Mobile Broadband Communication

Providing high-speed internet anywhere and at any time – that’s the goal of mobile broadband communication. The latest generation of mobile network technology, 5G, combines phone calls and web browsing with additional functionalities and completely new applications.

Developments such as wireless industrial communication, connected mobility and the connectivity of things on a massive scale are transforming mobile communications into a universal network of networks. We develop the components and data transmission technologies that are required to make this happen. We also offer suitable test environments to help smooth the transition from research and standardization into real-life applications.

Technologies for mobile communications

New transmission and network technologies are crucial to 5G and 6G, and the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is playing an active role in their development. To this end, Fraunhofer IIS leverages its extensive expertise in wireless communications and positioning to create solutions tailored to customers’ unique imperatives and for diverse applications.

 

Mobile communications and beyond

5G technologies for mobile broadband, Industry 4.0, connected mobility and satellite communication

 

Indoor mm-wave relay networks for 5G

Shared UE-side distributed antenna system (SUDAS) for improved indoor coverage and vehicular connectivity

 

6G SENTINEL

Fraunhofer lighthouse project for 6G technologies

Test environments for 5G

Various simulation and emulation environments are available at Fraunhofer IIS for detailed system and performance tests in the early stages of 5G application development. In addition, our application-specific testbeds and a mobile campus network offer extensive opportunities to test the performance of 5G live in the application.

 

5G Bavaria

Test center and test beds for
5G technologies

 

Mobile campus network

Standalone 5G network for testing individual use cases directly on site

 

C-V2XSim

5G Bavaria simulation platform
for Cellular V2X

Transmitter and receiver components for software defined radio systems

In communication applications, transmission quality is strongly dependent on how well the individual components perform. The weakest link in the signal chain determines the quality of the transmission. To increase the reliability of wireless communication and achieve higher data rates, Fraunhofer IIS is continuously enhancing transmitter and receiver components for software defined radio systems.

High-speed data
converters

Designing prototyping boards for analog-to-digital and digital-to-analog converters

Mobile Breitbandkommunikation

Schnelles Internet, immer und überall – die mobile Breitbandkommunikation macht es möglich. Mit der neuesten Mobilfunkgeneration 5G kommen zum Telefonieren und Surfen weitere Funktionen und Einsatzbereiche hinzu.

Durch die massive Vernetzung von Dingen, drahtlose Industriekommunikation und vernetzte Mobilität wächst der Mobilfunk zum universellen Netz der Netze. Wir entwickeln die Komponenten und Übertragungstechnologien, die dafür nötig sind und bieten passende Testumgebungen, um den Übergang von der Forschung und Standardisierung in die Anwendung zu begleiten.

Technologien für Mobilfunk

5G und 6G erfordern neue Übertragungs- und Netzkonzepte, an deren Entwicklung auch das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS beteiligt ist. Das Fraunhofer IIS nutzt dabei sein umfassendes Know-how im Bereich der drahtlosen Kommunikation und Lokalisierung, um den Herausforderungen mit kundenindividuellen und maßgeschneiderten Lösungen zu begegnen und diese für vielfältige Anwendungsbereiche nutzbar zu machen.

 

5G – mehr als Mobilfunk

5G-Technologien für die mobile Breitbandkommunikation, Industrie 4.0, vernetzte Mobilität und Satellitenkommunikation

 

Indoor mm-Wellen-Relaisnetzwerke für 5G

Verbesserte Abdeckung und Konnektivität im Innenraum durch SUDAS (Shared UE-side Distributed Antenna System)

 

6G SENTINEL

Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt für 6G-Technologien

Testumgebungen für 5G

Für detaillierte System- und Leistungstests in frühen Stadien der 5G-Anwendungsentwicklung stehen am Fraunhofer IIS verschiedene Simulations- und Emulationsumgebungen bereit. Darüber hinaus bieten unsere anwendungsspezifischen Testbeds sowie ein mobiles Campusnetz umfangreiche Möglichkeiten, die Performance von 5G live in der Anwendung zu testen.

 

5G Bavaria

Testzentrum und Testbeds für 5G-Technologien

 

Mobiles Campusnetz

Eigenständiges 5G-Netz zum Testen individueller Use Cases direkt vor Ort

 

C-V2XSim

5G-Bavaria-Simulationsplattform
für Cellular-V2X

Sende- und Empfangsteile für Software-Defined-Radio-Systeme

Bei Kommunikationsanwendungen ist die Übertragungsqualität stark von der Leistungsfähigkeit der verwendeten Einzelkomponenten abhängig. Das schwächste Glied in der Signalkette entscheidet über die Qualität der Übertragung. Um die Zuverlässigkeit drahtloser Kommunikation zu steigern und immer höhere Datenraten zu erreichen, entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS Sende- und Empfangskomponenten von Software-Defined-Radio-Systemen kontinuierlich weiter.

Highspeed-
Datenwandler

Entwurf von Prototyping Boards für Analog-Digital- und Digital-Analog-Wandler