOTM)

Far field SOTM testbed

Satellite communication antennas

We develop custom-fit antenna solutions for satellite communication and navigation. Tailored for specific applications our developed antennas can resist extreme conditions where necessary and provide optimum transmission and reception quality for IoT applications via satellite and GNSS-based navigation and positioning.

 

Smart antenna systems

Meeting high requirements

 

GNSS antennas

For highly precise and robust applications

Transmitter and receiver components for software defined radio systems

In communication applications, transmission quality is strongly dependent on how well the individual components perform. The weakest link in the signal chain determines the quality of the transmission. To increase the reliability of wireless communication and achieve higher data rates, Fraunhofer IIS is continuously enhancing transmitter and receiver components for software defined radio systems.

High-speed data
converters

Designing prototyping boards for analog-to-digital and digital-to-analog converters

Satellitenkommunikation

Geschäftsfeld im Bereich Kommunikationsysteme

Satellitenkommunikation

Die Satellitenkommunikation ermöglicht das Senden und Empfangen von Daten immer und überall – auch an Bord von Schiffen, in Flugzeugen und in entlegenen Regionen mit fehlender oder schlechter Internetanbindung.

Deshalb entwickeln wir Kommunikationslösungen zur weltweiten Vernetzung von Menschen und Systemen über Satellit. Dies umfasst neben der Definition und Architektur des Gesamtsystems auch die entsprechenden Übertragungstechnologien und Einzelkomponenten, wie Antennen, Sender und Empfänger. Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir Bodenstationstechnologien und Testequipment und bieten spezielle Mess- und Testeinrichtungen zur Validierung von Prototypen.

 

Internet of Things (IoT) via Satellit

Globale Konnektivität

 

Fraunhofer On-Board-Prozessor FOBP

Für die digitale Signalverarbeitung an Bord von Satelliten

 

FORTE SatCom on the Move (SOTM)

Testanlage für die mobile Satellitenkommunikation

 

DVB-S2X-Technologie

Neue Effizienz in der Satellitenkommunikation

Antennen für die Satellitenkommunikation

Wir entwickeln GNSS-Antennenlösungen, die alle Anforderungen der globalen Satellitennavigationssysteme (GNSS) an eine präzise Positionsbestimmung und störungsfreie Navigation erfüllen. Selbst für die extremen Bedingungen in der Raumfahrt haben wir geeignete Antennen entwickelt.

 

Intelligente Antennensysteme

Hochpräzise Satellitennavigation

 

GNSS-Antennen

Für hochpräzise und robuste Anwendungen

Sende- und Empfangsteile für Software-Defined-Radio-Systeme

Bei Kommunikationsanwendungen ist die Übertragungsqualität stark von der Leistungsfähigkeit der verwendeten Einzelkomponenten abhängig. Das schwächste Glied in der Signalkette entscheidet über die Qualität der Übertragung. Um die Zuverlässigkeit drahtloser Kommunikation zu steigern und immer höhere Datenraten zu erreichen, entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS Sende- und Empfangskomponenten von Software-Defined-Radio-Systemen kontinuierlich weiter.

 

Abstimmbare Bandpassfilter

Höchste Flexibilität für zukünftige Kommunikationsstandards

Highspeed-
Datenwandler

Entwurf von Prototyping Boards für Analog-Digital- und Digital-Analog-Wandler

Weitere Informationen

 

Download

Eine Sammlung der verfügbaren Flyer finden Sie in unserer Download-Rubrik.