5G Bavaria Automotive Test Bed

Connected driving

The 5G Bavaria automotive test bed provides the infrastructure for testing the latest 5G functionalities in real traffic environments. With the properties it offers, the 5G mobile communications standard is the ideal basis for connecting vehicles and traffic infrastructure, where flexible and fast, real-time capable data transmission is key. Thus, 5G paves the way for optimized traffic concepts that enable vehicles to communicate independently with their environment, recognize dangerous situations and be intelligently integrated into the traffic flow.

5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS
Logo StMWi
© StMWi

Testing connected automotive applications with 5G

The automotive test bed will permit testing of various mobility applications in realistic conditions using the latest 5G mobile technology:

Connected car scenarios

When cars are connected to the Internet, they can be equipped with a whole host of additional functions. Measuring packet loss rates and other performance characteristics directly in the context of the application provides a way to test service quality and user experience.

Automated driving

Evaluating the quality of data connections between the vehicle and the network and between vehicles themselves in real road traffic conditions is a key aspect of developing use cases for automated driving. The quality indicators recorded in the automotive test bed can be used in the development of applications for remote driving or platooning (connecting trucks in a convoy).

Machine learning approaches

Exploring machine learning approaches for predicting and improving reception quality makes it possible to improve the security and reliability of vehicle communication and positioning, e.g. for early accident detection.

High-throughput scenarios

Testing the use of special transmission methods for temporary, high data throughput provides insight into how such “data showers” can be used for vehicle updates or other applications.

Other mobility scenarios: remote drones (example)

Remote drones can be deployed for monitoring and optimizing traffic. Testing in this field is required to determine the extent to which the mobile communications infrastructure can be improved to enable drones to fly beyond-line-of-sight (BLOS) under the safest conditions.

Testing opportunities accelerate product development

The test bed is available for companies, research institutions and universities to use, with Fraunhofer IIS providing consulting and testing services based on its expertise in communications technology and 5G.

With the 5G Bavaria automotive test bed, stakeholders can develop and test new applications or next-generation mobile technology components and prepare them for large-scale production in a controlled, reproducible and confidential environment. It can be used both for testing transmission technology and for evaluating specific transmitter and receiver components:

Transmission technology

The focus here is on the air interface of the 5G standard and the telecommunications aspects of vehicle communication. This includes validation and improvement of channel models and the determination of specific performance indicators such as latency, reliability and throughput.

Transmitter and receiver components in the vehicle

Even as prototypes, transmitter and receiver components can be tested under real conditions. Of interest here are investigations into the optimum positioning of antennas (installation location, number and geometry) in relation to the frequencies used. It is also possible to determine the influence that (massive) MIMO technologies have on reception quality, data throughput and potential driving speeds.

Features of the 5G Bavaria automotive test bed

 

The 5G Bavaria automotive test bed is currently being set up along an existing network of roads in and around the Bavarian town of Rosenheim.

Traffic icon

Traffic infrastructure

  • Heterogeneous traffic network: A8 highway, section of the B15 main road, rural and urban roads and a section of railway
  • Measuring vehicle with high-quality equipment
Mobile communications icon

5G communications infrastructure

  • Closed 5G network with multiple antenna sites
  • 4G/5G connectivity including Cellular V2X (C-V2X)
  • Equipment for local multi-access edge computing (MEC)
  • Extensive network monitoring options
  • Independent test SIM cards available for simultaneous operation of several modems
  • Option of roaming on other networks

 

Availability and use

The 5G Bavaria automotive test bed is due to open in late 2020. If you are interested in using it to test specific applications, we would be happy to help you start planning and preparing your test scenarios today.

More information about 5G Bavaria

 

5G Bavaria initiative

Test center and test beds for 5G technologies

 

5G Bavaria test center

Connected 5G technologies and applications

 

5G Bavaria Industry 4.0 test bed

Connected manufacturing

5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Automotive«

Vernetztes Fahren

Das 5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Automotive« ist eine Testinfrastruktur zur Erprobung neuester 5G-Funktionalitäten in realer Verkehrsumgebung. Der Mobilfunkstandard 5G bietet aufgrund seiner Eigenschaften die beste Voraussetzung für die Vernetzung zwischen Fahrzeugen und Verkehrsinfrastruktur. Denn hier kommt es besonders auf flexible und schnelle, echtzeitfähige Datenübertragungswege an. 5G ebnet so den Weg für optimierte Verkehrskonzepte, in denen Fahrzeuge selbstständig mit ihrer Umwelt kommunizieren, Gefahrensituationen erkennen und sich intelligent in den Verkehrsfluss integrieren.

5G Bavaria Logo
© Fraunhofer IIS
Logo StMWi
© StMWi

Vernetzte Automotive-Anwendungen mit 5G testen

Künftig können im Testbed »Automotive« unterschiedliche Mobilitätsanwendungen mit neuester 5G-Mobilfunktechnik unter realistischen Bedingungen praxisnah erprobt werden:

Connected-Car-Szenarien

Durch die Verbindung zum Internet können Autos mit einer Vielfalt an Zusatzfunktionen ausgestatten werden. Mithilfe der Messung von Paketverlustraten und anderer Leistungsmerkmalen direkt im Anwendungskontext, lassen sich entsprechende Untersuchungen zur Servicequalität und zum Nutzererleben durchführen.

Automatisiertes Fahren

Bei der Entwicklung von Anwendungsszenarien rund um das automatisierte Fahren, ist es entscheidend, die Qualität der Datenverbindungen zwischen Fahrzeug und Funknetz sowie direkt zwischen Fahrzeugen im realen Straßenverkehr zu evaluieren. Die im Testbed »Automotive« erfassten Qualitätsindikatoren können bei der Entwicklung von Anwendungen zum Steuern von Fahrzeugen aus der Ferne (Remote Driving) oder für die Vernetzung von LKWs in einem Konvoi (Platooning) verwendet werden.

Machine-Learning-Ansätze

Die Untersuchung von Machine-Learning-Ansätzen zur Vorhersage und Verbesserung der Empfangsqualität ermöglicht es, die Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit von Fahrzeugkommunikation und -lokalisierung zu erhöhen, zum Beispiel zur frühzeitigen Unfallerkennung.

High-Throughput-Szenarien

Untersuchungen zum Einsatz spezieller Übertragungsverfahren für einen temporären, hohen Datendurchsatz geben Aufschluss darüber, wie solche »Datenduschen« für Fahrzeug-Updates oder weitere Anwendungen genutzt werden können.

Sonstige Mobilitätsszenarien: Beispiel Remote-Drohnen

Remote-Drohnen können zur Verkehrsüberwachung und -optimierung eingesetzt werden. Hier sind Untersuchungen nötig, inwieweit die Mobilfunkinfrastruktur so verbessert werden kann, dass der Einsatz von Drohnen, die außerhalb der Sichtweite (beyond-line-of-sight, BLOS) fliegen, unter sichersten Bedingungen möglich ist.

Testmöglichkeiten beschleunigen die Produktentwicklung

Das Angebot zur Testbednutzung richtet sich an Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Hochschulen. Dabei steht das Fraunhofer IIS mit seiner Expertise für Kommunikationstechnologien und 5G beratend und testausführend zur Seite.

Das 5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Automotive« bietet die Möglichkeit, in einer kontrollierten, reproduzierbaren und zugleich vertraulichen Umgebung neue Anwendungen oder Komponenten der nächsten Mobilfunkgeneration zu entwickeln, zu testen und für die Serienproduktion vorzubereiten. Es kann sowohl für das Erproben von Übertragungstechnik als auch für die Evaluierung spezifischer Sende- und Empfangskomponenten genutzt werden:

Übertragungstechnik

Hier steht die Luftschnittstelle des 5G-Standards im Fokus. Untersucht werden primär nachrichtentechnische Fragestellungen der Fahrzeugkommunikation, wie die Validierung und Verbesserung von Kanalmodellen und die Ermittlung spezifischer Leistungskennzahlen wie Latenz, Zuverlässigkeit und Durchsatz.

Sende- und Empfangskomponenten im Fahrzeug

Bereits im Prototypenstadium können Sende- und Empfangskomponenten im realen Einsatz getestet werden. Von Interesse sind hierbei Untersuchungen zur optimalen Positionierung von Antennen (Einbauort, Anzahl und Geometrie) in Abhängigkeit der genutzten Frequenzen. Zudem kann der Einfluss von (Massive)-MIMO-Technologien auf die Empfangsqualität und den Datendurchsatz sowie mögliche Fahrgeschwindigkeiten ermittelt werden.

Ausstattung des 5G-Bavaria-Testbeds »Automotive«

 

Derzeit befindet sich das 5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Automotive« im Aufbau. Es entsteht entlang eines bestehenden Straßennetzes in und um Rosenheim.

Icon Verkehr

Verkehrsinfrastruktur

  • Heterogenes Verkehrsnetz: Autobahn A8, Bundesstraßenabschnitt B15, Straßen im ländlichen und städtischen Bereich und ein Bahnstreckenabschnitt
  • Hochwertig ausgestattetes Messfahrzeug
Icon Mobilfunk

5G-Kommunikationsinfrastruktur

  • Abgeschlossenes 5G-Netz mit mehreren Antennenstandorten
  • 4G/5G-Konnektivität inklusive Cellular V2X (C-V2X)
  • Ausstattung für lokales Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC)
  • Umfangreiche Möglichkeiten zum Monitoren des Netzes
  • Verfügbarkeit unabhängiger Test-SIM-Karten für den gleichzeitigen Betrieb mehrerer Modems
  • Option für Roaming in andere Netze

 

Verfügbarkeit und Nutzung

Die Eröffnung des 5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Automotive« ist für Mitte 2021 geplant. Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, das Testbed zur Erprobung bestimmter Anwendungen zu nutzen, beraten wir Sie gerne schon heute bei der Planung und Vorbereitung Ihrer Testszenarien.

Mehr Informationen zu 5G Bavaria

 

Initiative »5G Bavaria«

Testzentrum und Testbeds für 5G-Technologien

 

Testzentrum
»5G Bavaria«

Vernetzte 5G-Technologien und Anwendungen

 

5G-Bavaria-Testbed »Industrie 4.0«

Vernetzte Produktion

 

C-V2XSim

5G-Bavaria-Simulationsplattform
für Cellular-V2X