Direct 5G Satellite Connectivity

5G Satellite Integration

5G is giving the convergence of terrestrial and satellite-based networks a major boost. For the first time, the concept of non-terrestrial networks (NTN) is systematically taking satellite integration into account in the standardization of a new mobile communications standard. This is good for both sides: not only does it mean terrestrial cellular networks can count on satellite support to overcome any range limitations, it also gives the satellite industry the opportunity to expand its range of services far beyond the provision of satellite TV and Internet.

The traditional method, backhaul, involves using satellites to connect cellular base stations on the ground. Satellite backhaul is what connects base stations in remote areas to the cellular network, if necessary without any further infrastructure. By serving as connection points between cellular base stations on the ground, satellites establish a global communications network that can play a major part in the rapid rollout of 5G connectivity worldwide. This type of connectivity is already well established, but always requires that both the satellites and users’ devices have a stable connection to a cellular base station.

New ways to connect – 5G direct access via satellite

At Fraunhofer IIS, we go one step further and focus on developing technologies for direct communication between satellites and users’ devices as a way to combine terrestrial and satellite-based communication systems.

These newer concepts for integrating satellites into 5G terrestrial infrastructure are based on direct connectivity between satellites and 5G-enabled user equipment (UE). These devices then have satellite-based access to the 5G network at all times – even when there is no base station nearby. In the future, this will mean that smartphones or vehicles can establish a connection either via a cellular base station or directly via satellite, depending on the reception situation. Network architectures are also possible in which the satellite itself, either fully or partially, serves as the base station (gNB).

Why 5G direct satellite access?

For certain applications, a direct connection between satellites and receivers offers particular benefits:

Worldwide
connectivity

Guarantees reception anywhere for fixed VSAT modems or mobile users and IoT devices – even in the world’s most remote regions.

Seamless reception for mobile applications

Offers reliable transmission of updates and warnings to vehicles or continuous transmission of IoT sensor data.

Efficient broadcast
function

Relieves terrestrial infrastructure (data offloading) by transmitting media content and software updates via satellite to many mobile devices simultaneously.

Icon LEO satellite constellation
© Fraunhofer IIS

 

Especially in combination with various satellite operators’ recently launched or planned constellations, comprising a large number of smaller satellites in low earth orbit (LEO), the integration of satellites into the 5G network offers great opportunities for reliable and global cellular coverage without any gaps.

How we are driving 5G satellite integration

Technology development and consulting

 

 

We develop and test the latest approaches to integrating terrestrial and satellite-based communication. On this basis, we would be happy to advise you on all questions relating to satellite communications and 5G.

Our offer includes consulting services related to 5G standardization as well as feasibility studies and the development of system-specific integration concepts.

Simulation
and analysis

 

 

Learn how your satellite system can benefit from 5G NR (New Radio): To determine the performance of 5G NR direct access via satellite, we offer link- and system-level simulations for established and new systems.

We have simulation tools available that allow a quick and detailed analysis of all important performance parameters.

Prototyping
and demonstration

 

 

To validate the performance of 5G NR via satellite in actual transmission, we use the OpenAirInterface (OAI) prototyping platform.

This enables us to implement new features from the ongoing standardization process at an early stage and to try them out in live tests. Our laboratories also have the necessary equipment to realistically reproduce various channel characteristics in satellite transmission.

 

From the lab

5G Direct Access:
Real-time implementation on OpenAirInterface (OAI)

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Current research projects

  • ALIX – Support to Standardisation of Satellite 5G Component

    The ALIX project supports the active participation in the 3GPP standardization process to define the 5G satellite component and its interfaces with other networks. The European Space Agency (ESA) funds this project under the ESA ARTES program.

    Fraunhofer IIS contributes actively to the 5G New Radio standardization in the working groups RAN1 (physical layer), RAN2 (radio access protocol stack) and RAN3 (radio access architecture).

  • 5G-ALLSTAR – 5G AgiLe and fLexible integration of SaTellite And cellulaR

    The 5G-ALLSTAR project aims at demonstrating multiple access comprising terrestrial and satellite links, which are key to ensure the availability of 5G performances and worldwide continuity of services especially to support critical applications. The project receives funding from the European Union Horizon 2020 EU-Korea program and is supported by the Institute for Information & communications Technology Promotion (IITP) grant funded by the Korea government.

    Fraunhofer IIS provides the key components for the 5G transmission over GEO satellites: 5G-enabled prototypes of the base station (gNB) and the static end device (UE), both based on OpenAirInterface.

  • 5G METEORS – ESA MakerSpace for 5G and satellite communication

    5G METEORS, funded by the European Space Agency (ESA), addresses a broad range of challenges in the 5G and satellite convergence and integration domain, specifically for the direct usage of 5G New Radio over satellites. The program funds several smaller activities comprising the implementation and demonstration of 5G direct access over satellites.

    Despite of the technical support for the coordination of the 5G METEORS program, Fraunhofer IIS develops in the 5G-EmuSat subproject the necessary adaptations of 5G New Radio for 5G direct access over LEO satellites in the OpenAirInterface based gNB and UE.

  • 5G-AUTOSAT – Concept for a satellite-capable 5G communication module for automotive

    The objective of the 5G-AUTOSAT project is the development of a conceptual design for a 3GPP-confrom 5G communication module that can be used in automotive applications. The module should be able to provide connectivity via communication satellites as well as over terrestrial 5G base stations. The project is part of the INNOspace initiative of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi).

    Fraunhofer IIS provides the key components for the 5G transmission over GEO satellites: 5G-enabled prototypes of the base station (gNB) and the mobile end device (UE), both based on OpenAirInterface.

Further information

 

5G – mobile communications and beyond

5G technologies for mobile broadband, Industry 4.0, connected mobility and satellite communication

 

Consulting for 5G technologies

Benefit from our 5G skill-set

Direkte 5G-Satellitenkonnektivität#

Satellitenintegration in 5G

Das Zusammenwachsen terrestrischer und satellitenbasierte Netze erhält durch 5G gerade einen deutlichen Schub nach vorne. Unter dem Stichwort »Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN)« wird erstmals die Integration von Satelliten bereits bei der Standardisierung eines neuen Mobilfunkstandards konsequent mitberücksichtigt. Davon profitieren beide Seiten: Während terrestrische Mobilfunknetze durch die Unterstützung von Satelliten jegliche Einschränkungen in der Reichweite überwinden, bietet sich für die Satellitenindustrie die Chance, das Angebot an Services weit über die Versorgung mit Satellitenfernsehen und -internet hinaus auszuweiten.

Der klassische Weg führt über den Einsatz von Satelliten zur Vernetzung von Mobilfunkbasisstationen am Boden (Backhaul). Durch Satelliten-Backhaul werden Basisstationen in entlegenen Gebieten gegebenenfalls auch ohne weitere Infrastruktur ans Mobilfunknetz angebunden. Die Satelliten dienen so als Verbindungspunkte zwischen den Mobilfunkbasisstationen am Boden, spannen ein weltweites Kommunikationsnetz auf und können damit einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu einem schnellen Roll-out weltweit verfügbarer 5G-Konnektivität leisten. Diese Art der Vernetzung ist bereits etabliert, setzt aber immer voraus, dass sowohl die Satelliten als auch die Endgeräte der Nutzer eine stabile Verbindung zu einer Mobilfunkbasisstation haben.

Neue Wege der Vernetzung – 5G Direct Access über Satellit#

Am Fraunhofer IIS gehen wir einen Schritt weiter und widmen uns gezielt der Entwicklung von Technologien für eine direkte Kommunikation zwischen Satelliten und Endgeräten, um terrestrische und satellitenbasierte Kommunikationssysteme zusammenzuführen.

Diese neueren Konzepte zur Integration von Satelliten in die terrestrische 5G-Infrastruktur basieren auf einer unmittelbaren Konnektivität zwischen Satelliten und 5G-fähigem User Equipment (UE). Entsprechende Endgeräte haben dann jederzeit satellitenbasierten Zugriff auf das 5G-Netz – selbst dann, wenn gerade keine Basisstation in der Nähe ist. Smartphones oder Fahrzeuge sind so zukünftig in der Lage, die Verbindung je nach Empfangslage über eine Mobilfunkbasisstation oder direkt über Satellit aufzubauen. Es sind auch Netzarchitekturen möglich, in denen der Satellit selbst, entweder vollständig oder teilweise, als Basisstation (gNB) dient.

Warum 5G Direct Satellite Access?#

Für einige Anwendungen bietet eine direkte Verbindung zwischen Satelliten und Empfangsgeräten besondere Vorteile:

Weltweite
Konnektivität

Empfang überall für festinstallierte VSAT-Modems oder mobile User und IoT-Devices – auch in den entlegensten Regionen der Welt.

Nahtloser Empfang bei mobilen Anwendungen

Zuverlässige Übermittlung von Updates und Warnmeldungen an Fahrzeuge oder durchgängig mögliche Übertragung von IoT-Sensordaten.

Effiziente Broadcast-Funktion

Entlastung der terrestrischen Infrastruktur (Data-Offloading) durch Übertragung von Medieninhalten und Software-Updates per Satellit an viele mobile Endgeräte gleichzeitig.

Icon mit LEO-Satelliten-Konstellation
© Fraunhofer IIS

 

Gerade im Zusammenspiel mit aktuell neu gestarteten oder geplanten LEO-Konstellationen verschiedener Satellitenbetreiber, bestehend aus einer großen Anzahl kleinerer Satelliten in niedriger Umlaufbahn (LEO = Low Earth Orbit), bietet die Integration von Satelliten in das 5G-Netz große Chancen für eine zuverlässige und globale Mobilfunkabdeckung ohne weiße Flecken.

So treiben wir die Satellitenintegration in 5G voran#

Technologieentwicklung und Beratung

 

 

Wir entwickeln und erproben neueste Ansätze zur Integration terrestrischer und satellitenbasierten Kommunikation. Auf dieser Basis beraten wir Sie gerne zu allen Fragen rund um die Themen Satellitenkommunikation und 5G.

Unser Angebot umfasst dabei Beratungsleistungen mit Bezug zur 5G-Standardisierung genauso wie Machbarkeitsstudien und die Entwicklung systemspezifischer Integrationskonzepte.

Simulation
und Analyse

 

 

Erfahren Sie, wie Ihr Satellitensystem von 5G NR (New Radio) profitieren kann: Zur Ermittlung der Leistungsfähigkeit von 5G NR Direct Access über Satellit bieten wir Link- und System-Level-Simulationen für bereits bestehende und neue Systeme an.

Dafür stehen Simulationstools zur Verfügung, die eine schnelle und detaillierte Analyse aller wichtigen Leistungsparameter ermöglichen.

Prototyping
und Demonstration

 

 

Um die Leistungsfähigkeit von 5G NR über Satellit auch in der tatsächlichen Übertragung zu validieren, setzten wir die Prototyping-Plattform »OpenAirInterface (OAI)« ein.

Damit können wir neue Features aus der laufenden Standardisierung frühzeitig implementieren und in Live-Tests erproben. Unsere Labors verfügen ergänzend über die entsprechende Ausstattung, um verschiedenste Kanaleigenschaften in der Satellitenübertragung realitätsgetreu nachzubilden.

 

Aus dem Labor

5G Direct Access:
Echtzeit-Implementierung auf Basis von »OpenAirInterface«#

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte#

  • #

    5G-ALLSTAR – 5G AgiLe and fLexible integration of SaTellite And cellulaR#

    Im Projekt »5G-ALLSTAR« dreht sich alles um die Demonstration des Mehrfachzugriffs auf 5G sowohl mittels terrestrischer als auch satellitenbasierter Verbindungen. Das Zusammenspiel beider Übertragungswege sorgt für eine flächendeckende Verfügbarkeit von 5G und sichert insbesondere bei kritischen Anwendungen eine ununterbrochene Servicequalität. Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des Programms Horizon 2020 EU-Korea der Europäischen Union gefördert und vom koreanischen Institute for Information & communications Technology Promotion (IITP) unterstützt.

    Das Fraunhofer IIS liefert hier die beiden Schlüsselkomponenten zur 5G-Übertragung über GEO-Satelliten: einen 5G-fähigen Prototypen der Basisstation (gNB) und des Endgerätes (UE), beide basierend auf OpenAirInterface.

  • #

    5G-GOA – 5G-fähige Bodensegmenttechnologien und Over-the-Air-Demonstrator via GEO-Satellit#

    Ziel des Projekts »5G-GOA« ist die Entwicklung und Implementierung notwendiger Adaptionen von 5G New Radio parallel zur Standardisierung von 5G NTN in 3GPP, um einen direkten Funkzugang terrestrischer Kommunikationsnetze über Satellit zu ermöglichen. Das Projekt wird von der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA gefördert.

    Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt dabei neue Softwarekomponenten zur Umsetzung 5G-fähiger Prototypen der Basisstation (gNB) und der mobilen Endgeräte (UE), beide basierend auf OpenAirInterface.

  • #

    5G METEORS – ESA MakerSpace für 5G und Satellitenkommunikation#

    5G METEORS, gefördert durch die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA, adressiert ein breites Spektrum an Herausforderungen, die sich aus der Konvergenz und Integration von 5G und Satellitenkommunikation ergeben, insbesondere für die direkte Anwendung von 5G New Radio über Satelliten. Das 5G-METEORS-Programm fördert verschiedene kleinere Aktivitäten zur Implementierung und Demonstration von 5G-Technologie über Satelliten.

    Das Fraunhofer IIS unterstützt die technische Koordination des 5G-METEORS-Programms und entwickelt darüber hinaus im Unterprojekt »5G-EmuSat« die notwendigen Adaptionen von 5G New Radio in der OpenAirInterface-basierten Basisstation und dem Endgerät zum Betrieb über LEO-Satelliten.

  • #

    ALIX – Beiträge zur Standardisierung der Satellitenkomponente in 5G#

    ALIX fördert die aktive Beteiligung am 3GPP-Standardisierungsprozess, um die Definition der Satellitenkomponente in 5G und ihrer Schnittstellen zu anderen Netzen voranzutreiben. Das Projekt wird von der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA im Rahmen des Programms ESA ARTES gefördert.

    Das Fraunhofer IIS trägt hier aktiv zur 5G New Radio Standardisierung in den Arbeitsgruppen RAN1 (Physical Layer), RAN2 (Radio-Access-Protokollschichten) und RAN3 (Radio-Access-Architektur) bei.

Mehr Informationen#

5G – mehr als Mobilfunk

5G-Technologien für die mobile Breitbandkommunikation, Industrie 4.0, vernetzte Mobilität und Satellitenkommunikation

Consulting für
5G-Technologien

Profitieren Sie von unserem 5G-Wissen