GfK EMO Scan Wins 2012 German ­Innovation in Market Research Award

Press Release / 18.7.2012

A joint R&D project conducted by GfK Verein and the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS with support from the University of Geneva has seen the ­development of a piece of innovative software for measuring advertising effectiveness. The software, called EMO Scan, makes it possible to objectively assess study participants‘ emotional responses based on their facial expressions. Using the method requires no special hardware or operator training. The software has won the 2012 German Innovation in ­Market Research Award.

Measuring advertising effectiveness typically involves sub-sequent test person survey. However, this approach can produce spurious results. For instance, a participant may misremember their emotional response or be reluctant to admit to it. EMO Scan eliminates this problem. It can complement classic advertising research methods or, in some contexts, replace them altogether.

EMO Scan means that anyone who has a computer with Internet access and a webcam can participate in market research studies without even leaving their living room. As the participant watches a set of video sequences, EMO Scan automatically analyzes their facial movements to identify particular emotions. For instance, a smile indicates a positive emotional experience, whereas a negative one is often reflected in a frown. The software is able to detect such signals and simultaneously to interpret and measure the participant‘s emotional response to what they are seeing. All of this happens in real time.

The method is based on an enhanced version of the SHORE™ face detection and analysis software developed by the Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen, Germany. To enable identification of positive and negative emotional responses from facial expressions, video streams of each participant are matched to a series of face models showing positive and negative emotions. These face prototypes were created using a database comprising images of thousands of faces. The database contains metadata on each face, specifying how positive or negative its expression is. The face captured by the webcam is compared against face models at pixel level, with attention focused on areas relevant to emotion detection, such as the forehead, eyes and mouth. Optimized algorithms mean all images are processed in real time.

GfK EMO Scan makes it possible to gauge and assess the emotional impact of advertising more quickly and accurately. In addition, it helps researchers avoid causing stress to study participants or invading their privacy. This in turn will increase the willingness of the public to participate in market research studies and so yield a wealth of additional useful data.

GfK EMO Scan gewinnt Innovationspreis der Deutschen Marktforschung 2012

Presseinformation / 18.7.2012

In einem gemeinsamen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt haben der GfK Verein und das Fraunhofer-­Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS mit Unterstützung durch die Universität Genf eine innovative Software zur Werbewirkungsforschung entwickelt: EMO Scan. EMO Scan ermöglicht es, die emotionale Reaktion eines Probanden anhand seines Gesichtsausdrucks objektiv zu bewerten. Dabei sind weder spezielle Hardware noch geschultes Personal erforderlich. Hierfür gab es den Innovationspreis der Deutschen Marktforschung 2012.

Die Forschung über die Wirkung von Werbung setzt in der Regel auf nachträgliche Probandenbefragung. Das kann zu Verzerrungen führen, z. B. wenn Probanden ihre Emotionen nicht zugeben möchten oder sich nicht daran erinnern können. EMO Scan schafft hier Abhilfe und kann die klassischen Methoden der Werbewirkungsforschung ergänzen oder teilweise sogar ersetzen.

Mit einfachen Mitteln ist es somit möglich, im eigenen Wohnzimmer an Marktforschungsstudien teilzunehmen. Dafür braucht es nicht mehr als einen PC mit Internetverbindung und eine Webcam. Während der Proband verschiedene Filmsequenzen betrachtet, analysiert EMO Scan automatisch die Gesichtsbewegungen, durch welche sich Emotionen ausdrücken. Bei positiven emotionalen Erfahrungen lächeln die Probanden, ablehndende Erfahrungen äußern sich hingegen häufig durch Stirnrunzeln und das Zusammenziehen der Augenbrauen. Die Software kann diese Signale erkennen und interpretiert gleichzeitig, wie positiv oder negativ das gerade Erlebte empfunden wird. Das Ganze geschieht in Echtzeit.

Grundlage dieses Verfahrens ist eine Weiterentwicklung der Software SHORE™ zur Gesichtsdetektion und -analyse, entwickelt vom Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen. Um positive und ablehnende Emotionen anhand von Gesichtsausdrücken zu erkennen, wird das Video, das den Probanden zeigt, mit verschiedenen Modellgesichtern für positive und negative Emotionen verglichen. Diese prototypischen Gesichtsmodelle wurden mit Hilfe einer Datenbank mit tausenden Gesichtern erstellt. Die Datenbank enthält Metainformationen zu jedem Gesicht, die aussagen, wie positiv oder negativ der jeweils gezeigte Gesichtsausdruck ist. Der Vergleich des mit der Webcam aufgenommenen Gesichts mit den Gesichtsmodellen erfolgt auf Pixelebene, wobei besonders die für die Emotionsdetektion relevanten Bereiche wie Stirn, Augen und Mund berücksichtigt werden. Algorithmische Optimierungen ermöglichen dieses Vorgehen in Echtzeit.

Durch GfK EMO Scan ist es möglich, schneller und genauer die emotionale Wirkung von Werbung zu messen und auszuwerten, ohne den Probanden zu belasten oder in sein privates Umfeld einzudringen. Dies erhöht die Bereitschaft, an Marktforschung teilzunehmen, und liefert somit eine größere Menge an aussagekräftigen Daten.