Fraunhofer On-Board Processor - detail shot
© Fraunhofer IIS/Paul Pulkert

Processing Digital Signals on Satellites#

On-Board Processing

Icon On-board Processing
© Fraunhofer IIS

Flexible satellite payloads:
regenerative and reconfigurable#


On-board processors hold the key to flexible communication payloads for digital signal processing on satellites. By processing the signals, they can be regenerated and, if required, relayed. This in turn allows for a more efficient use of satellite capacity. In addition, it is possible to reconfigure the on-board processors while they are in orbit, meaning that the satellites can be reprogrammed at any time from the ground for use in other applications or with modified regional coverage.

The benefits in detail#

On-board processing improves and adds flexibility to the use cases for satellites in a variety of ways.

 

Versatile configuration of applications

Using on-board processors, communication payloads in orbit can be adapted for different use cases. The fact that the transmission method can be reconfigured at any time opens the door to a whole range of potential applications. These include providing high-speed Internet – for example on cruise ships, connecting 5G terminals on the ground, and IoT satellite communication services with low data rate per sensor node.

 

 

Needs-based regional coverage

Through enabling the configuration of analog components as well as digital beamforming, on-board processing allows for flexible beamforming. This provides the scope to adjust the areas of satellite coverage to meet current requirements in specific regions of the earth at any time. As a result, the satellite capacity can be used flexibly as required, supported by efficient transmission concepts such as beam hopping.

Flexible data management

Switching and routing, i.e. decentralized or centralized control of data streams, allow data to be managed flexibly and directly on-board the satellite itself: signals can be switched to individual beams or split into several beams, both at the frequency level and at the individual signal level. This allows direct connections between individual terminals, optimized connections between satellites for efficient data transmission to ground stations, and better utilization of satellites with less workload within a constellation.

Improved transmission efficiency

On-board processing enables the communication payload to modulate and demodulate. Accordingly, processing of incoming signals into representative symbols and remodulation of the symbols to generate a new satellite signal take place directly on-board the satellite. Transmission efficiency is further improved by filtering the incoming signals and rearranging them into one or more signals (demultiplexing and multiplexing).

Optimized signal quality

Error detection and correction is used to restore information in case of a corrupted transmission. This significantly improves the quality of the transmission. Even weak signals can be restored in this way, meaning that smaller ground terminals with low transmission power can also be reliably used without compromising overall signal transmission.

System consultancy for applying on-board processing#

Our expertise lies in system consultancy for using regenerative payloads in various satellite systems and applications. We help you define, select and implement on-board processors.

Creating an effective system design hinges on carefully selecting and thoroughly defining the use cases it is to support. Building on this, we carry out technology and feasibility studies, develop the ideal processor design and work out concepts for how on-board processing can be used effectively and efficiently in the overall system:

  • Use case assessment
  • Precisely tailored system design for new satellite systems
  • Customized digital payload system design
  • Technology trade-off and selection based on user requirements
  • Reconfiguration framework for field programmable gate arrays (FPGA)
  • Radiation mitigation techniques
  • In-band telemetry and telecommand (TM/TC) link
  • Monitoring and control options for ground stations

More information#

Reference project
"Fraunhofer On-Board Processor FOBP"

Reconfigurable communication payload for the German Heinrich Hertz satellite

Internet of Things (IoT) via satellite

Global connectivity

DVB-S2X technology

High efficiency satellite communication

Digitale Signalverarbeitung an Bord von Satelliten

On-Board Processing

Icon On-board Processing
© Fraunhofer IIS

Flexible Satellitennutzlasten:
regenerativ und rekonfigurierbar


On-Board-Prozessoren sind das Herzstück flexibler Kommunikationsnutzlasten für die digitale Signalverarbeitung an Bord von Satelliten. Durch On-Board Processing können die Signale am Satelliten aufbereitet, neu generiert und bedarfsgerecht weitervermittelt werden. Diese regenerative Verarbeitung der Signale ermöglicht eine effizientere Auslastung der Satellitenkapazität. Darüber hinaus sind On-Board-Prozessoren im Orbit rekonfigurierbar, sodass die Satelliten jederzeit von der Erde aus für einen Einsatz in anderen Anwendungen oder mit veränderter regionaler Abdeckung umprogrammiert werden können.

Die Vorteile im Detail

On-Board Processing verbessert und flexibilisiert die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Satelliten auf verschiedenste Weise.

Variabel konfigurierbare Anwendungen

Mittels On-Board-Prozessoren können Kommunikationsnutzlasten im Orbit für unterschiedliche Anwendungsfälle angepasst werden. Durch die jederzeit realisierbare Neukonfiguration des Übertragungsverfahrens reichen mögliche Anwendungen von der Highspeed-Internet-Versorgung, zum Beispiel auf Kreuzfahrtschiffen, über die Anbindung von 5G-Terminals am Boden bis hin zu IoT-Satellitenkommunikationsdiensten mit geringem Datenaufkommen pro Sensorknoten.

Bedarfsgerechte regionale Abdeckung

On-Board Processing unterstützt eine flexible Strahlformung, sowohl durch die Konfiguration analoger Komponenten als auch durch digitales Beamforming. Auf diese Weise können die Ausleuchtbereiche eines Satelliten flexibel verändert werden. So kann die regionale Abdeckung durch einen Satelliten jederzeit an den aktuellen Bedarf in bestimmten Erdregionen angepasst werden. Das ermöglicht die flexible, bedarfsorientierte Nutzung der Satellitenkapazität, auch unterstützt durch effiziente Übertragungskonzepte wie Beam-Hopping.

Flexibles Management des Datenaufkommens

Switching und Routing (dezentrales bzw. zentrales Steuern von Datenströmen) ermöglichen ein flexibles Management des Datenaufkommens direkt am Satellit: Signale können zu einzelnen Beams weitergeschaltet oder zu mehreren Beams verteilt werden, sowohl auf Ebene der Frequenzen als auch auf Ebene der Einzelsignale. Damit können direkte Verbindungen zwischen einzelnen Terminals, optimierte Verbindungen zwischen Satelliten zur effizienten Weiterleitung von Daten und eine gleichmäßige Auslastung aller Satelliten in einer Konstellation erreicht werden.

Verbesserte Übertragungseffizienz

On-Board Processing befähigt die Kommunikationsnutzlast zur Modulation und Demodulation. Das heißt, die Verarbeitung ankommender Signale in repräsentative Symbole und die Neumodulation der Symbole zur Generierung eines neuen Sendesignals findet direkt am Satelliten statt. Durch Filterung der ankommenden Signale und Neuarrangement in einem oder mehreren Sendesignalen (Demultiplexing und Multiplexing) wird die Übertragungseffizienz zusätzlich verbessert.

Optimierte Signalqualität

Nach Demodulation der Signale können fehlerhafte Informationen im Fall einer gestörten Übertragung durch Fehlererkennung und -korrektur wiederhergestellt werden. Das verbessert die Signalqualität in der Übertragung deutlich. Auch schwache Signale können auf diese Weise wiederhergestellt werden. Damit lassen sich selbst kleinere Bodenterminals mit geringer Sendeleistung zuverlässig ohne Einbußen bei der Signalqualität verwenden.

Systemberatung für den Einsatz von On-Board Processing

Unsere Expertise liegt in der Systemberatung für die Verwendung regenerativer Nutzlasten in verschiedensten Satellitensystemen und Anwendungen. Damit unterstützen wir Sie bei der Definition, Auswahl und Umsetzung von On-Board-Prozessoren.

Grundlage jedes effizienten Systemdesigns bilden die überlegte Auswahl und die gründliche Definition der zu unterstützenden Anwendungsfälle. Darauf aufbauend führen wir Technologie- und Machbarkeitsstudien durch, entwickeln das passgenaue Prozessordesign und erarbeiten Konzepte für den wirkungsvollen und effizienten Einsatz von On-Board Processing im Gesamtsystem:

  • Use Case Assessment
  • Exakt zugeschnittenes Systemdesign für neue Satellitensysteme
  • Passgenaues Design für digitale Nutzlastarchitekturen
  • Technologieüberlegungen und -auswahl auf Basis der Nutzeranforderungen
  • Rekonfigurationskonzepte für FPGA-Lösungen
  • Methoden zur Minimierung der Folgen von Strahlungseinwirkungen
  • In-Band-Telemetrie und -Telecommand (TM/TC)
  • Monitoring- und Steuerungsoptionen für Bodenstationen

Mehr Informationen

 

Referenzprojekt
»Fraunhofer On-Board-Prozessor FOBP«

Rekonfigurierbare Kommunikationsnutzlast für den deutschen Heinrich-Hertz-Satelliten

 

Internet of Things (IoT) via Satellit

Globale Konnektivität

 

DVB-S2X-Technologie

Neue Effizienz in der Satellitenkommunikation