Communication Technologies for Future Mobility Networks

Connected Mobility – Vehicle Communication

With its future strategy BAYERN DIGITAL, the Bavarian government wants to transform the state into a pilot region for the digital age. Within the project "Connected Mobility - Vehicle Communication", Fraunhofer IIS is focusing on the development of innovative transmission concepts in cooperation with the Zentrum Digitalisierung.Bayern (ZD.B), a coordination center for the state’s digitization programmes.

The goal of the project is to research and develop leading-edge technologies for the intelligent networking of vehicles, using both car-to-car and car-to-environment scenarios, to enable the implementation of intelligent traffic management systems and autonomous driving. The focus is on efficient mobility: less traffic congestion, increased safety and optimal information provisioning, anywhere and at any time, and thus a higher degree of comfort and streamlined mobility for all traffic participants.

The required underlying technology is based on transmission technologies that provide full-coverage, reliable broadband provisioning for the mobile user, plus intelligent antennas and broadband automotive networks. Fraunhofer IIS is working within the project to further expand the underlying technology through innovative data transmission technologies with the aim of closing the existing gaps in the transmission chain. The research activities are focused on improving communication between the various data sources and processing platforms. The following key issues are being addressed:

  • Hybrid network technologies: merging of different wireless technologies and standards to what the user perceives as a transparent communication channel
  • Broadband provisioning for the mobile user: enhancement of communication standards and technologies in order to address the growing demand for mobile data
  • Broadband automotive E/E system concepts: high-speed connectivity for fast and efficient distribution of data in the vehicle
  • New services and applications: development of initial prototypes for testing and optimization of the new technologies

The new technologies will enable the automobile industry, infrastructure operators and service/application providers to design vehicles and traffic concepts for the future.

Illustration of intelligent networking of vehicles
© Fraunhofer IIS

Fraunhofer IIS develops innovative data transmission technologies that enable the intelligent networking of vehicles.

Intelligent connectivity

The vehicles of the future will communicate continuously with the environment and react independently when danger situations arise. The key to this development is the intelligent networking of vehicles, which are permanently connected to the Internet, with other vehicles, the surrounding environment

 

and satellites via a high-performance air interface.To prevent this vision from turning into a mere future scenario, we are already deeply involved in the automobile ecosystem of tomorrow. We develop the underlying transmission technologies for various application scenarios and supply data transmission and distribution solutions.

 

 

Optimization of the data transmission technologies is achieved by developing reliable wireless and broadcast connections that support the mobile communication applications. To ensure ideal distribution of the data in the vehicle, we create high-speed bus systems for broadband automotive networks.

 

Flyer

Navigation antennas for automotive applications

Pinpoint accuracy

Kommunikationstechnologien für die vernetzte Verkehrszukunft

Vernetzte Mobilität – Fahrzeugkommunikation

Mit der Zukunftsstrategie BAYERN DIGITAL treibt der Freistaat Bayern die Entwicklung Bayerns zur Pilotregion für das digitale Zeitalter voran. Das Fraunhofer IIS konzentriert sich innerhalb des Projekts „Vernetzte Mobilität – Fahrzeugkommunikation“ auf die Entwicklung neuartiger Übertragungskonzepte und kooperiert mit dem Zentrum Digitalisierung.Bayern.

Ziel des Projekts ist die Erforschung und Entwicklung von zukunftsweisenden Technologien für die intelligente Vernetzung von Fahrzeugen – untereinander und mit ihrer Umwelt. Intelligente Verkehrssteuerung und autonomes Fahren sollen dadurch realisiert werden. Im Mittelpunkt steht die effiziente Mobilität: weniger Staus, mehr Sicherheit und beste Informationsversorgung überall und jederzeit sorgen für erhöhten Komfort und vereinfachen die Fortbewegung der Verkehrsteilnehmer.

Die notwendige technologische Basis bilden Übertragungstechnologien für eine flächendeckend zuverlässige Breitbandversorgung mobiler Nutzer, intelligente Antennen und breitbandige Bordnetze. Das Fraunhofer IIS arbeitet im Rahmen des Projekts daran, diese Basis durch neuartige Datenübertragungstechnologien weiter auszubauen, um momentan noch vorhandene Lücken in der Übertragungskette zu schließen. Die Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Verbesserung der Kommunikation zwischen verschiedenen Datenquellen und Datenverarbeitungsplattformen. Folgende Leitthemen werden dabei adressiert:

  • Hybride Vernetzungstechnologie: Zusammenführen verschiedener Funktechnologien und -standards zu einem aus Nutzersicht transparenten Kommunikationskanal
  • Breitbandversorgung mobiler Nutzer: Weiterentwicklung von Kommunikationsstandards und -technologien, um dem wachsenden Bedarf an mobil verfügbarer Datenrate zu begegnen
  • Breitbandige Fahrzeug-Bordnetzkonzepte: Vernetzung mit hohen Datenraten, um Informationen im Fahrzeug schnell und effizient auf die verschiedenen Steuergeräte zu verteilen
  • Erschließung neuer Dienste und Anwendungen: Entwicklung erster Prototypen zur Erprobung und Optimierung der entwickelten Technologien

Die entwickelten Technologien ermöglichen der Automobilindustrie, Infrastrukturbetreibern sowie Dienst- und Applikationsanbietern, Fahrzeuge und Verkehrskonzepte der Zukunft zu gestalten.

© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt neuartige Datenübertragungstechnologien zur intelligenten Vernetzung von Fahrzeugen.

Intelligente Vernetzung

Fahrzeuge der Zukunft kommunizieren ununterbrochen mit der Umwelt und reagieren selbständig auf Gefahren. Der Schlüssel dazu ist die intelligente Vernetzung von Fahrzeugen, die über eine leistungsstarke Luftschnittstelle permanent mit dem Internet, anderen Autos, der Umgebung und Satelliten verbunden sind.

 

Damit dies kein Zukunftsszenario bleibt, beschäftigen wir uns schon heute intensiv mit dem automobilen Ökosystem von morgen.Wir entwickeln die übertragungstechnische Basis für unterschiedliche Anwendungsszenarien und bieten Lösungen rund um die Datenübertragung und -verteilung.

 

Die Optimierung der Datenübertragung erreichen wir mit der Entwicklung zuverlässiger Mobilfunk- und Rundfunkverbindungen für die mobile Kommunikation. Für die bestmögliche Datenverteilung im Fahrzeug arbeiten wir an Hochgeschwindigkeits-Bus-Systemen für breitbandige Fahrzeugbordnetze.

Mehr Informationen

 

Flyer

Technologien für autonomes Fahren

 

Flyer

Navigationsantennen für Automotive-Anwendungen

Hochpräzise und punktgenau