Validating wearables in basketball

The validation of commercial wearables allows optimum monitoring of training and game performance for players in the National Basketball Association (NBA).

Validating wearables in basketball

At a glance

Optimum monitoring of sports training and game performance can only be achieved with the help of wearables that do their job perfectly. These devices are worn on the body in order to collect biometric data, such as the wearer’s pulse. Fraunhofer IIS is responsible for the validation of physiological signs, such as heart rate measurements or electromyography, and indications of movement, such as measurements of speed, distance, or jump height. The different technologies are validated during professionally planned test days involving athletes, highly automated technical test and evaluation procedures, and careful scientific evaluation of the results. In addition, the safety of the systems and their components is then tested by the project partner, the University of Michigan.

Challenges

The validation of commercial systems for sports presents several challenges that can be overcome thanks to the necessary expertise and the local facilities vailable to Fraunhofer IIS:

  • When recording athletes’ data, it is essential to consider not only the human component during testing but also ethical regulations. This challenge is easily overcome thanks to the Fraunhofer team’s many years of experience and their constructive approach to collaboration.
  • Through their professional and meticulous work at every stage of the test procedure, from planning to execution, the Fraunhofer team are able to ensure that the methods of measuring deliver a completely fair and consistent evaluation of different system providers. This also calls for the application of a double verification principle during the analysis of measurement data.
  • A smooth process also requires a test environment that is suitable for sports applications, with appropriate integrated measurement and testing systems. The Test and Application Center L.I.N.K. at Fraunhofer IIS is ideally suited to this purpose.

Measuring and testing systems in operation

A range of measurement and testing systems are used for the validation, some of which are already available at Fraunhofer IIS:

  • Qualisys motion capture system in one of the largest tracking areas in Europe (approx. 20 x 30 meters)
  • Nikon iGPS laser tracking for technical tests
  • Vibration table for testing IMU-based “wearables”
  • 3D positioning system for repeatable tests throughout the tracking volume
  • Autonomous Segway platform for recording numerous repetitions of sport-like movements

What we offer

Fraunhofer IIS has built up many years of expertise in the field of tracking systems, as well as in the development of wearables and the analysis of (sports) data, and can therefore offer a wide range of services for a variety of sports. You can find examples of previous projects here.

Wearable-Validierung im Basketball

Die Validierung kommerzieller Wearables ermöglicht eine optimale Trainings- und Spielkontrolle der Sportler in der NBA (National Basketball Association).

Wearable-Validierung im Basketball

Auf einen Blick

Eine optimale Trainings- und Spielkontrolle beim Sport kann nur durch einwandfrei funktionierende Wearables gelingen. Wearables sind am Körper getragene Messsysteme beispielsweise für biometrische Daten wie Puls. Das Fraunhofer IIS übernimmt hierfür die Validierung in den Bereichen Physiological, wie Herzratenmessung oder Elektromyografie, und Movement, wie Messung der Geschwindigkeit, Distanz oder der Sprunghöhe. Die Validierung verschiedener Technologien geschieht mittels professionell geplanten Testtagen mit Athleten, hochautomatisierten technischen Test- und Auswerteverfahren, sowie wissenschaftlicher Sorgfalt bei der Auswertung der Ergebnisse. Zusätzlich werden die Systeme und ihre Komponenten vom Projektpartner, der Universität Michigan, auf ihre Sicherheit getestet.

Herausforderungen

Die Validierung kommerzieller Systeme für den Sport weist einige Herausforderungen auf, die mit dem nötigen Know-how, sowie den örtlichen Begebenheiten des Fraunhofer IIS gelöst werden können:

  • Bei Datenaufzeichnungen mit Athleten sind sowohl die menschliche Komponente während der Tests, als auch ethische Regularien zu berücksichtigen. Durch die langjährige Erfahrung und die gute Zusammenarbeit des Fraunhofer Teams wird diese Herausforderung spielend gemeistert.
  • Die absolut faire und konsistente Bewertung verschiedener Systemanbieter durch die Messverfahren konnte durch professionelle und akribische Arbeit in jeder Phase des Testablaufs, von der Planung, über die Ausführung, sowie eines Vier-Augen-Prinzips bei der Analyse der Messdaten sichergestellt werden.
  • Ein reibungsloser Ablauf erfordert außerdem eine für Sportanwendungen geeignete Testumgebung mit passenden integrierten Mess- und Prüfsystemen. Am Fraunhofer IIS eignet sich hierfür bestens das Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K.

Mess- und Prüfsysteme im Einsatz

Für die Validierung werden verschiedene Mess- und Prüfsysteme genutzt, welche zum Teil bereits in die Räumlichkeiten des Fraunhofer IIS integriert sind:

  • Qualisys Motion Capture System in einem der größten Trackingbereich Europas (ca. 20x30 Meter)
  • Nikon iGPS Lasertracking für technische Tests
  • Vibrationstisch zum Test von IMU basierten „Wearables“
  • 3D-Positioniersystem für wiederholbare Tests im ganzen Trackingvolumen
  • Autonome Segway Plattform zur Erfassung vieler Wiederholungen sportähnlicher Bewegungen

Angebot

Das über viele Jahre aufgebaute Know-how im Bereich Trackingsysteme, sowie bei der Entwicklung von Wearables und der Auswertung von (Sport-)Daten befähigt das Fraunhofer IIS ein vielfältiges Angebot an Leistungen für verschiedenste Sportarten zu bieten. Beispiele über bereits durchgeführte Projekte finden Sie hier.