Indoor Positioning: N-Solut and CloudMade enter the indoor market with awiloc

Press Release / 7.8.2012

The available technology for localization within buildings is growing rapidly. Every day, new companies enter into this area. With N-Solut and CloudMade, two experienced professionals are now committing to this market. In doing so, they are relying on awiloc, the WLAN positioning technology from the ­Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. awiloc has been helping smartphone users since 2008 to find the shortest, fastest, most convenient or even the most interesting path through shopping centers, airports, train stations and museums.

N-Solut GmbH wants to expand its customized software development kits (SDKs) and customer-specific solutions already successfully in use to include navigation inside buildings on the basis of awiloc® localization technology.

Stefan Langguth, Managing Director at N-Solut: “As a classic provider of satellite-based navigation solutions, indoor navigation represents an extremely interesting growth field for us. With Fraunhofer IIS and awiloc®, we have found a competent partner as well as the right technology for expanding our navigation solutions to areas inside buildings.”

CloudMade Deutschland GmbH also makes use of the awiloc technology

The second strong partner, CloudMade from Stuttgart, offers road and outdoor navigation solutions as well as professional software components and vector-based maps for indoor applications that make also use of the awiloc® technology. With the complete vector cartography of the Hamburg airport as well as a shopping center in Berlin, CloudMade is one of the few companies to have in-depth practical experience with navigation inside buildings.

As responsible Managing Director of CloudMade, Nihat Küçük sees extensive prospects for the indoor market: “While the market for road navigation systems is largely saturat­ed, unlimited possibilities still exist in the indoor area. We are focusing here in particular on indoor solutions for large infrastructures such as airports, shopping centers and event locations.”

With N-Solut and CloudMade as new partners, the awiloc® partner consortium has grown to include two renowned navigation specialists, who are now engaging more intensely with the indoor market.

Navigation is practically a given today

When the first navigation solutions appeared two decades ago in luxury limousines, no one could have predicted that millions of navigation devices would penetrate markets around the world as inexpensive consumer goods within just a few years. Due to the open global navigation system GPS, navigation in vehicles and on smartphones is taken for granted today.

Navigation solutions are now conquering buildings at a rapid pace. awiloc®, an easy-­to-implement technology that offers tested compliance with data privacy regula­tions, represents a key contribution in this area.


About N-Solut

N-Solut GmbH designs, markets and sells customer-specific navigation solutions for mobile devices and vehicles all around the globe. N-Solut has successfully established itself as long-term player in a challenging market through specialization in highly individual design and usability-optimized products.
www.n-solut.de

About CloudMade

As a long-standing IT service provider, CloudMade Deutschland GmbH offers customer-specific software solutions covering all aspects of maps, routing and navigation both indoors and out. With the seamless display and integration of vector-based indoor maps, CloudMade software products are opening up the possibility for many new applications and services. At a central Stuttgart location, a core team develops innovative and customer specific navigation solutions for mobile devices as well as web-based applications.
www.cloudmade.com

About awiloc®

awiloc® is software for self-contained WLAN positioning in cities and buildings. Tested by the Bavarian State Office for Data Privacy Oversight, awiloc® evaluates only the field strength distribution of WLAN stations for the purpose of positioning. awiloc® does this on the mobile device without data communication.
www.awiloc.com

About the awiloc® partner consortium

The awiloc® WLAN positioning technology has been supported since 2008 by enter­prises, users and research institutions within an open consortium. The partners benefit from early access to new developments involving awiloc®. This has given rise to applications involving positioning in buildings that lie on the leading edge of the trend – from emergency call systems to multimedia museum guides and games.

Lokalisierung in Gebäuden: N-Solut und CloudMade ­starten mit awiloc in den Indoor-Markt

Presseinformation / 7.8.2012

Das Technologieangebot für die Lokalisierung innerhalb von Gebäuden wächst immer rascher. Jeden Tag starten neue Firmen in das Thema. Mit N-Solut und CloudMade begeben sich zwei erfahrene Profis auf diesen Markt. Sie setzen dabei auf awiloc, die WLAN-Lokalisierung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für ­Integrierte Schaltungen IIS. awiloc hilft Smartphonebesitzern seit 2008, den kürzesten, schnellsten, bequemsten oder auch reizvollsten Weg durch ein Einkaufszentrum, einen Flughafen, einen Bahnhof oder ein Museum zu finden.

Das Technologieangebot für die Lokalisierung innerhalb von Gebäuden wächst immer rascher. Jeden Tag starten neue Firmen in das Thema. Mit N-Solut und CloudMade begeben sich zwei erfahrene Profis auf diesen Markt. Sie setzen dabei auf awiloc, die WLAN-Lokalisierung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für ­Integrierte Schaltungen IIS. awiloc hilft Smartphonebesitzern seit 2008, den kürzesten, schnellsten, bequemsten oder auch reizvollsten Weg durch ein Einkaufszentrum, einen Flughafen, einen Bahnhof oder ein Museum zu finden.

Auf Basis der awiloc®-Lokalisierungstechnologie will die N-Solut GmbH ihre bereits erfolgreich eingesetzten, maßgeschneiderten Software Development Kits (SDKs) sowie kundenspezifische Lösungen um die Navigation innerhalb von Gebäuden erweitern.

Dazu Stefan Langguth, Geschäftsführer bei N-Solut: »Als klassischer Anbieter von satellitengestützten Navigationslösungen stellt die Indoor-Navigation für uns ein hochinteressantes Wachstumsfeld dar. Mit dem Fraunhofer IIS und awiloc® haben wir einen kompetenten Partner sowie die passende Technologie gefunden, um unsere Navigationslösungen auf Bereiche innerhalb von Gebäuden auszudehnen.«

Auch die CloudMade Deutschland GmbH nutzt die awiloc-Technologie

Der zweite starke Partner, CloudMade aus Stuttgart, bietet neben ausgereiften Straßen- und Outdoor-Navigationslösungen auch professionelle Softwarekomponenten und vektorbasierte Karten für Indoor-Anwendungen an, die auch die awiloc®-Technologie nutzen. Mit der kompletten Vektorkartographie des Flughafens Hamburg sowie eines Einkaufszentrums in Berlin verfügt CloudMade als eines von wenigen Unternehmen auch in Gebäuden über fundierte Praxiserfahrungen in der Navigation.

Nihat Küçük von CloudMade sieht im Indoor-Markt in seiner Verantwortung als Geschäftsführer zahlreiche Chancen: »Während der Markt für Straßennavigations­systeme weitgehend gesättigt ist, ergeben sich im Indoor-Bereich noch unbeschränkte Möglichkeiten. Wir fokussieren uns dabei auf Indoor-Navigationslösungen speziell für Großinfrastrukturen wie Flughäfen, Einkaufs- und Veranstaltungszentren.«

Mit N-Solut und CloudMade als neuen Partnern erweitert sich das awiloc®-Partner­konsortium um zwei renommierte Navigationsspezialisten, die sich nun verstärkt im Indoor-Markt engagieren.

Das Navi ist heute eine Selbstverständlichkeit

Als vor zwei Jahrzehnten die ersten Navigationslösungen in Luxuslimousinen Einzug hielten, sah niemand voraus, dass bereits innerhalb weniger Jahre weltweit Millionen Navigationsgeräte als kostengünstige Helfer im Alltag den Markt durchdringen werden. Dank des freien globalen Navigationssatellitensystems GPS ist heute das Navi im Fahrzeug und auf dem Smartphone zur Selbstverständlichkeit geworden.

Mit rasantem Tempo erobern die Navigationslösungen nun auch die Gebäude. awiloc® leistet dazu als einfach zu implementierende und datenschutzrechtlich geprüfte Technologie einen zentralen Beitrag.


Zu N-Solut

Die N-Solut GmbH konzipiert, vermarktet und vertreibt weltweit kundenspezifische Navigationslösungen für mobile Geräte und Fahrzeuge. N-Solut hat sich in einem herausfordernden Markt durch die Spezialisierung auf hochgradig individuelle, design- sowie Usability-optimierte Produkte nachhaltig etablieren können.
www.n-solut.de

Zu CloudMade

Als langjähriger IT-Dienstleister bietet die CloudMade Deutschland GmbH kunden­spezifische Softwarelösungen rund um die Themen Karte, Routing und Navigation für drinnen oder draußen an. Durch die nahtlose Darstellung und Einbindung von vektor-basierten Indoor-Maps eröffnen CloudMade-Softwareprodukte viele neue Anwendungen und Dienste. Im Zentrum Stuttgarts entwickelt ein Kernteam innovative und kundenspezifische Navigationslösungen, zum einen für mobile Endgeräte und zum anderen für web-basierte Lösungen.
www.cloudmade.com

Zu awiloc®

awiloc® ist eine Software zur autarken WLAN-Lokalisierung in Städten und Gebäuden. Geprüft durch das Bayerische Landesamt für Datenschutzaufsicht wertet awiloc® zur Lokalisierung nur die Feldstärkenverteilung von WLAN-Stationen aus. awiloc® arbeitet dabei autark, d. h. ohne Datenkommunikation.


Zum awiloc®-Partnerkonsortium

Die WLAN-Lokalisierungstechnologie awiloc® wird seit 2008 durch Industrieunter­nehmen, Anwender und Forschungeinrichtungen in einem offenen Konsortium unterstützt. Die Partner nutzen den frühzeitigen Zugriff auf neue Entwicklungen rund um awiloc®. Damit entstanden dem Trend vorausgehende Angebote rund um die Lokalisierung in Gebäuden – vom Notrufsystem über Multimedia-Museumsführer bis hin zu Spielen.