Guiding topic: Cognitive sensor technologies

What drives us

Why we made cognitive sensor technologies a guiding topic for our institute:

For a successful economy: In the context of digital transformation, cognitive sensor technologies are an important foundation for a successful, powerful economy in Germany. We see it as our duty at Fraunhofer IIS to contribute the skills and expertise of our team to the building of these foundations.

Effective combination of know-how and resources: By pooling our expertise and resources, we possess the skills and know-how to bring cognitive sensor technologies to the next level. Pure electronics is no longer enough for companies looking to become world leaders. Our USP lies in how we combine our hardware and software and enrich them with machine learning techniques in such a way that sensors become cognitive and processes are not only connected, but smart.

Environment for innovations: We are convinced that future innovations will be driven by artificial intelligence. With our research and development in the field of cognitive sensors, we are creating the technological environment to make this possible.

Strategic development: We build on our longstanding experience with electronics and sensor systems, which is needed when working on cognitive sensor technologies. On this basis, we are strategically further developing ourselves and our portfolio and helping business along this path.

Lighthouse in Bavaria: Through our research work and collaborations with universities and institutes of technology, we create unique AI expertise in Bavaria.

Our approach

How we develop the topic in terms of strategy and operations:

We have made cognitive sensor technologies as a high strategic priority and are now driving the topic forward. In this regard, we are pursuing a long-term development plan for technologies and know-how across all seven research areas.

In addition, we are collaborating with the best research institutions – for example, as part of our initiatives for the future.

We integrate our partners from the commercial sector into our strategic development and act in close coordination with politics and industry associations in order to advance the local area, Bavaria and Germany.

Our competencies

In our work, we build on our expertise across the entire IoT reference chain:

  • Sensors and circuits
  • Communication technology
  • Data evaluation (analytics)
  • Services and business models

For these fields of application

The following areas of application already benefit from our expertise and developments:

  • Mobility
  • IoT communication
  • Human sensing
  • Product and material monitoring
  • Supply chains

Our USPs

What sets us apart in the area of cognitive sensor technology:

Thanks to the breadth and depth of our skills, and through the possible combinations thereof, we work in a unique research environment for developments in the field of cognitive sensor systems. For instance, we command a wide portfolio of sensor technologies (everything from hardware and firmware to signal processing), which allows us to model the entire IoT development chain. In the application of artificial intelligence, we are building on the talents of some 70 in-house researchers, thereby offering matchless research and development expertise for our customers and partners. We possess excellent know-how in – and access to – the relevant fields of application.

Clear advantages for our customers and partners

How we benefit our customers, partners and society in general:

 

Quality: We offer high-quality support in the development, implementation and use of cognitive sensor technology in various fields of application.

Innovation: Our innovations and constantly improving technologies serve our customers and partners as a springboard for the further development of their products and services.

Access: Frequently, SMEs cannot afford to hire their own AI specialists. Through our Fraunhofer research services, we give these companies access to our expertise in this area.

Specialists: We continuously train and develop experts in the field of cognitive sensors for the scientific and industrial sectors. By virtue of our top-level research, we also increase the attractiveness of our region for specialists in this field.

Collaborations

Promising partnerships:

Besides our internal R&D work, we also conduct research within Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft networks and work in close cooperation with the Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, as well as other universities and institutes of technology. In addition, we are purposefully forging international networks with research partners.

Furthermore, we are developing objectives and implementation models in cooperation with our partners from the commercial sector.

Selected collaborations

 

Campus of the Senses

Human perception gets digital at the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen

 

ADA Center

Analytics, Data and Applications – Plans for a unique research infrastructure to support the Bavarian economy.

Find out more!

 

Guiding topic: Audio and Media Technologies

In these pages, we present our second guiding topic: audio and media technologies

Leitthema kognitive Sensorik

Unser Antrieb

Darum haben wir die kognitive Sensorik zu einem Leitthema unseres Instituts gemacht:

Für eine erfolgreiche Wirtschaft: Im Zuge der digitalen Transformation ist die kognitive Sensorik eine wichtige Grundlage für eine erfolgreiche und schlagkräftige Wirtschaft in Deutschland. Als Fraunhofer IIS verstehen wir es als unseren Auftrag mit unseren Kompetenzen und unserem Team zu diesen Grundlagen beizutragen.

Wirkungsvolle Kombination von Know-how und Ressourcen: Durch Bündelung unserer Expertisen und Ressourcen verfügen wir über die Kompetenz, die es braucht, um die kognitive Sensorik voranzutreiben. Reine Elektronik führt heute nicht mehr zur Weltspitze. Unser Alleinstellungsmerkmal besteht darin, dass wir unsere Hardware und Software so kombinieren und sie mit Verfahren des Maschinenlernens anreichern, dass Sensoren kognitiv und Prozesse nicht nur vernetzt, sondern intelligent werden.

Umfeld für Innovationen: Wir sind überzeugt, dass zukünftige Innovationen über künstliche Intelligenz getrieben werden. Wir schaffen mit unserer Forschung und Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet der kognitiven Sensorik das technologische Umfeld dafür.

Strategische Entwicklung: Wir bauen auf eine jahrelange Beschäftigung mit der Elektronik und Sensorik, die man für kognitive Sensorik braucht. Auf dieser Basis entwickeln wir uns und unser Portfolio strategisch weiter und unterstützen die Wirtschaft auf diesem Weg.

Leuchtturm in Bayern: Durch unsere Forschungsarbeiten und Kooperationen mit Universitäten und Hochschulen schaffen wir eine einzigartige Expertise im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz in Bayern.

Unsere Herangehensweise

So entwickeln wir das Thema strategisch und operativ:

Wir haben das Thema kognitive Sensorik strategisch aufgegriffen und treiben es nun mit hoher Priorität voran. Dabei verfolgen wir einen langfristigen Entwicklungsplan für Technologien und Know-how über alle sieben Forschungsbereiche hinweg.

Darüber hinaus kooperieren wir mit den besten Forschungseinrichtungen – zum Beispiel im Rahmen unserer Zukunftsinitiativen.

Bei unserer strategischen Entwicklung binden wir unsere Partner aus der Wirtschaft mit ein und agieren in enger Abstimmung mit Politik und Verbänden, um die Region, Bayern und Deutschland voranzubringen.

Unsere Kompetenzen

Bei unserer Arbeit bauen wir auf unsere Kompetenzen entlang der kompletten IoT-Referenzkette:

  • Sensoren und Schaltungen
  • Kommunikationstechnologie
  • Datenauswertung (Analytics)
  • Dienstleistungen und Geschäftsmodelle

Für diese Anwendungsgebiete

Folgende Anwendungsbereiche profitieren bereits von unseren Kompetenzen und Entwicklungen:

  • Mobilität
  • IoT-Kommunikation
  • Human Sensing
  • Produkt- und Materialmonitoring
  • Supply Chains

Unsere Alleinstellungsmerkmale

Das zeichnet uns auf dem Gebiet der kognitiven Sensorik aus:

Sowohl durch die Breite als auch durch die Tiefe unserer Kompetenzen und durch die uns möglichen Kombinationen dieser arbeiten wir in einer einmaligen Forschungsumgebung für Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der kognitiven Sensorik. So beherrschen wir zum Beispiel ein breites Portfolio von Sensortechnologien (von Hardware über Firmware bis hin zur Signalverarbeitung) und können damit die komplette IoT-Entwicklungskette abbilden. In der Anwendung von künstlicher Intelligenz bauen wir bereits auf rund 70 Forschende im Haus und bieten so eine einmalige Forschungs- und Entwicklungskompetenz für unsere Kunden und Partner. In den relevanten Anwendungsgebieten kennen wir uns aus und verfügen über sehr gute Zugänge zu diesen.

Klare Vorteile für unsere Kunden und Partner

Das bieten wir zum Nutzen unserer Kunden und Partner und zum Vorteil der Gesellschaft:

Qualität: Wir bieten hochqualitative Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung, Implementierung und dem Einsatz kognitiver Sensorik in verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen.

Innovation: Unsere Innovationen und sich stets verbessernden Technologien dienen unseren Kunden und Partnern als Basis für die weitere Entwicklung ihrer Produkte und Services.

Zugang: Insbesondere kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen können sich häufig keine eigenen Fachkräfte auf dem Gebiet der künstlichen Intelligenz leisten. Diesen Unternehmen ermöglichen wir im Rahmen der Fraunhofer-Forschungsdienstleistungen Zugang zu unserer Expertise auf diesem Gebiet.

Fachkräfte: Wir bilden permanent Expertinnen und Experten auf dem Gebiet der kognitiven Sensorik für die Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft aus und weiter. Durch unsere Spitzenforschung steigern wir zudem die Attraktivität unserer Region für Fachkräfte zu diesem Thema.

Kooperationen

Zukunftsträchtige Partnerschaften:

Neben unserer institutsinternen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit forschen wir vernetzt innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und arbeiten in enger Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und weiteren Universitäten und Hochschulen. Darüber hinaus bahnen wir gezielt internationale Vernetzungen mit Forschungspartnern an.
Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern aus der Wirtschaft entwickeln wir zudem Ziele und Umsetzungsmodelle.

Beispiele für Kooperationen

 

Campus der Sinne

Die menschliche Wahrnehmung wird digital im »Campus der Sinne Erlangen«

 

ADA-Center

Analytics, Daten und Anwendungen – Pläne zu einer einmaligen Forschungsinfrastruktur zur Unterstützung der bayerischen Wirtschaft.

Erfahren Sie mehr!

 

Leitthema Audio und Medientechnologien

Auf diesen Seiten stellen wir Ihnen unser zweites Leitthema Audio und Medientechnologien vor.