Guiding topics: Audio and Media Technologies

What drives us

Why we carry out research and development in the field of audio and media technology:

Excellent sound at minimum transmission rates: Media technologies are important enablers of today’s entertainment world. And sound is just as significant as images here. Particularly in the case of mobile reception, there is a physical limit on the capacity of transmission channels, making them a precious commodity.

Our technologies for reducing the transmission rate for audio data – such as mp3, AAC, EVS and MPEG-H – ensure that the channels operate at optimum efficiency and reduce the costs of transmission while also increasing reliability. They are used for Internet or mobile telephony as well as for Internet streaming and TV or radio broadcast, whether via cable, satellites or terrestrial systems.

Convincing sound experiences: We strive to improve the user experience through new formats for realistic 3D sound and customization. Our aim is to give users an immersive, location-independent sound experience – whether at home or in the car, via headphones or loudspeakers, and in virtual worlds.

Groundbreaking tools for media production: Our tools for media production help media experts create audio and video content for broadcast, streaming, virtual reality and cinema.

Our approach

These principles define our approach:

We identify existing technological shortcomings and develop solutions to address them. Our technologies are often integrated in open standards. This ensures that access to new technologies is based on fair conditions that are the same for everybody. In addition, we optimize the technologies for various platforms, making it quicker and easier for our customers to integrate them into products. And by founding International AudioLabs Erlangen, we have established a research site for investigating audio topics of the future.

Our competencies

With these competencies, we carry out research and development for the application domains of our customers and partners:

Unsere Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure entwerfen und realisieren komplette end-to-end Audio- und Medienproduktionslösungen, die auf die Bedürfnisse von professionellen Anwendern und Endverbrauchern zugeschnitten sind. Dafür arbeiten wir in einem zuverlässigen, weltweiten Netzwerk mit Partnern und Fraunhofer-Mitarbeitern und geben so einen leichten und effizienten Zugang zu Audio und Medientechnologien.

Dabei stützen wir unser Tun auf unsere Kompetenzen bei Audio- und Bildcodierverfahren, der Entwicklung von Produktionswerkzeugen, in der Audiosignalanalyse und -verarbeitung sowie der Postproduktion und in der Standardisierung.

 

Our scientists and engineers design and build complete end-to-end audio and media production solutions that are tailored to the needs of professional users and end consumers. To this end, we work together with partners in a reliable worldwide network, enabling us to provide easy and efficient access to audio and media technologies.

Our activities here are based on our expertise in audio and image coding, in audio signal analysis and processing, in post-production and standardization, as well as on the development of production tools,

Moreover, we head the Fraunhofer Digital Media Alliance to give Fraunhofer Institutes a collaboration platform for jointly offering new media technologies.

For these fields of application

With our expertise, we cover a broad range of applications:

  • AV streaming & music downloads
  • Mobile telephony & VoIP
  • Digital radio & TV
  • Virtual & augmented reality
  • Film
  • Cinema
  • Automotive

Our USPs

What makes us unique:

We have been working on audio coding and media technologies for over 25 years. Thanks to our major contribution to the development of mp3, MPEG AAC and the digitalization of cinema (DCP), we have achieved worldwide recognition. Our Fraunhofer media technologies are already embedded in more than ten billion licensed devices. With over 200 scientists, we have the largest team of experts in this field worldwide. In all competitions held in the context of standardizations, Fraunhofer IIS technologies have always attained top position.

Clear advantages for our customers and partners

How our customers benefit:

Innovation: Our new technologies give our customers the opportunity to create genuine innovations. They lay the groundwork for better products that are substantially different from the predecessor version.

Certainty: Our standardized technologies provide our customers with certainty as regards interoperability and the long-term safeguarding of their investment by means of a FRAND (Fair, Reasonable And Non-Discriminatory) patent environment.

Speed: Customers receive fast access to implementation-ready technologies.

Quality: We are world leaders when it comes to the quality of our products.

Collaborations

Teamwork with our partners:

We develop joint technology standards with leading global companies in the mobile phone, entertainment and automotive industries (e.g. for EVS and MPEG-H). In addition, we play a highly active and committed role in over 30 standardization organizations – concerning the development both of fundamental technologies (MPEG AAC, 3GPP EVS, JPEG2000, JPEG XS) and of user standards (DVB, ATSC, UHDTV, Bluetooth). We also carry out research in close cooperation with the Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg in Germany, and many other national and international universities, and research institutions.

 

Find out more!

 

Product and research overview for audio and media technologies

Guiding topic: Cognitive sensor systems

In these pages, we present our second guiding topic: cognitive sensor systems.

Leitthema Audio und Medientechnologien

Unser Antrieb

Darum forschen und entwickeln wir auf dem Gebiet Audio und Medientechnologie:

Exzellenter Klang bei minimalen Übertragungsraten: Medientechnologien sind wichtige Träger der Kommunikation. Dabei spielt der Ton eine mindestens genauso große Rolle wie das Bild. Vor allem beim mobilen Empfang begrenzt die Physik die Kapazität der Übertragungskanäle und macht diese zu einem kostbaren Gut.
Unsere Technologien zur Reduzierung der Übertragungsrate für Audiodaten, wie mp3, AAC, EVS oder MPEG-H, sorgen für eine bestmögliche Nutzung der Kanäle und senken dabei die Kosten der Übertragung – bei gleichzeitig erhöhter Zuverlässigkeit. Diese werden sowohl für Telefonie als auch für jede Art von Rundfunk verwendet, egal ob über Internet, Mobiltelefonie oder Kabel, Satellit oder terrestrisch.

Überzeugende Sound-Erlebnisse: Wir arbeiten an einer Verbesserung der User Experience durch neue Formate für realistischen 3D-Klang und eine individuelle Anpassung für ein ortsunabhängiges, immersives Sounderlebnis zuhause oder im Auto, über Kopfhörer oder Lautsprecher, und in virtuellen Welten.

Wegweisende Werkzeuge für die Medienproduktion: Unsere Werkzeuge für die Medienproduktion unterstützen Medienschaffende bei der Erstellung von Audio- und Videoinhalten für Rundfunk, Virtual Reality und Kino.

Unsere Herangehensweise

Diese Prinzipien prägen unser Tun:

Wir erkennen bestehende technologische Defizite und entwickeln gezielt Lösungen, um diese zu beseitigen. Unsere Technologien bringen wir in offene Standards ein. Damit sorgen wir dafür, dass der Zugang zu neuen Technologien unter fairen und für jeden gleichen Bedingungen erfolgt. Zudem optimieren wir die Technologien für diverse Plattformen und helfen unseren Kunden so, sie schneller in Produkte zu integrieren. Mit den International AudioLabs Erlangen haben wir eine Forschungsstätte etabliert, in der an zukünftigen Audio-Themen geforscht wird.

Unsere Kompetenzen

Mit diesen Kompetenzen forschen und entwickeln wir für die Anwendungsbereiche unserer Kunden und Partner:

Unsere Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure entwerfen und realisieren komplette end-to-end Audio- und Medienproduktionslösungen, die auf die Bedürfnisse von professionellen Anwendern und Endverbrauchern zugeschnitten sind. Dafür arbeiten wir in einem zuverlässigen, weltweiten Netzwerk mit Partnern und Fraunhofer-Mitarbeitern und geben so einen leichten und effizienten Zugang zu Audio und Medientechnologien.

Dabei stützen wir unser Tun auf unsere Kompetenzen bei Audio- und Bildcodierverfahren, der Entwicklung von Produktionswerkzeugen, in der Audiosignalanalyse und -verarbeitung sowie der Postproduktion und in der Standardisierung.

Zudem leiten wir die Fraunhofer Allianz Digital Media, um aus der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft heraus gemeinsam neue Medientechnologien anbieten zu können.

Für diese Anwendungsgebiete

Mit unserem Know-how decken wir ein breites Anwendungsfeld ab:

  • AV Streaming & Musik-Download
  • Mobilfunk & VoIP
  • Digital Radio & TV
  • Virtual & Augmented Reality
  • Film
  • Kino
  • Automotive

Unsere Alleinstellungsmerkmale

Das zeichnet uns aus:

Wir beschäftigen uns seit mehr als 25 Jahren mit Audiocodierung und Medientechnologien. Durch die maßgebliche Beteiligung an der Entwicklung von mp3 und MPEG AAC und der Digitalisierung des Kinos (DCP) haben wir weltweite Bekanntheit erlangt. Unsere Fraunhofer-Medientechnologien stecken bereits in mehr als zehn Milliarden lizensierten Geräten. Mit über 200 Wissenschaftlern haben wir weltweit das größte Expertenteam in diesem Bereich. In allen Wettbewerben im Rahmen von Standardisierungen belegten Technologien des Fraunhofer IIS stets den Spitzenplatz.

Klare Vorteile für unsere Kunden und Partner

Davon profitieren unsere Kunden:

Innovation: Unsere neuen Technologien bieten unseren Kunden die Möglichkeiten zu echten Innovationen. Sie schaffen die Voraussetzung für bessere Produkte, die sich deutlich von der Vorgängerversion unterscheiden.

Sicherheit: Unsere standardisierten Technologien bieten unseren Kunden Sicherheit hinsichtlich Interoperabilität und Langzeitschutz der Investition durch ein FRAND (Fair, Reasonable And Non-Discriminatory)-Patentumfeld.

Geschwindigkeit: Kunden erhalten schnellen Zugang zu „implementation-ready“-Technologien.

Qualität: Die Qualität unserer Produkte ist führend in der Welt.

Kooperationen

Teamwork mit unseren Partnern:

Wir entwickeln gemeinsame Technologiestandards mit weltweit operierenden, führenden Unternehmen der Mobilfunk-, Unterhaltungs- und Automobilindustrie (z.B. bei EVS oder MPEG-H). In über 30 Standardisierungsgremien bringen wir uns intensiv ein - sowohl bei der Entwicklung von grundlegenden Technologien (MPEG AAC, 3GPP EVS, JPEG2000, JPEG XS) als auch Anwenderstandards (DVB, ATSC, UHDTV, Bluetooth). Zudem forschen wir in enger Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und vielen weiteren nationalen und internationalen Universitäten, Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen.

Erfahren Sie mehr!

 

Produkt- und Forschungsübersicht Audio und Medientechnologien

Leitthema kognitive Sensorik

Auf diesen Seiten stellen wir Ihnen unser zweites Leitthema kognitive Sensorik vor.