© Jan Braun - HNF

Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum#

Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum Paderborn

Multimedia Tours of a Computer Museum#

It is fitting that the world's largest computer museum, the Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum (HNF) in Paderborn, offers a multimedia guide that incorporates awiloc®. Utilizing this positioning technology developed by Fraunhofer IIS, Antenna International equipped the museum with a multimedia guide that is in a class of its own. Handheld devices running awiloc® continuously locate themselves and guide visitors by displaying relevant photos – an innovation that does away with the need to key in exhibit numbers and, in a preliminary trial, was welcomed by visitors as very helpful.

The devices used are modern smartphones; they provide supplementary content which both educates and entertains. After all, there is much to be discovered in the HNF about 5000 years of information technology, from clay tablets inscribed with ancient glyphs to cell phones that were larger than a shoe box.

 

High precision

A carefully designed Wi-Fi infrastructure is necessary for the multimedia guide to reliably identify floors and rooms and collect high-resolution positioning data in the vicinity of exhibits. In the HNF, directional antennas provide very high resolution for specific areas, where positions are determined with an accuracy of 1.5 meters, with no interconnected Wi-Fi infrastructure required.

Fraunhofer's awiloc® technology is also used in numerous other museums, e.g. the Haus der Geschichte Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart and Nuremberg's Museum für Industriekultur, as well as by many application developers. Further museum projects are in preparation in London, Munich, Vienna and other cities.

"With our multimedia guide, we aim to present information in an up-to-date format while also giving our visitors the opportunity to take an entertaining tour of the museum."
Dr. Kurt Beiersdörfer, Managing Director, HNF

The multimedia guide shortlisted for the coveted International Museums & Heritage Awards for Excellence 2013.

Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum

Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum Paderborn

Multimedial durch das Computermuseum

Der multimediale Museums-Guide fehlt natürlich nicht im größten Computermuseum der Welt, dem Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum in Paderborn. Unter Nutzung der Lokalisierungstechnologie des Fraunhofer IIS realisierte dort die Firma Antenna International einen Multimedia-Guide der Extraklasse. Dieser ortet sich selbst und weist den Besuchern mithilfe von Fotos auf dem Bildschirm den Weg; eine Innovation, die die Eingabe von Nummern an den Stationen erübrigt und in ersten Tests von den Besuchern als sehr angenehm bewertet wurde.

Das Gerät ist ein modernes Smartphone, das sowohl informiert als auch unterhaltsame Hintergründe aufzeigt. Denn von den ersten Schriftzeichen auf antiken Tontafeln bis zu Mobiltelefonen, die noch in keinen Schuhkarton passten: Im Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum gibt es viel zu entdecken aus 5.000 Jahren Geschichte der Informationstechnik.

 

Hohe Genauigkeit

Eine sichere Etagenauflösung, die sichere Raumerkennung und präzise Auflösung am Exponat erfordern bereits bei der Planung der WLAN-Infrastruktur ein sorgfältiges Vorgehen. So bieten im Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum Richtantennen die Möglichkeit, einzelne Bereiche sehr genau aufzulösen. Die Lokalisierung ist dort bis auf 1,5 Meter genau und benötigt dabei keine vernetzte WLAN-Infrastruktur.

Zahlreiche weitere Museen und Applikationsentwickler setzen ebenfalls auf die Fraunhofer-Technologie. Nach erfolgreicher Implentierung unserer Lokalisierunglösung im Haus der Geschichte in Baden-Württemberg oder dem Museum für Industriekultur in Nürnberg sind weitere Museumsprojekte in Städten wie London, München oder Wien bereits in Vorbereitung.

"Mit dem Multimedia-Guide möchten wir den Besuchern eine zeitgemäße Form der Information bieten und ihnen gleichzeitig eine kurzweilige Tour durch das Museum ermöglichen."
HNF-Geschäftsführer Dr. Kurt Beiersdörfer

Der Multimedia-Guide wurde für den International Museums & Heritage Awards for Excellence 2013 nominiert.