Power Generation Using Ambient Vibrations and Temperature Gradients - An Optimized Approach to Energy Harvesting

Press Release / 2.11.2010

Fraunhofer IIS utilizes ambient vibrations and temperature gradients to power electronic devices. The researchers have developed optimized voltage converters and “maximum power point trackers” as the key components of the energy harvesting systems.

The energy harvesting technology uses energy available in the natural environment, like light, motion or heat. To derive electrical energy from thermal gradients, thermoelectric generators convert temperature differences into electrical voltages. The produced voltage depends on the temperature gradient applied. With the voltage converter IC developed by Fraunhofer IIS already minimum temperature differences of 1 to 2 degrees Celsius can be used; like the temperature gradient between human skin and the environment.

In addition to that, forces like ambient vibration or acceleration can be converted into electrical energy using piezoelectric effects. The Fraunhofer voltage converter IC can scavenge electric power from low-frequency ambient vibrations, as they occur in civil engineering structures and buildings.

The new energy harvesting systems power electronic devices like transceivers, sensors and displays with electric energy. First industrial application areas are sensor networks for machine and facility condition monitoring, tire pressure monitoring sensors, wireless light switches and sensors for building automation. Energy harvesting systems can also be employed in medical engineering, logistics and the consumer industries. Fraunhofer IIS offers individual components as well as turnkey or customized systems for system and device integration.

Fraunhofer showcases its latest energy harvesting technologies and energy generation systems using thermal gradients and ambient vibrations at the Munich fair Electronica from November 9 to 12, 2010.

Energiegewinnung aus Vibrationen und Temperaturunterschieden - neuartige Lösungsansätze des Energy Harvesting

Presseinformation / 2.11.2010

Das Fraunhofer IIS nutzt Vibrationen und Temperaturunterschiede, um elektronische Geräte zu versorgen. Als Schlüsselkomponenten dieser neuen sog. »Energy Harvesting Systeme« entwickeln die Forscher optimierte Spannungswandler oder »Maximum Power Point Tracker«.

Die Technologie des Energy Harvesting nutzt Energie aus der Umwelt, wie z. B. Licht, Bewegung oder Wärme. Bei deren Gewinnung aus Temperaturunterschieden werden diese mit Hilfe thermoelektrischer Generatoren in elektrischen Strom umgewandelt. Die dabei erzeugte Spannung ist abhängig von der genutzten Temperaturdifferenz. Mit einem speziellen am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Spannungswandler-Chip können bereits minimale Differenzen von 1 bis 2 Grad Celsius genutzt werden. So etwa Temperaturunterschiede zwischen der menschlichen Haut und der Umgebung.

Darüber hinaus können auch Krafteinwirkungen wie Vibrationen oder Druck durch piezoelektrische Effekte in Energie umgewandelt werden. Dabei kann der Fraunhofer-Spannungswandler- Chip schon minimale Vibrationen zur Stromerzeugung nutzen, wie sie beispielsweise in Gebäuden oder Bauwerken auftreten.

Mit den neuen Energy Harvesting Systemen sollen elektronische Geräte wie z.B. Sendeempfänger, Sensoren und Displays mit Energie gespeist werden. Erste industrielle Anwendungsgebiete sind Sensornetzwerke zur Überwachung von Maschinen und Anlagen (sog. »Condition Monitoring«), Reifendruck-Sensoren, drahtlose Lichtschalter und Sensoren zur Gebäudeautomatisierung. Des Weiteren können die Energy Harvesting Systeme auch in der Medizintechnik, in der Logistik oder im Consumer-Bereich eingesetzt werden. Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Einzelkomponenten sowie fertige oder anpassbare Gesamtsysteme zur System- oder Geräteintegration an.

Die neusten Entwicklungen zu Energy Harvesting und die Systeme zur Energiegewinnung aus Temperaturunterschieden und Vibrationen zeigt das Fraunhofer IIS vom 9. bis 12. November auf der Electronica in München.