Select innovations from research

Press Release / 8.11.2012

The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS will be presenting the latest in high-quality microelectronics for integrated sensor systems, energy efficiency, localization, simulation and data transfer applications at the electronica 2012 trade fair in Munich from November 13-16, 2012.

Measuring magnetic fields and quantifying energy consumption with HallinOne® sensor technology

The contactless joystick steering mechanism for tractor cabs and driver cabins demon- strates the Institute’s expertise in IC design when it comes to integrating highly complex sensors and systems. HallinOne® integrated 3D magnetic field sensors can capture five different axes of movement.
The HallinOne® system also forms the basis of the power sensor of Fraunhofer IIS. This sensor helps to quantify energy consumption exactly, enabling users to reduce their energy needs and keep their operations sustainable. In contrast to previous sensors, the new power ASIC measures the magnetic field not only perpendicular to the surface of the chip but also in horizontal directions. As the materials used are non-magnetic, the accuracy of measurements remains unaffected. It is even possible to determine the voltage. In short, this measuring device allows you not only to quantify power con- sumption but also to monitor grid quality. The sensor, manufactured using the CMOS process, also represents good value for money.

Increased range thanks to active signal processing in copper cables

Whether in industry, in medical research or even in the home, many data networks are increasingly being used to transmit high-definition video signals. Copper cables are popular because they are reliable and easy to use. Copper is also particularly cost- effective for short-range transmissions, though this advantage is offset by the negatives of limited bandwidth and interference from electromagnetic radiation. An equalizer developed at Fraunhofer IIS resolves this problem: this integrated, power-saving equalizer allows a pair of wires to easily achieve a video transmission rate of six Gbit/s over lengths of ten meters and more.

Battery management and energy harvesting for energy-autonomous system

The intelligent battery management system on display at electronica 2012 keeps the energy level constant across all battery cells (cell symmetry). This can increase the range of electrically powered vehicles such as electric bicycles, scooters and electric wheelchairs.
Energy harvesting prototypes are based on the voltage converter of Fraunhofer IIS, which uses even the smallest changes in temperature to generate power. The process produces sufficient power to transmit data wirelessly, for instance. These sorts of technology will help create autonomous, no-maintenance wireless systems with the greatest possible operating life and an unlimited standby time.

Galileo-ready components for dependable positioning

As far as positioning applications are concerned, Fraunhofer IIS will be presenting its newest galileo-ready ASICs. These circuits feature both analog and digital chip designs and demonstrate expertise from antenna to position display. Development work is ongoing both for complete receivers and for individual components.

Innovative development opportunities with COSIDE® software tool

Nowadays, engineering systems consist of a complex array of electronic and other components. To find new innovations, developers must locate the perfect combination from a whole range of hardware and software components. Scientists from the Dresden-based EAS division of Fraunhofer IIS will be presenting the COSIDE® EDA software tool for the first time at electronica. This design environment presents develo- pers with new ways to virtually simulate, model and verify their designs. As a result, products can be developed more quickly and cheaply and to a higher standard.

s-net® technology for energy-saving, wireless sensor-network applications

Current advances in technology offer particularly convenient and elegant solutions for wireless sensor networks. s-net® technology, developed at Fraunhofer IIS in Nuremberg, supports multi-hop topologies through battery-powered routers and mobile nodes; this makes it particularly suited to large-scale data collection and tracking applications. Practical applications include the energy sector (wireless smart metering), logistics (asset tracking) and process optimization (smart objects in healthcare). Successful use of sensor networks relies on custom communications protocols, software and hardware components. Each time a wireless sensor network is deployed, it must meet specific requirements concerning the quantity and currency of data, the quality of communica- tion and the service life of the system. Experts will be on hand at the Fraunhofer IIS booth to explain the most important factors to be considered in making the right choices.


You can find Fraunhofer IIS at electronica in Munich from 13-16 November, 2012, Hall 5, Booth 121.

Qualitätsimpulse aus der Forschung

Presseinformation / 8.11.2012

Neueste hochwertige Mikroelektronik für die Bereiche integrierte Sensorik, Energieeinsparung, Lokalisierung, Simulation und Datenübertragung zeigt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS auf der electronica 2012 vom 13.–16. November 2012 in München.

HallinOne®-Sensor erfasst Magnetfeld und ermittelt Energieverbrauch

Am Beispiel der berührungslosen Joystick-Steuerung für den Einsatz in der Fahrerkabine von Traktoren oder Kränen demonstriert das Fraunhofer IIS seine Kompetenzen im IC-Design hochkomplexer integrierter Sensorik und Systeme. Die integrierte 3D- Magnetfeldsensorik HallinOne® ermöglicht die Erfassung von fünf Freiheitsgraden.

Ebenfalls auf dem HallinOne®-System basiert der Stromsensor des Fraunhofer IIS. Er hilft, Energieverbräuche exakt zu ermitteln. Damit können Verbraucher den Energiebedarf senken und nachhaltig wirtschaften. Anders als bisherige Sensoren misst der neue Strom-ASIC nicht nur zur Chip-Oberfläche senkrechte, sondern zudem horizontale Magnetfelder. Da keine magnetisierbaren Materialien verwendet werden, wird die Messgenauigkeit nicht gestört. Auch die Netzspannung lässt sich bestimmen. Kurzum: Mit dem Messgerät lassen sich nicht nur die Energiewerte ermitteln, sondern auch die Netzqualität beobachten. Der im CMOS-Prozess hergestellte Sensor ist zudem kostengünstig.

Erhöhte Reichweite mit aktiver Signalverarbeitung in Kupferkabeln

Über viele Datenverbindungen, z. B. in der Industrie, in der Medizintechnik oder auch in Heimnetzwerken werden zunehmend hochauflösende Videosignale übertragen. Kupferkabel haben eine hohe Attraktivität, weil sie einfach zu handhaben und zuverlässig sind. Gerade für kurze Übertragungsstrecken hat Kupfer auch einen Kostenvorteil, Minuspunkte aber sind die Bandbreitenbegrenzung und die elektromagnetische Interfe- renzstrahlung. Ein am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelter Equalizer schafft hier Abhilfe. Mit dem integrierten, stromsparenden Equalizer sind Videoübertragungen mit sechs Gbit/s auf einem Adernpaar über Längen von zehn Metern und mehr problemlos möglich.

Batteriemanagement und Energy Harvesting für energieautarke Systeme

Das auf der electronica 2012 vorgestellte intelligente Batteriemanagementsystem sorgt für ein konstantes Energieniveau aller Akkuzellen (Zellsymmetrie). Damit können z. B. strombetriebene Fahrzeuge wie Elektrofahrräder, Scooter und Elektrorollstühle größere Reichweiten erzielen.

Prototypen zum Energy Harvesting basieren auf dem vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Spannungswandler, der bereits kleinste Temperaturunterschiede zur Stromgewinnung nutzt. Die dadurch erzeugte Energie ist ausreichend, um z. B. Daten per Funk zu übertragen. Mit Hilfe dieser Technologien entstehen energieautarke, wartungsfreie und kabellose Systeme mit maximaler Betriebszeit und unbegrenzter Standby-Zeit.

Galileo-fähige Komponenten für die sichere Verortung

Für Lokalisierungsanwendungen zeigt das Fraunhofer IIS neueste galileofähige ASICS. Die Schaltungen enthalten analoges und digitales Chipdesign und beweisen Know-how von der Antenne bis zur Positionsausgabe. Sowohl komplette Empfänger als auch einzelne Komponenten werden entwickelt.

Software-Tool COSIDE® für zukunftsweisende Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten

Technische Systeme bestehen heute aus komplexen elektronischen und anderen Bauteilen. Bei Innovationen müssen Entwickler das perfekte Zusammenspiel verschiedenster Hard- und Softwarekomponenten erzielen. Wissenschaftler des Dresdner Institutsteils EAS des Fraunhofer IIS präsentieren auf der electronica erstmals das EDA-Softwaretool COSIDE®. Diese Entwurfsumgebung eröffnet Entwicklern neue Möglichkeiten in der Simulation, Modellierung und Verifikation ihrer Entwürfe am Computer. Dadurch können die Produkte schneller, günstiger und in höherer Qualität entworfen werden.

s-net®-Technologie für energiesparende, drahtlose Sensornetzanwendungen

Gerade im Bereich drahtloser Sensornetze ermöglichen die aktuellen Entwicklungen komfortable und effiziente Lösungen. Die am Nürnberger Standort des Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte s-net®-Technologie unterstützt Multi-Hop-Topologien mit batteriebetriebenen Routern und mobilen Knoten und ist damit besonders für großflächige Datensammlung und Lokalisierungsanwendungen geeignet. Praxisbeispiele finden sich im Energiesektor (Wireless Smart Metering), der Logistik (Asset Tracking) und der Prozessoptimierung (Smart Objects in Kliniken). Die Basis für erfolgreiche Sensornetzanwendungen sind maßgeschneiderte Kommunikationsprotokolle, Software- und Hardwarekomponenten. Was dabei wichtig und zu beachten ist, erläutern die Experten des Fraunhofer IIS am Stand.

Sie finden das Fraunhofer IIS vom 13.–16. November 2012 auf der electronica in München, Halle 5, Stand 121.