AUPEO! Selects Fraunhofer to Deliver High Performance Audio Quality for Personalized Radio Services

Press Release / 27.10.2010

Fraunhofer’s HE-AAC v2 audio codec enables true audio experiences for AUPEO! Internet radio listeners on the go or at home. Fraunhofer IIS, the world’s authoritative source of audio and multimedia technologies, today announced it has been selected by AUPEO!, a leading provider of personalized audio streams for Internet-capable consumer devices, to license its high-quality HE-AAC v2 audio codec software.

The strategic partnership with Fraunhofer IIS will enable AUPEO! to deliver high-quality, personalized radio experiences to users of various classes of devices in the most efficient and consumer friendly way. AUPEO!’s increasingly popular service recently added native integration of its platform with e.g. MINI, Android smartphones from ACER and the Philips Net TV products.

“Consumers choose the AUPEO! service because of the high performance audio quality and the personalized radio experience that is available on an increasing number of devices,” said Holger G. Weiss, CEO at AUPEO!. “Using Fraunhofer’s highly efficient HE-AAC v2 audio codec to deliver our streams, we can uphold that promise even for mobile listening.”

An increasing number of consumers are using mobile Internet radio to tune into radio streams delivered to mobile devices, such as smartphones, over bandwidth constrained wireless networks. The listening experience often happens on the move with headphones, or in the car with the phone connected to the integrated stereo unit. Fraunhofer’s HE-AAC v2, the codec of choice for mobile multimedia streaming, delivers highest stereo quality at only 32 kbit/s resulting in the ideal user experience for mobile applications.

“Minimizing bandwidth requirements, reducing operating costs per listener and boosting audio quality are vital for an audio codec used in Internet radio services,” said Harald Popp, head of the Multimedia Realtime Systems department at Fraunhofer IIS.“Fraunhofer’s HE-AAC v2 codec enables enhanced service stability and a more satisfying listening experience for consumers.”

Fraunhofer’s end-to-end Internet radio solutions include its industry standard audio codecs, such as mp3, HE-AAC v2 and MPEG Surround, as well as Internet radio components on the server and receiver side that enable error robust IP distribution and high service reliability. In addition, Fraunhofer’s solutions for mobile audio streaming, Internet radio and digital broadcasting are optimized for various platforms and operating systems.
Visit us at 129th AES Convention in San Francisco, CA from November 4 - 7, 2010 booth 826!

Streaming-Radio-Service AUPEO! setzt auf Fraunhofer Audioqualität

Mediendienst / 27.10.2010

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS lizenziert die HE-AAC v2 Software an AUPEO! für personalisierte Internet-Radio-Services. Der Einsatz dieses Audiocodierverfahrens garantiert den Nutzern stets beste Klangqualität – egal ob unterwegs oder zuhause.

Die strategische Partnerschaft zwischen dem Fraunhofer IIS und AUPEO! steht für Radiogenuss in hoher Audioqualität. Immer mehr Geräte bieten den Service von AUPEO!: Aktueller Beweis für die wachsende Beliebtheit ist die optionale Unterstützung in Autos der Marke MINI, wie auch der Einsatz in Android Smartphones von ACER und diversen Philips Net TV Produkten.

»Unsere Kunden entscheiden sich für AUPEO!, weil sie sich auf die hohe Audioqualität und ein personalisiertes Radioerlebnis verlassen können«, so Holger G. Weiss, CEO von AUPEO!, »Durch den Einsatz des effizienten HE-AAC v2 Audiocodecs des Fraunhofer IIS können wir diese tolle Audioqualität beim Streaming zu allen Geräten garantieren.«

Mit Internetradio ist der Lieblings-Radiosender immer und überall verfügbar. Für den Empfang genügt oft schon ein Smartphone mit Internetzugang. Die Wiedergabemöglichkeiten sind vielfältig und reichen von Stereokopfhörern bis hin zum Anschluss an die Musikanlage im Auto. Das HE-AAC v2 Codierverfahren des Fraunhofer IIS ist die ideale Lösung für mobiles Audiostreaming. Schon bei 32 kbit/s liefert es beste Qualität für Stereomusik.

»Die größte Herausforderung an einen Audiocodec für Internetradio ist die Minimierung des Bandbreitenbedarfs bei gleichbleibend hoher Audioqualität. Damit verbunden ist auch eine Reduzierung der Betriebskosten pro Hörer«, erklärt Harald Popp, Leiter der Abteilung Multimedia Echtzeitsysteme am Fraunhofer IIS, »Der HE-AAC v2 Audiocodec von Fraunhofer garantiert einen verlässlichen Service und ein verbessertes Hörerlebnis für die Anwender.«

Fraunhofer bietet Komplettlösungen für Internetradio, die sowohl populäre Audiocodecs wie mp3, HE-AAC v2 oder MPEG Surround enthalten, als auch Server- und Player- Komponenten für eine robuste Internet-Übertragung und Wiedergabe. Alle Fraunhofer-Lösungen für mobile Audioübertragung, Internetradio und digitalen Rundfunk sind für verschiedene Plattformen und Betriebssysteme optimiert.

Besuchen Sie das Fraunhofer IIS auf der 129. AES Convention in San Francisco, CA, vom 4.-7. November 2010, Stand 826