Key visual C-V2XSim
© Fraunhofer IIS

Simulation Platform for Cellular V2X

C-V2XSim

Reliable tool for the simulation of V2X use cases in 5G networks

As the automotive market is shifting towards connected and automated vehicles, there is an increasing need for reliable connectivity. This is where cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X), the communication standard for automotive connectivity in 4G and 5G mobile networks, comes into play. C-V2X enables vehicles to connect with other vehicles, pedestrians, roadside equipment and the Internet.

With C-V2X becoming established as a key technology for future cellular networks, an even greater need arises to simulate and evaluate the capabilities of the developed 3GPP standards in realistic traffic scenarios and under various network conditions. For this purpose, we are developing C-V2XSim – a new and reliable simulation platform for C-V2X use cases in 5G networks.

 

The first module of the platform is a simulator based on vehicle-to-network (V2N) communication, e.g., for remote driving.

 

Vehicle-to-network (V2N) communication for remote driving

C-V2X offers a vehicle-to-network (V2N) mode that relies on traditional cellular links over base stations to connect vehicles to the Internet, which is essential for use cases like remote driving.

While autonomous vehicles could revolutionize mobility and transportation, their safety is still a widely debated issue. To address this concern, remote driving seeks to improve the safety of connected mobility by allowing a human driver at a remote location to take control over an autonomous vehicle whenever it encounters high-risk situations. However, remote driving imposes high demands on the communication network. In particular, it calls for broad coverage, high data throughput, quality of service guarantees and low latencies, so that remote drivers can react efficiently to current road conditions.

To provide such insights into the network performance, we are currently working on the development of a new and reliable simulation tool for remote driving use cases in 5G networks.

 

What is
unique about
our simulator?

Most reliable
simulation results

 

Thanks to a combination of the best simulation frameworks put together and verified by our standardization and communication network experts, users get realistic and reliable simulation results.

For instance, C-V2XSim uses a more precise 5G physical layer abstraction model than any other currently available open source tool, which guarantees a more accurate performance assessment on the application layer.

Network performance heat map

 

There are places in every city where network coverage is not sufficient to transfer video data at a quality that would allow a remote driver to safely control vehicle movements.

That is why, C-V2XSim tracks the performance of the network across the area of the simulated scenario. The collected data is used to generate a geographical heat map of packet loss within the network. This allows the identification of coverage and performance bottlenecks, which have to be considered when planning real-life test drives or complete network architectures.

5G QoS model

 

C-V2XSim builds upon an implemented 5G quality of service (QoS) management (3GPP TS 23.501) that controls and influences the whole data plane traffic and the message flow of each application according to its priority.

Simulating remote driving scenarios – how it works

The simulation platform can be run within any web browser. It provides an interface where the user can choose the parameters of the simulations and run as many as needed. The results appear on a dashboard that contains graphs on key performance indicators (KPIs). Among others, those include reliability, achieved delay, jitter and packet loss. Once the simulations are finished, a comprehensive report is prepared automatically for download. The final report comes along with a simulation overview, scenario descriptions and KPI plots that provide a comprehensive summary of the 5G performance for one or several simulation runs.

Options for defining your remote driving scenario

Easy use case parametrization

  • Traffic parameters:
    up to 600 vehicles moving in the cell
  • Cellular network parameters:
    e.g. frequency band and carrier bandwidth
  • Use case specific parameters:
    e.g. size of data packets sent in uplink and downlink as well as QoS requirements

Detailed traffic
configuration

  • Human and remote driving cars
  • Acceleration and deceleration, breaking reaction and inter-vehicle distances
  • Pedestrian traffic
  • Traffic light control and prioritization of traffic directions
  • Different types of vehicles, like buses, taxis, cars and trucks

Selectable deployment scenarios

  • Urban scenario:
    driving on main streets, with roundabouts and complex crossings
  • High-speed scenario:
    driving on high ways
  • Rural scenario:
    driving on country roads
5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS
C-V2XSim is part of the 5G Bavaria initiative.

 

 

More information

 

5G Bavaria test center

Connected 5G technologies and applications

 

5G Bavaria automotive test bed

Connected driving

 

Connected mobility – vehicle communication

Communication technologies for future mobility networks

Key Visual C-V2XSim
© Fraunhofer IIS

Simulationsplattform für Cellular-V2X

C-V2XSim

Zuverlässiges Tool zur Simulation von V2X-Anwendungen in 5G-Netzen

Vernetzte und automatisierte Fahrzeuge sind auf dem Vormarsch – zuverlässige Konnektivitätslösungen werden damit immer wichtiger. Hier kommt der Kommunikationsstandard C-V2X (Cellular Vehicle-to-Everything) für die Fahrzeugvernetzung in 4G- und 5G-Mobilfunknetzen ins Spiel: Dank C-V2X können sich Fahrzeuge untereinander, aber auch mit Fußgängern, der Verkehrsinfrastruktur und dem Internet verbinden.

Mit der Etablierung von C-V2X als Schlüsseltechnologie künftiger Mobilfunknetze wird es immer wichtiger, die Leistungsfähigkeit der entwickelten 3GPP-Standards in realistischen Verkehrsszenarien und unter verschiedenen Netzbedingungen simulieren und bewerten zu können. Dafür entwickeln wir C-V2XSim – eine neue, zuverlässige Simulationsplattform für C-V2X-Anwendungen in 5G-Netzen.

 

Das erste Modul der Plattform ist ein Simulator auf Basis einer V2N-Kommunikation (Vehicle-to-Network), beispielsweise für die Fernsteuerung von Fahrzeugen (Remote Driving).

Vehicle-to-Network-Kommunikation für Remote Driving

 

Mithilfe herkömmlicher Funkverbindungen über Basisstationen vernetzt C-V2X im V2N-Modus Fahrzeuge mit dem Internet, wodurch Anwendungen wie Remote Driving erst möglich werden.

Autonome Fahrzeuge werden die Mobilität und das Transportwesen völlig revolutionieren, ihre Sicherheit ist daher von ausschlaggebender Bedeutung. Um die vernetzte Mobilität sicherer zu gestalten, sollen autonome Fahrzeuge deshalb beim Remote Driving in Hochrisikosituationen von menschlicher Hand ferngesteuert werden können. Die Fernsteuerung von Fahrzeugen stellt jedoch hohe Netzanforderungen: Besonders wichtig sind eine großräumige Abdeckung, ein hoher Datendurchsatz, garantierte Servicequalität (Quality of Service, QoS) und geringe Latenzen, sodass der Steuernde auch aus der Ferne effektiv auf die jeweiligen Straßenverhältnisse reagieren kann.

Für solche detaillierten Einblicke in die Netz-Performance entwickeln wir derzeit ein neues, zuverlässiges Simulationstool für Remote-Driving-Szenarien in 5G-Netzen.

 

 

 

Das macht
unseren Simulator
einzigartig:

Zuverlässigste
Simulationsergebnisse

 

Durch die Kombination der besten Simulationsumgebungen, zusammengestellt und validiert von unseren Experten für Standardisierung und Kommunikationsnetze, erhalten Nutzer realistische und zuverlässige Simulationsergebnisse.

So verwendet C-V2XSim ein präziseres Abstraktionsmodell der physikalischen Schicht von 5G als andere aktuell verfügbare Open-Source-Tools und gewährleistet dadurch eine genauere Performance auf der Anwendungsschicht.

Heatmap für die Netz-Performance

 

In jeder Stadt gibt es Orte mit unzureichender Netzabdeckung, sodass bei der Übertragung von Videos nicht die nötige Datenqualität zur sicheren Fernsteuerung von Fahrzeugen erreicht werden kann.

Deshalb überwacht C-V2XSim die Netz-Performance im gesamten Simulationsgebiet. Mit den gesammelten Daten wird eine geografische Heatmap erstellt, die sichtbar macht, wo innerhalb des Netzes Paketverluste auftreten. So lassen sich Schwachstellen bei Abdeckung und Leistungsfähigkeit ermitteln, die in der Praxis bei der Planung von Testfahrten oder kompletten Netzarchitekturen berücksichtigt werden müssen.

5G-QoS-Modell

 

Grundlage von C-V2XSim ist ein implementiertes 5G-Quality-of-Service-Modell (3GPP TS 23.501), das den gesamten Traffic auf der Datenebene sowie den Nachrichtenfluss jeder Anwendung je nach Priorität steuern und beeinflussen kann.

Simulation von Remote-Driving-Szenarien: So geht‘s

Die Simulationsplattform läuft in jedem Webbrowser und ermöglicht Anwendern, über eine Benutzeroberfläche die Simulationsparameter zu definieren und beliebig viele Simulationsläufe durchzuführen. Die Ergebnisse erscheinen auf einem Dashboard, das die Leistungskennzahlen (KPIs), wie zum Beispiel Zuverlässigkeit, Latenz, Jitter und Paketverluste, visualisiert. Nach Beendigung der Simulationen steht ein umfangreicher und automatisch generierter Bericht zum Download bereit. Der Bericht enthält einen Überblick über die Simulation, Szenario-Beschreibungen sowie Diagramme zu den einzelnen Leistungskennzahlen und bietet damit eine detaillierte Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse aus einem oder verschiedenen Simulationsdurchläufen.

Definieren Sie Ihre Remote-Driving-Szenarien selbst

Einfache Parametrisierung der Use Cases

  • Verkehrsparameter:
    bis zu 600 Fahrzeuge in einer Funkzelle
  • Mobilfunknetz-Parameter:
    z. B. Frequenzband und Bandbreite
  • Anwendungsspezifische Parameter:
    z. B. Größe der Datenpakete im Uplink und Downlink sowie QoS-Anforderungen

Detaillierte
Verkehrskonfiguration

  • Direkt vom Menschen und ferngesteuerte Fahrzeuge
  • Beschleunigung und Verlangsamung, Bremsvorgänge und Fahrzeugabstände
  • Fußgängerverkehr
  • Ampelsteuerung und Priorisierung von Verkehrsflüssen
  • Verschiedene Fahrzeugtypen (Busse, Taxis, Autos, LKWs usw.)

Verfügbare
Umgebungsszenarien

  • Städtisches Fahrszenario:
    Fahrten auf Hauptstraßen, mit Kreisverkehren und komplexen Kreuzungen
  • Autobahn-Szenario:
    Fahrten mit hohen Geschwindigkeiten
  • Ländliches Fahrszenario:
    Fahrten auf Landstraßen
5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS
C-V2XSim ist Teil der Initiative »5G Bavaria«.

 

 

Mehr Informationen

 

Testzentrum
»5G Bavaria«

Vernetzte 5G-Technologien und Anwendungen

 

5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Automotive«

Vernetztes Fahren

 

Vernetzte Mobilität – Fahrzeugkommunikation

Kommunikationstechnologien für die vernetzte Verkehrszukunft