Test Center and Test Beds for 5G Technologies

5G Bavaria

5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS
Logo StMWi
© StMWi

Fraunhofer IIS launches 5G Initiative in Bavaria, Germany

 

In the mobile communications world, preparations for the transition from LTE to 5G are in full swing. The new 5G standard is set to offer superior capabilities compared with the mobile technology users are accustomed to today. 5G will also significantly enhance Industry 4.0 and eHealth applications, smart grids and connected driving. As a result, developers from completely new sectors are entering the arena. They now face the challenge of incorporating the latest mobile technology standards into products and applications that are already in the planning, even though mobile technology providers are yet to roll out such technologies in mobile communication networks. This makes the transition from standardization to application complex, especially given that three to four years could elapse between defining new 5G functions and market availability. During this time, it will be difficult to test and develop future-proof communications applications without suitable test facilities and in-depth knowledge from the ongoing 5G standardization process.

»5G Bavaria« - Expert talk with Karin Loidl and Marco Steglich

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

From the virtual world to the real world

 

Fraunhofer IIS’s 5G Bavaria initiative aims to support the transition from research and standardization to application. Companies will have the opportunity to evaluate new functionalities in a fully comprehensive 5G system context. The tools used to achieve this include simulation and emulation in the lab as well as application specific 5G test beds within real mobile communications environments. This will enable companies and users from vertical markets to use and experience 5G and to test and optimize those applications and developments requiring 5G capabilities at an early stage.

The 5G Bavaria Initiative encompasses a test center at Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen and various test beds in Bavaria.

© Fraunhofer IIS

Test center at Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen

The test center at Fraunhofer IIS is an ideal starting point for the implementation of planned 5G applications. This is where simulations of new transmission technologies take place, to determine whether they will stand up to the requirements of the planned applications, for example, or to compare the performance of different technological approaches. A team of experts at Fraunhofer IIS is responsible for developing, maintaining and providing the simulation environments. Some of these environments are cloud-based and can be used anywhere in the world.

If the results of the simulation look promising, the developers have already cleared the first hurdle. The next step is emulation, which involves testing the mobile technologies in real time under the most realistic conditions possible. To this end, special software and hardware is used to recreate real-life transmission scenarios and conditions. Given that the process requires specific laboratory equipment, emulation of new transmission technologies is conducted in the lab at Fraunhofer IIS, supervised by the team of experts.

The upshot is that test center users receive timely feedback on the usability of 5G for their specific application, which then gives them time to work on any further improvements they identify.

Test beds in Bavaria

In addition to the 5G test center, Fraunhofer IIS prepares the setup and operation of an Industry 4.0 test bed in Nürnberg as well as an automotive test bed in Rosenheim. Moreover, a pilot study regarding a satellite test bed will be conducted.

The test beds serve to perform specific customer use cases with 5G technology on a trial basis. This helps to test the possibilities and limits of 5G even before its roll-out is completed. The 5G test environments feature real infrastructure such as highways and production facilities to enable the first 5G applications to be rolled out on a small-scale.

Research organizations, universities and businesses can use the test beds for field tests, and the test beds are also available for use in public research projects.

More information

 

Flyer

5G Bavaria

 

Technologies for 5G

mobile communications and beyond

Testzentrum und Testbeds für 5G-Technologien

5G Bavaria

5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS
Logo StMWi
© StMWi

Fraunhofer IIS startet 5G-Initiative in Bayern

 

Die Mobilfunkwelt bereitet sich derzeit mit Hochdruck auf den Übergang von LTE zu 5G vor. Der neue Standard soll künftig deutlich mehr bieten als man bisher vom Mobilfunk gewohnt ist. Auch Industrie 4.0- und eHealth-Anwendungen, Smart Grids und das vernetzte Fahren erfahren durch 5G einen kräftigen Schub nach vorne. Damit kommen Entwickler aus völlig neuen Branchen ins Spiel, die nun mit der Herausforderung konfrontiert sind, geplante Produkte und Anwendungen auf neuesten Mobilfunktechnologien aufzubauen, die in den Netzen der Mobilfunkanbieter noch nicht implementiert sind. Das macht den Übergang von der Standardisierung in die Anwendung kompliziert, zumal zwischen der Definition neuer 5G-Funktionen und der Marktverfügbarkeit durchaus drei bis vier Jahre liegen können. In dieser Zeit ist das Erproben und Entwickeln zukunftsbeständiger Kommunikationsanwendungen ohne passende Testeinrichtungen und Detailkenntnisse aus der fortlaufenden 5G-Standardisierung nur schwer möglich.

»5G Bavaria« – Experteninterview mit Karin Loidl und Marco Steglich

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Von der virtuellen in die reale Welt

 

Die Initiative »5G Bavaria« des Fraunhofer IIS begleitet den Übergang von der Forschung und Standardisierung in die Anwendung. Sie bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit zur Evaluierung von neuen Funktionalitäten in einem 5G-Gesamtsystemkontext mittels Simulation und Emulation im Labor sowie in realer Mobilfunkumgebung. So wird 5G für Unternehmen und Anwender aus vertikalen Märkten, erfahr- und nutzbar und sie können ihre 5G-bezogenen Anwendungen und Entwicklungen frühzeitig testen und weiterentwickeln.

Die Initiative »5G Bavaria« umfasst im Einzelnen ein Testzentrum am Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen und verschiedene Testbeds in Bayern.

Grafik zur Dartstellung des Konzepts von 5G Bavaria
© Fraunhofer IIS

Testzentrum am Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen

Das Testzentrum am Fraunhofer IIS ist die erste Anlaufstation für die Umsetzung geplanter 5G-Anwendungen. Hier erfolgt die Simulation neuer Übertragungstechnologien: um beispielsweise vorauszusagen, ob sie den Anforderungen der jeweils geplanten Anwendungen entsprechen, oder um die Leistungsfähigkeit unterschiedlicher technologischer Ansätze zu vergleichen. Ein Experten-Team am Fraunhofer IIS kümmert sich um die Entwicklung, Pflege und Bereitstellung der Simulationsumgebungen, die teilweise cloud-basiert und damit ortsunabhängig genutzt werden können.

Zeigt die Simulation vielversprechende Ergebnisse, ist die erste Hürde genommen. Der nächste Schritt ist die Emulation, also das Testen der Funktechnologien in Echtzeit unter möglichst realitätsnahen Bedingungen. Dazu werden reale Übertragungssituationen und -bedingungen durch spezielle Soft- und Hardware nachgebildet. Da hierfür eine spezifische Laborausstattung nötig ist, erfolgt die Emulation neuer Übertragungstechnologien direkt in den Labors des Fraunhofer IIS mit entsprechender Betreuung durch das Experten-Team.

Insgesamt erhalten Anwender im Testzentrum ein schnelles Feedback über die Nutzbarkeit von 5G für ihre Anwendung und können so frühzeitig Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten erarbeiten.

Testbeds in Bayern

Ergänzend zum 5G-Testzentrum bereitet das Fraunhofer IIS den Aufbau und Betrieb eines Industrie-4.0-Testbeds in Nürnberg sowie eines Automotive-Testbeds in Rosenheim vor. Des Weiteren wird eine Pilotstudie in Bezug auf ein 5G-Satelliten-Testbed durchgeführt.

Die Testbeds dienen dazu, konkrete Use Cases der Anwender mit 5G-Technologie zu erproben, um die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von 5G auszutesten – und das bevor 5G flächendeckend verfügbar ist. Die 5G-Testumgebungen beziehen dabei die reale Infrastruktur wie Autobahnen und Industriehallen mit ein, um erste 5G-Anwendungen im kleinen Maßstab zu realisieren.

Die Testbeds können von Forschungseinrichtung, Hochschulen und Unternehmen für Feldversuche genutzt werden. Ebenso stehen sie für die Nutzung im Rahmen öffentlicher Forschungsprojekte zur Verfügung.

Mehr Informationen

 

Flyer

5G Bavaria

 

Technologien für 5G

Mehr als Mobilfunk