Six-G Enablers:

Flexible Networks, THz Technology and Integration, Non-Terrestrial Networks, SidElink, and Localization

Fraunhofer lighthouse project for 6G technologies

In the 6G SENTINEL project, the five participating Fraunhofer Institutes are developing key technologies for the impending 6G mobile communications standard. To this end, they are working on further improving the data rates, availability, accuracy, service quality and reliability of mobile communications. 6G SENTINEL aims not only to push existing 5G technologies further, but also to develop brand new approaches that will help applications such as virtual reality, digital twins and autonomous driving achieve a genuine breakthrough with 6G. The top priorities are to exploit terahertz frequencies and develop technology for more flexible networks, in particular by incorporating satellites and flying platforms.

6G SENTINEL pools technology expertise to deliver systems know-how in 6G

6G SENTINEL is targeting improvements to device antennas and front-end modules. It also seeks to optimize transmission technologies in the radio access network (RAN) and increase the flexibility of the core network. This means the project will help further develop all relevant components of a mobile communications network.

The participating institutes bring to the project complementary expertise from the fields of radio access networks, localization, core networks, semiconductor technologies for THz communication and electronics packaging. This creates a unique conjunction of application know-how, technology expertise for individual aspects of a 6G network and overall systems expertise.

Faster, more precise, more reliable and universally available

New answers are needed to master rapidly increasing performance requirements. 6G SENTINEL is meeting the most urgent challenges of mobile communications with practical routes to effective solutions.

Terahertz technologies for ultra-high data rates

Mobile communications in the terahertz range offer great potential for vastly increasing data rates on account of the high bandwidth available.

 

Contribution of 6G SENTINEL to exploitation of terahertz frequency spectrum:

  • Comprehensive characterization of radio transmission at THz frequencies through measurements in indoor and outdoor scenarios, development of suitable channel models and creation of realistic simulation environments
  • Hardware development for THz transmission modules with integrated patch antennas / on-chip arrays and beam steering
  • Development of waveforms and algorithms for THz transmission, including intelligent optimization techniques for sidelinks to establish direct communication links between devices
  • Demonstration of a THz transmission path as proof of concept

Flexible networks for unlimited 6G availability

To improve the availability of mobile communications, flexible networks are essential: While AI-based network management can optimize use of the spectrum in a dynamic and demand-based fashion, the integration of satellites and flying platforms holds out the opportunity of expanding mobile communications coverage to an unlimited degree.

 

Contribution of 6G SENTINEL to increased flexibility of networks:

  • Implementation of flexible core network software modules for multi-access, dynamic and AI-based network management, mesh networks, heterogeneous backhauls and campus networks
  • Channel modeling and simulation for non-terrestrial networks (mobile communications networks based on satellites and flying platforms), including system-level simulation, which enables comprehensive testing of the integration of heterogeneous radio technologies

Fully integrated localization in 6G networks for greater accuracy

Using new localization approaches, information about the radio channel can be used to an increasingly systematic extent in order to improve the accuracy of positioning and enhance the user experience as well as precision in certain industrial and logistical applications.

 

Contribution of 6G SENTINEL to improved localization in 6G networks:

  • System-level simulation for localization with AI-based optimization and core network components
  • Development and demonstration of a localization technique with THz signals, taking into account the particular propagation characteristics and new antenna designs

Optimized 6G architecture for best service quality and reliability

A 6G system architecture conceived as an integral whole and based on a flexible network and open interfaces creates the conditions for equipping various communication applications with the requisite level of service quality and reliability in each case.

 

Contribution of 6G SENTINEL to creation of an integral 6G architecture:

  • Development of an open and modular 6G architecture, in which the integration of heterogeneous access networks and the native incorporation of the localization function are taken into account
  • Conceptual design of major subcomponents of a 6G network and definition of interfaces and interactions between components

Fraunhofer lighthouse project "6G SENTINEL"

Key enablers for the future of mobile communications

Presentation of the 6G SENTINEL project at the Tech Days 2021

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Six-G Enablers:#

Flexible Networks, THz Technology and Integration, Non-Terrestrial Networks, SidElink, and Localization

Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt für 6G-Technologien

Im Projekt 6G SENTINEL entwickeln die fünf beteiligten Fraunhofer-Institute Schlüsseltechnologien für den kommenden 6G-Mobilfunkstandard. Sie arbeiten damit an der weiteren Verbesserung von Datenraten, Verfügbarkeit, Genauigkeit, Servicequalität und Zuverlässigkeit des Mobilfunks. Um Anwendungen wie Virtual Reality, digitalen Zwillingen oder dem autonomen Fahren mit 6G zu einem wirklichen Durchbruch verhelfen zu können, stehen neben der konsequenten Weiterentwicklung bestehender 5G-Technologien auch völlig neue Ansätze im Fokus von 6G SENTINEL. Vorderste Ziele sind die Erschließung von Terahertz-Frequenzen und die Technologieentwicklung für flexiblere Netze, insbesondere durch die Einbeziehung von Satelliten und fliegenden Plattformen.

6G SENTINEL bündelt Technologie-Expertise zu Systemkompetenz in 6G#

© Fraunhofer IIS

6G SENTINEL nimmt Verbesserungen an den Antennen und Front-End-Modulen von Endgeräten genauso in den Blick wie die Optimierung von Übertragungstechnologien im Funkzugangsnetz (RAN) und die Flexibilisierung des Kernnetzes. Das Projekt leistet damit Beiträge zur Weiterentwicklung aller relevanten Komponenten eines Mobilfunknetzes.

Die beteiligten Institute bringen dabei komplementäre Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen Funkzugangsnetze, Lokalisierung, Kernnetz, Halbleitertechnologien für THz-Kommunikation sowie Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik in das Projekt ein. Somit entsteht eine einzigartige Verbindung aus Anwendungs-Know-how, Technologiekompetenz für Einzelaspekte eines 6G-Netzes und Gesamtsystemkompetenz.

Schneller, genauer, zuverlässiger und überall verfügbar#

Um sprunghaft ansteigende Performance-Anforderungen zu meistern, sind neue Antworten gefragt. 6G SENTINEL begegnet den brennendsten Herausforderungen des Mobilfunks mit effektiven Lösungswegen.

#

Terahertz-Technologien für ultrahohe Datenraten#

Die mobile Kommunikation im Terahertz-Bereich bietet aufgrund der hohen zur Verfügung stehenden Bandbreite ein großer Potenzial zur extremen Steigerung von Datenraten.

 

Beitrag von 6G SENTINEL zur Erschließung des Terahertz-Frequenzspektrums:

  • Umfassende Charakterisierung der Funkübertragung bei THz-Frequenzen durch Messungen in Indoor- und Outdoor-Szenarien, die Entwicklung geeigneter Kanalmodelle und den Aufbau realistischer Simulationsumgebungen
  • Hardware-Entwicklung für THz-Sendemodule mit integrierten Patch-Antennen/On-Chip-Arrays und Strahlschwenkung
  • Entwicklung von Wellenformen und Algorithmen für die THz-Übertragung, inkl. intelligenter Optimierungsverfahren für Sidelinks zur Realisierung direkter Kommunikationsverbindungen zwischen Endgeräten
  • Demonstration einer THz-Übertragungsstrecke als Proof-of-Concept

#

Flexible Netze für grenzenlose 6G-Verfügbarkeit#

Zur Verbesserung der Mobilfunkverfügbarkeit sind flexible Netze essenziell: Während eine auf künstlicher Intelligenz beruhende Netzverwaltung die Nutzung des Spektrums dynamisch und bedarfsorientiert optimieren kann, birgt die Integration von Satelliten und fliegenden Plattformen die Chance, die Mobilfunkabdeckung grenzenlos auszubauen.

 

Beitrag von 6G SENTINEL zur Flexibilisierung der Netze:

  • Implementierung flexibler Kernnetz-Softwaremodule für Multi-Access, dynamische und KI-basierte Netzverwaltung, vermaschte Netzwerke, heterogene Backhauls und Campusnetze
  • Kanalmodellierung und Simulation für Non-Terrestrial Networks (auf Satelliten und fliegenden Plattformen basierende Mobilfunknetze), inkl. System-Level-Simulation, mit der die Integration heterogener Funktechnologien umfassend erprobt werden kann

#

Vollintegrierte Lokalisierung in 6G-Netzen für mehr Genauigkeit#

Mithilfe neuer Lokalisierungsansätze können Informationen über den Funkkanal immer konsequenter genutzt werden, um die Genauigkeit der Positionsbestimmung und damit das Nutzererlebnis und die Präzision in bestimmten Industrie- und Logistikanwendungen zu verbessern.

 

Beitrag von 6G SENTINEL zur verbesserten Lokalisierung in 6G-Netzen:

  • Lokalisierungsbezogene System-Level-Simulation mit KI-basierter Optimierung und Kernnetzkomponenten
  • Entwicklung und Demonstration eines Lokalisierungsverfahrens mit THz-Signalen unter Berücksichtigung der besonderen Ausbreitungseigenschaften und neuer Antennenbauformen

#

Optimierte 6G-Architektur für beste Servicequalität und Zuverlässigkeit#

Eine ganzheitlich gedachte 6G-Systemarchitektur basierend auf einem flexiblem Kernnetz und offenen Schnittstellen schafft die Voraussetzung dafür, verschiedene Kommunikationsanwendungen mit dem jeweils erforderlichen Maß an Servicequalität und Zuverlässigkeit auszustatten.

 

Beitrag von 6G SENTINEL zur Schaffung einer ganzheitlichen 6G-Architektur:

  • Entwicklung einer offenen und modularen 6G-Architektur, in der die Integration heterogener Zugangsnetze und die native Einbindung der Lokalisierungsfunktion Beachtung finden
  • Konzeptionierung wesentlicher Teilkomponenten eines 6G-Netzes und Definition von Schnittstellen und Interaktionen der Komponenten

Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt
»6G SENTINEL«

Key Enablers für die Zukunft des Mobilfunks

Vorstellung des Projekts »6G SENTINEL« bei den Tech Days 2021

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube