Indoor location: easy - safe - accurate!

awiloc® in museum

awiloc® 3D-LOCALIZATION FOR MULTIMEDIA-GUIDES

Handy pocket size, easy to use: Multimedia guides with awiloc® location give your museum visit a completely new quality. They offer the visitor exactly the additional content he or she desires - and that as directly and uncomplicatedly as if he or she had his or her own personal guide. This sets new standards in the experience of art, culture, technology and history.

Museums and application developers in Germany and abroad rely on awiloc®, the WLAN-based positioning technology from Fraunhofer IIS. Conventional localization systems such as GPS reach their limits indoors. Here awiloc® is the perfect complement. The localization is accurate down to a few meters and does not require a networked WLAN infrastructure, just plug in the WLAN transmitter.

Offer location-based additional information

Visitors want to deal with objects in a location-specific way and experience the stories, people and aspects behind them in a multi-layered and comfortable way. This is why many museums already use multimedia guides. It is often difficult to integrate a navigation or positioning function into a multimedia guide. Established GPS systems reach their limits in buildings because the signal is shielded. To ensure that navigation and location-based information do not end at the building door, a localization technology that also works indoors is required, especially in the museum environment.


Simple installation, easy integration

awiloc® is device independent and runs on popular smartphones, tablets and wearables. The position calculation is carried out independently on the mobile device. This means that there is no data communication for position determination with a central server. The big advantage: awiloc® is tested according to data protection laws. In addition, no own infrastructure is required, as existing wireless radio networks such as WLAN or Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) are used. The mobile terminals measure the signal strengths of the transmitters and determine their position to within a few meters.

awiloc® advantages for the museum

awiloc® advantages for the museum visitor

Data protection checked

High localization accuracy down to a few meters

No data communication, no networked infrastructure necessary
Information according to your own interest, suitable for your own location

Very easy operation: no number search, no key operation

Handy format of the devices

Joint implementation with multimedia guide manufacturers

Since the first implementation of a multimedia guide with awiloc® in the Nuremberg Museum of Industrial Culture in 2010, renowned multimedia guide manufacturers have already realized more than 20 applications together with Fraunhofer IIS.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

References - Multimediaguides with awiloc®

PADERBORN

Heinz Nixdorf Museums Forum

Since 2012, the world's largest computer museum has been using awiloc® localization. The company Antenna International realized a multimedia guide in a class of its own. The device is a modern smartphone that provides information as well as entertaining backgrounds.

NUREMBERG

NS Documentation Centre

"multimedia tours in eight languages"

Bremen

Focke-Museum

"a very personal visit to the museum."

DALLAS

Perot Museum

NOUS Wissensmanagement GmbH has implemented an extensive multimedia project with Argumented Reality features at the Perot Museum of Nature and Science in Dallas in 2013. The own location is displayed on a 3D plan by means of awiloc® localization.

MUNICH

State Museum of Egyptian Art

With a total of eight different exhibition tours, NOUS Wissensmanagement GmbH and awiloc® take adults and children back to the time of the pharaohs.

GREENWICH

National Maritime Museum

"exciting events in seafaring history."

STUTTGART

House of History Baden-Wuerttemberg

The media guide was realized in 2012 by Die InformationsGesellschaft mbH. The device is controlled via awiloc®. At the beginning of each exhibition section, the Mediaguide presents the room image and the visitor decides which background offers he wants to call up.

NUREMBERG

Museum Industrial Culture

"individual museum tour"

NUERMBERG

Nuremberg Perimeter Prisons

"Precise positioning - quadrilingual - barrier-free"

Indoor Ortung: einfach - sicher - genau!

awiloc® im Museum

awiloc® 3D-LOKALISIERUNG FÜR MULTIMEDIA-GUIDES

Handliches Taschenformat, kinderleichte Bedienung: Multimediaguides mit awiloc®-Ortung geben dem Museumsbesuch eine ganz neue Qualität. Sie bieten dem Besucher genau die Zusatzinhalte, die er sich wünscht – und das so direkt und unkompliziert, als hätte er seinen ganz persönlichen Guide. Das setzt neue Maßstäbe im Erleben von Kunst, Kultur, Technik und Geschichte.

In Deutschland und International setzen immer mehr Museen und Applikationsentwickler auf awiloc®, die WLAN-basierte Lokalisierungstechnologie des Fraunhofer IIS. Herkömmliche Lokalisierungssysteme wie z.B. GPS stoßen in Innenräumen an ihre Grenzen. Hier stellt awiloc® die perfekte Ergänzung dar. Die Lokalisierung ist bis auf wenige Meter genau und benötigt keine vernetzte WLAN Infrastruktur, WLAN-Sender einstecken genügt.

Standortbasiert Zusatzinformationen bieten

Die Besucher möchten sich standortgenau mit Objekten auseinandersetzen und die Geschichten, Personen und Aspekte dahinter vielschichtig und komfortabel erleben. Deshalb nutzen bereits viele Museen Multimedia-Guides. Die Integration einer Navigations- oder Ortungsfunktion in einen Multimedia-Guide ist oftmals nur schwer zu realisieren. Etablierte GPS-Systeme stoßen in Gebäuden an ihre Grenzen, da das Signal abgeschirmt wird. Damit Navigation und standortbasierte Information nicht an der Gebäudetür enden, ist insbesondere im Museumsumfeld eine Lokalisierungstechnologie notwendig, die auch lndoor funktioniert.

Einfache Installation, leichte Integration

awiloc® ist endgeräteunabhängig und läuft auf gängigen Smartphones, Tablets und Wearables. Die Positionsberechnung erfolgt autark auf dem mobilen Endgerät. Das bedeutet, es findet keine Datenkommunikation für die Positionsermittlung mit einem zentralen Server statt. Der große Vorteil dabei: awiloc® ist datenschutzrechtlich geprüft. Zudem wird keine eigene Infrastruktur benötigt, da vorhandene drahtlose Funknetzwerke wie WLAN oder Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) verwendet werden. Die mobilen Endgeräte messen die Signalstärken der Sender und bestimmen darüber ihre Position auf wenige Meter genau. 

awiloc®-Vorteile für das Museum

awiloc®-Vorteile für den Museumsbesucher

Datenschutzrechtlich geprüft

Hohe Lokalisierungsgenauigkeit bis auf wenige Meter

Keine Datenkommunikation, keine vernetzte Infrastruktur notwendig

Informationen nach eigenem Interesse, passend zum eigenen Standort

Kinderleichte Bedienung: keine Nummernsuche, kein Tastenbedienen

Handliches Format der Geräte

Gemeinsame Realisierung mit Multimedia-Guide-Herstellern

Seit der ersten Umsetzung eines Multimedia-Guides mit awiloc® im Nürnberger Museum für Industriekultur im Jahr 2010 haben namhafte Multimedia-Guide-Hersteller gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer IIS bereits über 20 Anwendungen realisiert.
 

© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Referenzen - Multimediaguides mit awiloc®

PADERBORN

Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum

Seit 2012 nutzt das größte Computermuseum der Welt die awiloc®-Lokalisierung. Die Firma Antenna International realisierte einen Multimedia-Guide der Extraklasse. Das Gerät ist ein modernes Smartphone, das sowohl informiert, als auch unterhaltsame Hintergründe aufzeigt.

Nürnberg

NS Dokumentationszentrum

"multimediale Rundgänge in acht Sprachen"

 

BREMEN

Focke-Museum

"ein ganz persönlicher Museumsbeuch"

DALLAS

Perot Museum

NOUS Wissensmanagement GmbH hat im Perot Museum of Nature and Science in Dallas 2013 ein umfangreiches Multimedia-Projekt mit Argumented Reality Features umgesetzt. Auf einem 3D-Plan wird der eigene Standort mittels der awiloc®-Lokalisierung angezeig

 

MÜNCHEN

Staatliches Museum Ägyptischer Kunst

Mit insgesamt acht verschiedenen Ausstellungstouren entführen die NOUS Wissensmanagement GmbH und awiloc® Erwachsene und Kinder zurück in die Zeit der Pharaonen.

GREENWICH

National Maritime Museum

"aufregenden Ereignisse der Seefahrergeschichte"

STUTTGART

Haus der Geschichte Baden-Württemberg

 Der Mediaguide wurde 2012 von Die InformationsGesellschaft mbH realisert. Die Steuerung des Gerätes erfolgt über awiloc®. Am Beginn jedes Ausstellungsabschnittes stellt der Mediaguide das Raumbild vor und der Besucher entscheidet, welche Hintergrundangebote er abrufen will

NÜRNBERG

Museum Industriekultur

"individuelle Museumsführung"

NÜRNBERG

Nürnberger Lochgefängnisse

"Präzise Ortung - viersprachig - barrierefrei"