Fraunhofer IIS launches 5G Initiative in Bavaria, Germany

5G Bavaria

5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS

Logo StMWi
© StMWi

Fraunhofer IIS’s 5G Bavaria Initiative aims to support the transition from research and standardization to application. Companies will have the opportunity to evaluate new functionalities in a fully comprehensive 5G system context. The tools used to achieve this include simulation and emulation in the lab as well as application specific 5G test beds within real mobile communications environments.

Test center at Fraunhofer IIS

Simulations and emulations of 5G technologies are conducted at the test center within virtual test environments. Thus, test center users receive timely feedback on the usability of 5G for their specific application, which then gives them time to work on prototypes and any further improvements they identify.

Test beds in Bavaria

In addition to the 5G test center, Fraunhofer IIS plans and coordinates the setup and operation of various 5G test beds in different regions across Bavaria. The test beds serve to perform specific customer use cases with 5G technology on a trial basis. This helps to test the possibilities and limits of 5G even before its roll-out is completed.

More information about 5G Bavaria

Fraunhofer IIS startet 5G-Initiative in Bayern

5G Bavaria

5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS

Logo StMWi
© StMWi

Die Initiative »5G Bavaria« des Fraunhofer IIS begleitet den Übergang von der Forschung und Standardisierung in die Anwendung. Sie bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit zur Evaluierung von neuen Funktionalitäten in einem 5G-Gesamtsystemkontext mittels Simulation und Emulation im Labor sowie in anwendungsspezifischen 5G-Testumgebungen (»Testbeds«) mit realer Mobilfunkumgebung.

Testzentrum am Fraunhofer IIS
Die Simulation und Emulation von 5G-Technologien findet am Testzentrum in virtuellen Testumgebungen statt. Anwender erhalten hier ein schnelles Feedback über die Nutzbarkeit von 5G für ihre Anwendung und können frühzeitig Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten und Prototypen erarbeiten.

Testbeds in Bayern
Ergänzend zum 5G-Testzentrum plant und koordiniert das Fraunhofer IIS den Aufbau und Betrieb verschiedener 5G-Testbedsin unterschiedlichen Regionen Bayerns. Die Testbeds dienen dazu, konkrete Use Cases der Anwender mit 5G-Technologie zu erproben, um die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von 5G auszutesten – und das bevor 5G flächendeckend verfügbar ist.

Mehr Informationen zu 5G Bavaria